Another Quick Fish

Thread: Another Quick Fish

Another Quick Fish

Every year on my Birthday i try and catch a fish to do on the BBQ whole. usually i have a snapper but this year i forgot to keep one whole. So with my Birthday party this coming saturday night i needed a fish and looking at seabreeze yesterday it looked like my only chance was last night.... so shot home from work hooked the boat up and headed up the river to try and nail a Jewie.... about an hour into the session i hooked up it was right on the moonrise. 5 mins later had a nice little 85cm Jewie in the boat Just perfect to fit in the BBQ whole..... very next cast i was on again to a little bit smaller model.... he went back in. I had one more solid hit about 15 mins later but lost it due to a frayed leader... that will teach me for not checking it after getting snagged a bit earlier.... anyway the next hour was pretty uneventfull other than a few half hearted touches so packed up and headed home....
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	jewie18711.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	42.9 KB 
ID:	69355  

Re: Another Quick Fish

All I can say to that is ... well done, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY (ya b@stard!!!)
    Last edited by Bazzawookooka; 19-07-2011 at 12:03 PM. Reason: additional thought

so happy b/day for sat...nice jew.when your cooking one whole on the bbq how do you get on making sure its cooked in the centre with burning the out side???

Ausfish Platinum Member alleycat's Avatar

Hey great catch and very brave to cook it whole on bbq, have you ever seen the worms in most jewies??.

Quote Originally Posted by alleycat View Post
    Hey great catch and very brave to cook it whole on bbq, have you ever seen the worms in most jewies??.
    cooked one a little while ago and it had a few worms in it... pretty off putting really.. as for not burning it on the barbie.. easiest way is to have a hood on the barbie and use some wine or water to steam it for a part of the cooking and just make sure and have heaps of time to cook it on low.. another great invention is the plastic stuff you can put on your barbie that turns it into a non stick surface.. about 10 bucks from bunnings
    dont knock on deaths door... ring the doorbell and run... death hates that!!

just back up a bit fella's.....tell me more about the worms you speak of?? are they in the flesh or the guts?

Quote Originally Posted by wayno60 View Post
    just back up a bit fella's.....tell me more about the worms you speak of?? are they in the flesh or the guts?

There in the flesh, every jew i have ever filleted has had a few of them

I just pull them out with my fingers or cut them out

cheers tim

another good fish lockie well done mate.sorry i didn't make the footy the other week didn't leave the coast till 2.30.looks like you got a nice little spot for the jewies
    cheers rosco

mate where have you been, thought youd given up on fishin, happy birthday for sat ,mate

Well done Lockie. Its nice to set a target and game plan and have it all fall into place. Happy Birthday

Good times mate happy bday.

happy b day mate got a 20kg last year in the bay did not have any worms.might of been lucky or had to many bundys but gee it tasted good.

Nice little session
    Happy birthday
    Dougi

Same as mad mack old mate, where have you been !
    Been fishing the old pink fish haunts of late with not much to show, maybe you can find them and tell me where they are?
    or have you turned to the hard core jewie dark side?
    nice fish in all, i hope it tastes great, happy birthday (you must be getting older now as well)

Re: Another Quick Fish (another fish added)

Thanks for all the birthday wishes guys...

Perry/Axel.. Im still here just dont post as much anymore... still chasing snapper but dont get out as much anymore with work being so busy. its a bit easier to shoot up the river in the little boat and still get onto some good fish. keeps the itch away .

well you guys scared me off throwing that jew on the BBQ. I know about the worms but i usually just cut them out when i fillet them. but i guess it would be offputting for some people to see the worms.

anyway i still needed a fish for the BBQ so friday night i shot up the river with the young bloke to look for a thready instead. I told the young bloke that if i hooked something he could try and land it. so about half hour into the session i hooked up and handed him the rod but the hooks pulled aftrer about 30sec. So i went back and started the drift again things went a bit quite for a while but finally managed another solid hookup so handed the rod to the young bloke and after a bit of a tussle and me having to help him a little he landed this nice thready. for the record he went on the BBQ saturday night and was a big hit with everybody!!

cheers lochie.
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thready22711.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	45.1 KB 
ID:	69535