Australian Salmon are the numbers increasing. - Page 2

Thread: Australian Salmon are the numbers increasing.

Re: Australian Salmon are the numbers increasing.

Spose I have to weigh into this one sooner or later. If the salmon are not being targeted by commercial nets because there is no market for the product, then numbers will naturally increase and their range also. It would be a good thing if markets were attained in order to reduce the harvesting of other species that are under population pressures. However, I am aware that new markets are being unsuccessfully sought.

Quote Originally Posted by Slider View Post
    It would be a good thing if markets were attained in order to reduce the harvesting of other species that are under population pressures.
    How would you go about catching the salmon if markets are found?

In an ideal world they would be caught by line Matt. But that wouldn't be a viable method and netting in appropriate locations would be the only way.

I can concurr what slider has said. i.e. the only to this is by netting. beach seine or similar.

Bondy

I'd like to think we could get away from beach hauling if at all possible - perhaps ring netting would be the way to go with salmon?? This would at least allow shore based angling to continue unaffected.

They certainly have invaded far further north than in the past and in significantly larger numbers. Gold coast rivers are teeming with them pushing into the very limit of the salt water in some spots! It may very well be just a 1 off event though (i'm hoping) as these things are voracious! I'd be surprised if they diddn't show up in the brissy river shortly or at least mud island. Ben

Quote Originally Posted by BLOOEY View Post
    They certainly have invaded far further north than in the past and in significantly larger numbers. Gold coast rivers are teeming with them pushing into the very limit of the salt water in some spots! It may very well be just a 1 off event though (i'm hoping) as these things are voracious! I'd be surprised if they diddn't show up in the brissy river shortly or at least mud island. Ben
    Hi Blooey,
    Mate, they are still here in plague proportions and getting bigger!!
    I wouldnt be surprised if they are thick between Ballina and the Gold Coast and eating everything in sight.(Ocean equivalent of plague locusts I reckon).
    Had a group of fishos I was watching this arvo and they all got their bag limit of big salmon and they all seemed pretty excited with their catch on 5 to 6 m long rods and state of the art gear
    Wouldnt hurt to increase the bag limit for Salmon to a more manageable figure... say 50 or 100

they are great sport on light gear off the beach i played with them with soft plastics last week on south ballina beach i baged out in half hour i found they make great fish cakes and good bream and snapper bait fresh they do need a bigger bag limit
    A BAD DAY FISHIN IS BETTER THAN A GOOD DAY AT WORK

Salmon have really kicked off over the last decade or so due to the salmon fishery closing on the southern NSW coast in the late 90's early 2000's I think it was. They are a great sportsfish on light line. However with increased numbers of salmon come increasing numbers of sharks. GWS spottings having increased dramatically as well over this time. Many blame it on the increased numbers of salmon. Nothing makes the hairs stick up on the back of your neck whilst your out spearfishing like a big school of salmon fleeing past looking super worried.....

Quote Originally Posted by miss be have View Post
    they are great sport on light gear off the beach i played with them with soft plastics last week on south ballina beach i baged out in half hour i found they make great fish cakes and good bream and snapper bait fresh they do need a bigger bag limit
    I was talking to some fishos who spent a few allnighters on the beach fishing with The Evans Classic and they were saying they did not get much other than a constant stream of salmon being landed and wanted to know if there were any other fish on the beach besides salmon.
    They should have them as a species in the Evans competition.

It becomes very tedious when you are landbased and only catch salmon.

I need an awful lot of Thai chilli sauce on them to make them palatable for me!

Cheers, steve.

It amazes me what fish people turn their noses up at..we must be spoilt for choice.

Or is it that generaly aussies only know one way to cook fish.

I have eaten both Ausie salmon and Taylor.... both need to be bled and eaten fresh...personally I recon the ausie salmon is a better taste and texture than taylor but not by much.

Aparantly, ausie salmon are a real good candidate for home smoking and home bottling.

So why do so many people talk about ausie salmon as a rubbish fish and yet taylor is not.

Same story....taylor are also varacious eaters, so why are salmon a vermin and not taylor.

seems to me they are a pretty well paralell pair of spicies.....similar shape, similar size range, more or less similar habits and about on par for eating quality.

I recon that if commercial exploitation of taylor was stopped they would grow to the same sort of numbers too.

Seems both these spicies will stand substantial commercial exploitation....the problem is how you make it commercially viable and yet reasonably sustainable.

I do not believe that netting as such in the problem in this case....the problem is the approach.....the idea that they want to catch a whole school, every last fish if they can and as frequently as they can......and in the easiest situation they can......which will be when the fish is most vunerable.

It might take a bit of thaught.....but it may be as simple as controlling net length & mesh size, or restricting the hows and whens.
    In short commercial netting for this spicies might just need to be made a little harder, rather than totally banned.
    That also might make it more viable for smaller operators.

Part of the problem may be that the quality of the fish has been talked down.....if the fish was line caught, blead straight away and gutted promplty, and marketed fresh..would it be a higher value fish.

There was a segment on land line this week..there are blokes in SA, who are catching pilchards from smaller boats and in much smaller quantities, treating the fish far better, processing and marketing them for human consumption and they are getting 10 times the wholsale price for the same fish that is marketeed as petfood or bait.

This is what the commercial sector has to be thinking like......we need to be getting the best value out of each and every fish for all concerned, rather than doing it as cheap and as big as we can.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

Gday Oldboot. Whilst this is true, unfortunately the laws of economics are against the poor humble aussie salmon. Reasons being:

1. There are plenty of other fish alternatives which causes demand for salmon to decrease, hence price will decrease.

2. Demand for salmon is small given their eating qualitites perception etc, hence price decreases.

3. Supply is abundant (if the pro's want) and the market can be easily flooded, hence price decreases.

4. Commercial fishing costs are constantly increasing.

For the humble salmon, given the price is so low, unfortunately it is not worth "getting the best value" from the salmon. Its likely that the cost in doing so will outweigh the revenue earned.

As you pointed out however, for other species, getting the best value may prove to be more fruitful.

I dont mind smoked tailor. beaut with a cold beer.
    Never smoked a salmon so I couldnt say anything on that.

I just find the salmon to be "over fishy" in taste, too strong a flavour, but each to their own.

Honestly, I am having trouble catching anything other than salmon landbased and even the mulloway in this part of the world are scarce, which is unusual at this time of year.(maybe the salmon are beating all other fish species to the hook?)

I would not like to see the netting increase as there will always be too much "bycatch" And there seems to be less "bycatch" around over the last few years.
    I would like to see the bag limit increased for salmon for the fishos that do appreciate the flavour of them.

I made some fish cakes out of Trag I got last week and there is no comparison to salmon, Beautiful!!

When the other fish species start to disappear I guess fishos will appreciate the salmon more and more much the same as people out west who are finding eating qualities with European Carp
    Not a good prospect to look forward to.
    cheers.

there not that bad on the plate you must bleed and gut them as soon as they hit the beach then pack them on ice after you fillet and skin them cut all the red meat off i like them roled in flower and a bit of salt and pepper and fryed in butter as good if not better then tailor but you must eat them fresh
    A BAD DAY FISHIN IS BETTER THAN A GOOD DAY AT WORK