Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fishing politics in NSW and Bob Katter in Qld

Fishing politics in NSW and Bob Katter in Qld

It has been refreshing to see such instant action being taken in NSW and more power to the Shooters and Fishers and their role as a balance of power paty. It also begs the question as to what leverage Bob Katter will get, particularly in NQ where he is highly popular. He is making all the right noises about fishing, hunting, 4WD access and seems to have a much broader appeal and policy base then the "single issue" objective of TFPQ and the Shooters party. Katters organisation is running for both Qld elections and federal and if he can go anywhere near replicating his Kennedy federal vote into a party wide vote, even just north of Rocky and west of the range we may well see a very different Qld Government next year. Is this the "fishing party" we have been waiting for and a further awakening of our massive voting block?

KC

Re: Fishing politics in NSW and Bob Katter in Qld

Well let's hope so but one thing puts fear in me about Katter and it is his moronic push for mandatory E10 andincreases in ethanol content of fuel. It is not a sound policy other than to put $$$$$$ into the cane growers(possibly his campaign financiers) pockets in his electorate.
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Couldnt agree more Lovey.Everyone except the pollies know that it costs 3% more to travel a particular distance using 10% eth.Then again maybe they do know and as usual just dont care about their constituents.
    Still were not likely to get EVERYTHING we want from any one pollie,Me thinks we have to accept a few sour apples in the case.

why wouldn't he push for E10..made from sugar and what do they grow heaps of in NQ???? easy votes.

The current cost of producing ethanol from cane is about 75 cents a litre. Yes it would bode well fro sugar areas, bring new industry to NQ and the Ord river, maybe even see a few mills that have shut down, reopen and generate a new industry.....plus it results in 26% less CO2 emmissions from a litre of burnt fuel. So who would miss out here?, other than multinational oil companies.

Here's a nice little number. If you look at international oil prices in Australian dollars, rather than US dollars, Oil in October of 2007 was about $106 Aus a barrel ($91 US to 86 cents Aus) and we paid $1.30 at the pump.

Today oil is $86 Aus ($92 US and $1.07 Aus to the US $) and we pay $1.40.....we are being had!

Katter understands the ethanol/boat fuel issue....he just sees this as a win win for Australian industry and as a practicle CO2 reduction mechanism.

No problem from where I sit....which is in sugar country.

KC

the funny thing with Bob is,Kev..oh okay..I should say one of the funny things with Bob is that he is speaking out the nanny State..too many restrictions on outdoor activities and overregulation. Yet with another breath he wants to tell us what fuel we have to use. I have no problems with E10 for those that want to use it but we should have a choice to buy non E10 also.

Can only confirm he now understands the boat fuel issue and you may see a change of message re this but clearly ethanol production as a fuel additive starts to make sense when oil is over $80 Aus a barrel. Beyond the ecomomics this is also very practical from a CO2 sense, regardless of wether we believe CO2 is an issue, it can't do any harm to cut it down and is a practical way of getting the greens to pull there heads in and piss off this stupid &*%$% carbon tax. Current government policy on both sides of the fence has killed of the ethanol industry in Aus and one has to ask why. A positive, clean, effective and self sustaining alternate fuel source being deliberately beaten down by the major parties! I smell a rat....a very oil soaked rat.

Kev

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    why wouldn't he push for E10..made from sugar and what do they grow heaps of in NQ???? easy votes.
    Cane farmers 5 or so years ago cried poor in light of the increase in sugar production from South America ........ today they are planting more cane! & it has nothing to do with sugar.
    Ethanol (E10) is the choko of the fuel world ........ The drivers get nothing out of it
    As for emissions ..... most cars get 10-15% worst fuel economy for a few percent price reduction - the reduction in emissions would be single digit

There is the possibility Katter's new party could spell trouble for the LNP in the next State election, as One Nation did when it came on the scene and took enough out of play for Beattie to slide back in on the "just vote 1" anomaly. The LNP was London to a brick to romp home before this came along and I can assure you all that the Can Do Team is spitting chips atm. If it draws more votes away from the LNP than it draws from the ALP, Anna could be returned.
    Personally I 'd be suprised if the new party went ahead anyway, but if it did I recon it wouldn't be too bad for us anglers if Katter's mob held the balance of power, with either one of the major parties (I'd be worried about all his other crazzy ideas though).

