Gold Coast Salmon - Page 2

Thread: Gold Coast Salmon

Re: Gold Coast Salmon

Youngy et al,

Horses for courses and one man's junk is another man's treasure.

You will always have people that will like different species of fish as people have different taste buds...some people love hot chilly and burn their bum when egressed, others wont touch the stuff for the later reason.

side talk away from the salmon

Me, I've experimented with lots of fish eating wise and I stay away from Toads and Puffers whereas the Japanese will pay big dollars for a serving of puffer as they like to take chances (puffers processed by specially traihned chefs) and in some sections of Japan is part of their culture, great to know not all Japanese are the same otherwise their will be lots of deaths.

If the customer dies then the chef gets transfer to another place.

Salmon is good if bled when caught and placed in ice slurry with seawater, not freshwater, as stated earlier, cutlets, or pancakes and fillets,,,,lovely hmmm.

You can always send me the Salmon you dont want as long as its been bled and fresh i.e. same day.

been catching plenty of the sand pumping jetty got to bleed them asap keep on ice slurry cook soon as you can great in a curry or filleted and crumbed and fried there is some blood through the flesh pretty much like tailor can have

Thanks for the info fella's.

aussipomm,

When was you last on the SPJ. I have not been back since wide brim lamp hat and their filaments took my spot.

Those damn salmon are in plague numbers from cabba to iluka damn things eat anything driving us up the wall . We have been catching anywhere from 10 - 20 in 3 hr sessions size wise from 3kg up to 5kg damn things are a nightmare. Although we have found a way to keep numbers down in the gutter kill a fair few of them and throw them in the gutter after u finish and the next night they dont come in that gutter in big numbers but the tailor do. No skill involved in catching salmon they eat anything,no teeth,swallow the slabs or cigarettes deep,carp of the ocean!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rather interesting isn't it - dead salmon keeping the salmon away and drawing in tailor.

For those that haven't read the Soniferous Fish thread, or for those that have but haven't worked it out yet - the chemical alarm cue of the damaged salmon skin is what keeps the salmon away. And because the salmon aren't netted and the tailor don't associate a negative stimuli from the salmon chemical with nets, then the salmon flesh simply becomes berley/chum for the tailor.

Thanks 35kg Jew - superb stuff!

Not wrong 35kgjew. Bloody frustrating getting all your good jew baits smashed by salmon! Fun for a bit but bloody hell they are thick. Found the salmon and tailor in the same gutter yesterday arvo, the salmon were in closer and the tailor waaaaay out the back. Dunno about killing them and throwing them back at the end of the session though(reckon that is a bit harsh).
    Maybe a better option would be to leave a pinned live (injured) salmon out while fishing for other species. Ben

Hey blooey,

Na we fillet them down and mince them up make really good burly and my dog loves it 2 .We throw the carcasses out in the gutter . Well the gutter we fished last night down my local has no salmon as my mates fished to bottom of the tide today for there bag of good tailor up to 2kg so the salmon frames has worked i would say. Im loaded up with bonito,gar,and live mullet as we are fishing the high tide true to low so hopefully have some good pics tom got a feeling we will get them tonite as we hae found the only real gutter from tweed to bruns.

Oh ok no worries. How did you fare? Think we might be fishing the same gutter actually! Ben

Hi One and All,
    the best way to prepare/cook salmon, or kahawai as all Kiwis know them by is to bleed them straight away put them in an ice slurry asap before prep. Fillet them leaving the scales on then rub the flesh with salt and brown sugar and cook the fillets skin side down in the smoker - beautiful.
    Just Driftin

Quote Originally Posted by Go Gecko View Post
    Hi One and All,
    the best way to prepare/cook salmon, or kahawai as all Kiwis know them by is to bleed them straight away put them in an ice slurry asap before prep. Fillet them leaving the scales on then rub the flesh with salt and brown sugar and cook the fillets skin side down in the smoker - beautiful.
    Just Driftin
    Now thats Smokin

Hi All
    Been getting quite a few off south straddi,bloody annoying.never tried eating them as others say they are shit.fighting to get a feed of tailor because of them.
    Doug

Quote Originally Posted by Dougi View Post
    Hi All
    Been getting quite a few off south straddi,bloody annoying.never tried eating them as others say they are shit.fighting to get a feed of tailor because of them.
    Doug
    Dougi,

If you don't want them (Salmon) I'll take them off your hands as long as they're freshly bled. When are you heading over again. Send me a pm