Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Land locked Snapper

Re: Land locked Snapper

I reckon you just got your last ever invite to fish these ponds Thomas J. My guess is that this thread has now inspired an influx of pond raiders to hit this area and keep port security busy for a while. When the 'powers that be' put 2 & 2 together and work out that one of their 'guests' flaunted photos and fishing reports over a public fishing forum then they will knock their little staff only fishing days on the head, because I also have mates on the inside but they have always been told to keep their 'staff days' quiet......

Not everything needs to be shared in the public forum.......

Kev

Sneek up there at night from the outside in a very small tinny(no lights) climb over the wall and wet your lines. when u see the lonely old bats coming climb back over and sit in ur tinny pretending to fish the outside of the wall. Its easy, and not only that its heaps of fun playing comando hahaha

water police will impound your boat if they catch you mate.
    security has been ramped up a lot since the early days when it was common to catch two 3 kg snapper on a snooded rig with your first cast over the wall.
    have seen some death defying moves from security on that wall over the years.

just chips, there has been a fair few of these reports from people over the years.

Hahah Seccys have just Stepped up the Patrolls after this report no Doubt
    "True Blue"

Holy crap the story is true. I used to fish the wall by myself and the security would watch me and make me uncomfortable and i had no idea why for a while until someone told me of the fish inside the walls and the trips to climb over while another sat in the boat so they must have thought i was the second guy and my mate was over the wall but they said every cast holds a good snap and good size to. Maybe they dont want us in there just in case we do get poisoned but i would eat em and same with the jew i ate not long after the floods the fish might ingest but not the fillets as i am still alive and they tasted great. Webbys photo shows good schools and a plastic would look good in the middle of that school lol. Cheers DD.....

Quote Originally Posted by webby View Post
    Here's a pic taken when pirating the pond sometime ago.
    Mmmmm Surface snapper. Get the Sammy in there.
    "True Blue"

Hehehehe, Im going up there and sell tickets at the gate!! This could be my chance for early retirement

So it would not be illegal if i use a 14 foot surf rod to cast over the wall and into the pond. Then skull drag it out. Seemsopine to much work for a few fish.

Quote Originally Posted by Just_chips View Post
    I reckon you just got your last ever invite to fish these ponds Thomas J. My guess is that this thread has now inspired an influx of pond raiders to hit this area and keep port security busy for a while. When the 'powers that be' put 2 & 2 together and work out that one of their 'guests' flaunted photos and fishing reports over a public fishing forum then they will knock their little staff only fishing days on the head, because I also have mates on the inside but they have always been told to keep their 'staff days' quiet......

Not everything needs to be shared in the public forum.......

Kev
    Your spot on with that mate. I too use to work at Port of Brisbane, Whyte Island on Tugs , Barges and Hydrographer Survey.

sharings caring

there is a commercial fisherman who is aloud to net this pond also,i think he's only aloud in 3 or 4 times a year.webby that is a cracker of a photo mate.back in the the late 90's when i owned the bait and tackle shop at colmslie we would fish the first reclamation ponds and use to catch heaps of flathead/whiting and bream,the place was loaded with mullet.in those ponds they had 2 metal drain pipes that went through the wall into the bay[facing st helena] that they would open and close with the tides.back then you could fish there all you liked,it was easy just park your car in the worm diggers carpark and go for a short stroll.now its all about liability if someone gets injured in there they will more than likely go the port for compo etc,thats why no one is aloud its a construction site.well supposably no one is aloud lol.

Quote Originally Posted by doublexl View Post
    there is a commercial fisherman who is aloud to net this pond also,i think he's only aloud in 3 or 4 times a year.webby that is a cracker of a photo mate.back in the the late 90's when i owned the bait and tackle shop at colmslie we would fish the first reclamation ponds and use to catch heaps of flathead/whiting and bream,the place was loaded with mullet.in those ponds they had 2 metal drain pipes that went through the wall into the bay[facing st helena] that they would open and close with the tides.back then you could fish there all you liked,it was easy just park your car in the worm diggers carpark and go for a short stroll.now its all about liability if someone gets injured in there they will more than likely go the port for compo etc,thats why no one is aloud its a construction site.well supposably no one is aloud lol.
    Yes that would be about right.... There are those idiots that dont or will not accept responsibilities for their own actions and try to shift the emphasis of blame onto someone else....typical.

Just like the idiot who picked up a Victor 2 stroke lawn mower with engine rotating so he can place it on another patch of lawn to mow...the clown had his fingers cut so he sued Victa as there was no sign on the lawn mower saying "do not pick up mower whilst blade is running" or something like that. Hmmmm, Hello, why not stop the mower, pick up mower and then start mower when on new patch. Very simple I would have thought.

Apologies for digressing but that's what happened in America few years ago.

I have this friend.....who used to fish it at night few years ago, back when the security guards would come up and just ask you to make sure you were gone by daylight and don't leave any bait or rubish behind.
    He....... use to use 40 braid & 40 Jinki leader and still got bricked by the odd fish. Plenty of straightened hooks too.
    He.........tells me there is big rock ledge on the inside is a problem so he...... used a 14ft tailor rod to get the fish over it then scull dragged them up the wall.

he.......yeh mike that spot is probably the most productive for the jurassic size fish.
    he......have seen some unreal video of footage of some monsters being ripped from there.
    he.....some of these inculded a 6.4 kg tailor, 1.9kg-48cm bream,a couple of 98cm flatties, a 80cm estuary cod and bagfuls of snaps.

all caught with in a couple of hours fishing.
    and like you say,he......the security used to let he......fish onthe walls as long as we......didnt make a mess and were off by the time the sun come up so most people didnt know what was going on.
    the security officers back then got sacked and the new guys are just real champs, and werent so open to having a chat and taking some nice snaps to mumsy as a reward for their silence....

Quote Originally Posted by legsy11 View Post
    some of these inculded a 6.4 kg tailor, ....
    That 6.4kg tailor wasn't towing 300mts of 20lb braid was it?
    That's the reason I went............sorry, my friend went up to 40lb braid.