Weakening the LNP vote is a danger but Katter has very blue collar appeal, particularly in the mining belt so it will be interesting to see how the vote drift ends up. Hanson was IMO, very much far right vote where as Katter has a different appeal but yes, LNP should be concerned. As should ALP. Is was demonstrabely the case that the "fishing vote" seemed to come more from the blue collar , nominal Labor voter than conservatives, even though there is a more conservative leaning on this web site. I undertand the CFMEU is actually a Katter supporter. I know Bob comes across a bit "out there" some times but every time I listen to the guy (like on Q & A) he makes an lot of sense and has substance to his policy positions. He would certainly make a big difference on recreational fishing issues.

Kev

Is there such a thing as a blue collar vote ? ...... I know a few blue collar workers that earn between $120 - 150K without trying
    These days a miner is likely to be living in a $500K home , drive a $100K landcruiser and be sending their kids to private school.....

You could be right KC, but the only guys I know that are keen on this party of Katters were voting LNP a few weeks ago. How many do you know that were going to vote ALP 3 weeks ago that are now looking at this new party? I'm told by a Can Do worker that pre Katter's party the ALP might have got back on roughly 48%, if the new party goes ahead and polls well (for a new party) the ALP could get back in with as little as 30 to 35%. Just look at the seat of Ashgrove, the thought of Bob Irwin joining in on Katter's team has Kate Jones smiling and Campbel's mob in a pannic. If poles come out just before an election showing Campbel is in doubt of winning his seat how do you think that would effect the LNP vote accross the rest of the South East. Right now the LNP is promissing Katter the world to keep them out of this part of Qld..
    I'll disclose that I'm not a fan of Katter, I knew him quite well when my wife worked for Joh and cabnet, Katter was a State Member, IMHO he was the most self serving polly I've ever met.

A lot of these blokes are regular customers in my Mackay and Airlie businesses. Well paid, drive nice utes, have flash boats and blue collar to their core as far as attitude is concerned. The size of a guys pay packet does not determine his outlook on life and from my observations fishos in general are pretty much salt of the earth "blue collar" kind of people.....and maybe it needs a different descripition. The unionised mine workforce would have once been considered Labor heartland, but I am sure this is no longer a "given" and I know , at least up this way, Katter is "the man". They would struggle to vote LNP, no matter how much they dislike Bligh, would NEVER vote greens and have not really had an alternative....until now! I am expecting a strange thing to happen come voting day. Katter will cop it from the press and in on line forums where he will be bagged as a hillbilly, redneck etc etc, and lots of people will follow suit because they think they will be likewise bagged if they come out and support the guy....but in the privacy of the ballot chamber, he will get votes out of a sense of respect for his convictions and being prepared to say it as it is, not as the spin doctors say it should be said. I have pretty much stayed away from politics the last few years having "had my go" and helped making the "fishing vote" a real deal and politically recognised block but if I ever got back in the saddle it would be with Bob Katter.

Kev

I have been off air for a few days and noticed I get a thumbs down on every post from "Seatime".............something to add to the discussion?? or just anti anything Katter?

At least you are a regular (platinum member) and not an election time blow-in. This site has had a stack of those over the years. Blow in for an election with an agneda to bag one side or the other and then bugger off...never to be heard of again and no doubt a political plant rather than a politically interested fisho!

I keep listening to what the guy has to say and when you ignore the personality and listen to the message it is hard not to agree.

Last night on 7pm he made the valid point that ehtanol based fuel in brazil is 74 cents a litre. It can be produced here at 74 cents a litre PLUS sugar mills feed power back into the grid so a double whammy benifit.

He now knows this is not an alternative boat fuel...but we all tow our boats with cars. He has digested a copy of the excellent F & B piece written by Gary Fooks on boats and ethanol.

Ah! Little bit of quick homework and a Government employee! Now understand, not a Katter hater, but rather an employer advocate. No problem with that. I would like to think, push come to shove, that my staff would stand up for me.

KC