Thread: Borumba - What's the go?

Thumbs up Borumba - What's the go?

Well, we've had a change of plan, our original one to go to Cressbrook has been canned, mostly due to the responses I got from a couple of the local tackle shops when I asked, "are they gettin any Bass" to which I got a reply "they're gettin plenty of red claw", as tasty as they are, they don't put up much of a fight on 6lb braid so don't interest me!!!

After sussing out Borumba and seeing Aarans post in the reports section (Thanx for the PM Mate), a call was made to the crew and plans were ammended. If anyone's got any useful tips for a bunch of wanabees who've never fished it before, it'd be greatly appreciated. I'd be absolutley stoked to come away from the weekend with one of our crew gettin a Toga, Cheers Guys, Jamie.
    My PB's - Have Photos of most of them.

Flathead - 98cm - Bait - Tweed River
    Spottie Mackerel - 105cm - Bait - Palmy Reef
    Australian Bass - 48cm - Spinnerbait - Spot X
    Yellowbelly - 48cm - Yellowbelly - Jackall - Sommerset
    Bream - 38cm - MF40 - Nerang River
    Whiting - 40cm - Bait - Nerang River
    Jack - 40cm (Pitiful I Know) - Live Bait - Coomera River
    Barra - 104cm - Storm Pro Paddle Tail - Mondy

Re: Borumba - What's the go?

I'm sure you'll love Borumba
    Firstly ....... Rockmellon & par boiled spuds seem to work well on the redc... ... sorry couldn't help my self
    Bass should be schooling up ( opposite the boat ramp (near the exclusion zone or the first yellow marker has you head up the dam) - usually techniques
    The Toga will probably be a little more ellusive in cooler month ...but - if the stars align .... concentrating your efforts around the bottlebrush in the Kingham arm or towards the back of Yabba - specially once the sun is high.
    Surface lures like small lucky craft sammies walked around the bottlebrush shadows or water lillies could do the trick ...... the same goes for poppers (Gobo , popRs etc). Others lures like little crank baits chucked in the same areas & stalled could also do the trick on both toga / bass
    It's a very pretty dam ...... you'll love it!

Good onya Chris, should have known I could count on you, Cheers.

A Mate went up today for a day trip, managed one small Toga on surface, said it was Bloody freezing, couldn't feel his fingers, made it very hard to change lures!!! Said it was a beautiful spot, "like a mini Mondy". Water temp was down at 13 degrees, found plenty of schooled up Bass but couldn't get em to open their mouths. Cheers, Jamie.

Quote Originally Posted by OverNover View Post
    Good onya Chris, should have known I could count on you, Cheers.

A Mate went up today for a day trip, managed one small Toga on surface, said it was Bloody freezing, couldn't feel his fingers, made it very hard to change lures!!! Said it was a beautiful spot, "like a mini Mondy". Water temp was down at 13 degrees, found plenty of schooled up Bass but couldn't get em to open their mouths. Cheers, Jamie.
    No worries Jamie ........ I love Borumba - it makes Mondy look very ordinary IMHO .
    I could imagine how cold it was ....... i've fished it in Aug & thought it was bad enough but this current cold snap would be FREEEEEEEZING up there.
    Borumba seems to be one of those fickle dams ...... specially schooled bass but when it turns on - yeeha
    I reckon I might head up there toward the end of Aug

I was there on Sunday and Monday. Again found the fish schooled but no takers. We got a couple of fish up the Kingham fishing the edges with TN60s, but otherwise not much happening. As all the others have said it is a very scenic dam and catching a few fish is a bonus in my eyes.

I'm sure you will enjoy it no matter the outcome with the fish!
    Keep smiling, It makes people wonder what you're up to.

Smile Re: Borumba - What's the go?

You won't be disapointed in Borumba, it's is very picturesk picturesc? pretty.
    What Chris said and take a jumper.

Small Spinner baits

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Thanx Guys...are we there yet???? Can't wait!!! darylive, Thanx for the tip re SB's, just bought a few Smak Mini Coops, also got a couple of other compacts. I'm keen to throw some Blades to the schooled masses as well!!!! Cheers, Jamie.
    Last edited by OverNover; 13-07-2011 at 09:05 PM. Reason: Dyslexia!!!!

fantastic dam, very pretty but i have found it fickle and very challenging to catch fish there, although i do prefer up in the woody top areas of the creek flicking lures, the Deer park is a nice campground close by as well.

Thanx Reel,

Yeah, the standing timber looks very appealing. We've booked a couple of cabins at the deer park, bugger tents, too bloody cold!!!! Cheers.