Jumpinpin this weekend

Thread: Jumpinpin this weekend

Jumpinpin this weekend

G'day guys,

We are heading out through jacob's Well/Jumpinpin this sunday for a fishing expedition ( given saturdays weather outlook is a bit rusty). Most likely chasing some flatties and bream. My question is we've only ever fished this area on low tide coming in (so we can get yabbies etc) . High tides at 9am.

Can anyone provide any tips on how to fish this area on high water? Might sound like a silly question but our usual style is pump some yabbies and drift over sandbars into channels to pick up whatever flathead is hanging around, but with high water im at a loss..

Or should we simply wait and head out in the afternoon?
    Cheers guys.

Re: Jumpinpin this weekend

robsie, you can still pump yabbies on a high....... but its a full moon so its a big high. You need a sieve (siv). I find them at high in knee deep water. Judging the cold though you may need woolen undies. I find that at high the yabbies sit higher on the bank, you just need to pump in knee deep water and use a siv.

Marty
    Living the dream, Barry

Thanks Marty

Robsie, when are you heading out? I may be out and about if you want to catch up for yabbie session!!
    Living the dream, Barry

G'day Marty - We were thinking of heading out about 7ish from jaco0bs welll on sunday morning (weather depending) and fishing the last of the high along the islands - I reckon that should put us in with a good chance of picking up some bream or flathead

Went for a fish yesterday - great weather, and ended up with a dozen nice bream. Most caught on mullet strips and pilchards.

well done mate, we headed up off Moreton instead yesterday, yes it was rough.
    Living the dream, Barry

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Seaweed View Post
    well done mate, we headed up off Moreton instead yesterday, yes it was rough.
    I think rough should be changed to very rough early or more to the point.....uncomfortably rough off Cape Moreton....

Yes we were surprised - we headed over to the other side of jumpinpin (same side as north straddie), and fished along the muddy drop off there (not sure what the areas called? - it was very lumpy at 8am when we went over (the run from jacobs well was like glass), but when we headed back across at 1ish it was like glass - literally not a ripple, clear water - pretty much a perfect day ! Not even a shower of rain, although a couple of times we were certain we would get a wet arse.

Hi Robsie, dont discount just drifting the flats on a high, find where there are sand and weed patches and give that a go, as the weather isnt too tropical the flatties dont mind sitting up in the shallows a bit, some nice flats on the right about 1km from the mouth coming from from Jacobs, saying that though dont waste all day if its not working, move around and try some different things. Sieve is the way to go as the yabbies tend to sit higher in the sand on the high anyway, also the benefit is on the high the whiting come in around where you are pumping so often pays to fish as you pump.