Thread: Wiepa Barra & Jacks - Lures Required ?

Wiepa Barra & Jacks - Lures Required ?

Well i've been sent to Wiepa for work for around 6 months as of next Monday I was wonder if the fishing is any good ?

I've have a bait caster combo but have no reel ideas on what lures to take ??

What's in your kit for chasing Barra and Jacks up that way ?

Got a $100 voucher from the old man for my Bday last month at the Mart that shall not be mentioned to burn !

Damo.

PS: Running a Curado 300DSV with 30lb braid (brand unknown and 3 years old) on a 5ft 6 Graphite medium rod.

PPS: any advice appreciated

Say g'day to Owen at boating and fisheries. Good guy and knows where the fish are biting. Also, Jacob, a young teacher up there is mad keen with the fishing and pigging. Say g'day to him too. Tell em Lawny sent ya.

Re: Wiepa Barra & Jacks - Lures Required ?

Mate, some lures that I have always found to be really good on both the Barra and Jacks- I just make sure that I have both some shallow and deep divers, in the tackle box. My personal favourites are the Tilsan Barra and the Reidy's taipan. Have fun up there!

- Reidy's Taipan
    - Tilsan Barra
    - Gold Bomber
    - Reidy's B52s
    - Lively Lures Mad Mullet
    - Predatek Jindivik

Great list already mate, add to that threadybuster 60 and 95, one of the fast emerging brands as features in nq fish and boat magazine this month catching lots of barra and jacks recently and aussie made.

Brisbane-Boys so mate, is the manufacturer called Threadybuster and the model of the lures are the 60 & 95?? Where abouts do you purchase these lures from? Can you get them from BCF, or would you have to probably go somewhere like Tacklewarehouse? Cheers Mate!

Quote Originally Posted by fisho_83 View Post
    Brisbane-Boys so mate, is the manufacturer called Threadybuster and the model of the lures are the 60 & 95?? Where abouts do you purchase these lures from? Can you get them from BCF, or would you have to probably go somewhere like Tacklewarehouse? Cheers Mate!
    Hi Fisho

I think the company is called Smokin drags & they (threadybusters) come in 4 sizes (from memory) 60 , 70 , 85 , 95mm and yes tacklewarehouse carry a couple of sizes.
    they seem pretty good for that pricepoint ($20) - when compared to the original FLT/ Jackall Trans-Am ($30) ...... admittedly the Trans Am is much better finished (typical Japanese)

Quote Originally Posted by Black_Rat View Post
    Well i've been sent to Wiepa for work for around 6 months as of next Monday I was wonder if the fishing is any good ?

I've have a bait caster combo but have no reel ideas on what lures to take ??

What's in your kit for chasing Barra and Jacks up that way ?

Got a $100 voucher from the old man for my Bday last month at the Mart that shall not be mentioned to burn !

Damo.

PS: Running a Curado 300DSV with 30lb braid (brand unknown and 3 years old) on a 5ft 6 Graphite medium rod.

PPS: any advice appreciated

What a bitch
    I think you'll find that the fishing is pretty darn good with plenty of fishing options ..... specially if you have access to a boat ( there are tinnies that you can hire).
    as for lures ..... those that fisho mentioned will all to the job - you could also chuck in some Killalure Flats rats or Damiki Striker 90s or longbill. I would also get a few poppers or surface stick baits like Lucky craft sammies - as it warms up the barra will be all over them & I doubt there is anything better than getting a barra with a surface strike . Other fish will take them too

Weipa for 6 months.I could handle that. Gold bombers work well there .Also the best lure I found was the little rapala black and gold bibless thing for rattling around the snags. Barra classics in guns and roses colour and varying depths 10 15 and 20 ft are a must on the Daly so I see no reason why they shouldn't work there.

If you can get out with Dave Donald, the guide, then you'll learn everything you need to know in one trip.
    I think rum is banned in Weipa too

do you need a labourer Damo? ILL COME!!!

My Barra box has to many to list but what stands out is the nilsmaster barras, classic Barra, classic F18, Bombers, killalure flat rats and lively lures mad mullets.
    theres a multitude mate but a few differnt colours aswell as a few differnt depths should get you by. i try to have my favourite colours for example, multicolours bright colours, dark natural colours silvers and browns, neutral colours like purples and golds and within those groups i like to have a lure in each group that will either swim shallow mid water or deep. so in any given situation youll have a colour to suit the depth the fish are at or something like that,

Hey mate, just got back from 3 weeks at Weipa and I guarantee you won't want to come back. We got 3 barra over a metro, biggest 116cm. Plenty of trout, fingermark and assorted reefs south around the coffee rock of the beach. Fish the mission river bridge at night, absolutely insane blue salmon on poppers. Plus some huge Jew that are almost possible to land. Big plastic under the bridge. Make sure you upgrade hooks if needed on lures as the fish up there pull hard. Halco laser pros, bombers, b52, lucky craft pointer all did well. They seemed to like chrome colored and green lures. Massive schools of longtails out around beacons. Had a triple hookup within our first 2 minutes of fishing on LT's. Anyway you are one lucky bugger so have a good time.

A good list so far, the white bomber is popular up there too. I favour the Reidys Tiapan, it served me well in the Weipa Classic Last Year.

<<------------

Well, the Black Rat should be there today, wouldn't you think he would have put up a report?

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Hi Fisho

I think the company is called Smokin drags & they (threadybusters) come in 4 sizes (from memory) 60 , 70 , 85 , 95mm and yes tacklewarehouse carry a couple of sizes.
    they seem pretty good for that pricepoint ($20) - when compared to the original FLT/ Jackall Trans-Am ($30) ...... admittedly the Trans Am is much better finished (typical Japanese)

The new models look a fair bit better nagg,Attachment 69135 give dans painting skill some credit he sure doesnt look japanese but his lures sure catch some nice fish lol.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Quote Originally Posted by brisbane_boy View Post
    The new models look a fair bit better nagg,Attachment 69135 give dans painting skill some credit he sure doesnt look japanese but his lures sure catch some nice fish lol.
    Picked up a couple of the new ones a few days ago ...... along with the latest Jackall trans-am- Certainly improved but still behind the Jackall ........... but hey 2/3rds of the cost and they catch fish

geta couple of rapala skitter pops in the sp7 size . at least 5 seconds between the tiniest bloops . and retrieve right through to the bank as they quite often hit at your feet . I think Chris said it earlier a surface hit is insane
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

Heard good things about this puppy from my bru

http://www.mrtojotackle.com.au/produ...roducts_id=429