Repton,Bellinger River
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Repton,Bellinger River

Repton,Bellinger River

Gday im going to Repton on the weekend,camping right on the river at Repton ,with my family can anyone give me a heads up on some spots or GPS marks for jewy holes,never been there before,so any spots will be a huge help,taking the tinny to,need a decky if anyone is keen for a fish at night .Does anyone know how its fishing of late since that flush of freshlast week.

Cheers Rob
    Shut up and fish

Ausfish Platinum Member mylestom's Avatar

Re: Repton,Bellinger River

Will send a pm mate

Trev
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

Used to live there for a while when I was growing up. The old man had a house at Mylestom or North Beach.
    Used to get heaps at the old rail bridge. Just ask a local
    Steve.

Quote Originally Posted by rabbi View Post
    Used to live there for a while when I was growing up. The old man had a house at Mylestom or North Beach.
    Used to get heaps at the old rail bridge. Just ask a local
    Steve.
    The road bridge at Urunga was THE spot rabbi!!

Not sure you'll get any jewies blackjew - according to the locals, they've all been caught

Rob,
    Hope the PM's were ok mate, yep the Mylestom tag is from there, have been coming here for over 60years, boat house on the river in the 50's/60's and now lived here for over ten. Might just classify as local now. Also involved for the last 10years in the local Putt Bennett Fishing Festival. The locals "Guns" include people like Ross (same last name as mine but not related) in the river system and NigelR on Ausfish for outside, also spearfishing.

Lots of good fishermen and women (Heather) would have to be included. It's not a bad spot, but floods and netters do have some effect and are not always welcome.

Always willing to help those that treat the system with respect. Haven't been on the water lately due to back problems, but most reports come to me pretty quick, usually on a daily basis.

Trev

Quote Originally Posted by Matt_Campbell View Post
    The road bridge at Urunga was THE spot rabbi!!

Not sure you'll get any jewies blackjew - according to the locals, they've all been caught
    Hey Matt,
    Everywhere was THE spot back then.
    We knew an old couple by the name of Williams and they used to get 40lb jew off the beach on handlines on a regular basis. That was worth watching!!

Forgotten what a jew looks like here on the northern rivers these days

Rob,

Your private message folder is full and you need to delete some msgs to receive more.

Trev

There are still good jew off the beach, at the right time a bit bigger than that, also some that size in the river. The old boys like the handlines and also launching their rowboats off the beach. We caught many good large jew in earliers days in the river as well as big tailor and extremely large flathead from the boat shed most nights. Still some Williams around the area, not all related though.

Some great old timers still around, many a great story they will share including a 94lb jew in front of where the Mylestom hall is now. Just about where our old boathouse was. Bit before my time though and the photo his daughter still has.

Trev

Quote Originally Posted by rabbi View Post
    Hey Matt,
    Everywhere was THE spot back then.
    We knew an old couple by the name of Williams and they used to get 40lb jew off the beach on handlines on a regular basis. That was worth watching!!

Forgotten what a jew looks like here on the northern rivers these days

Well, to state the bleeding obvious, one thing we don't need is more rain!
    Couple of big tides at night this w/e BJ, should put you in with a chance at one of the lower bridges, still a bit of fresh in the river so I'd try near the Repton rail bridge first up. You may well hear the mullet getting smashed on the adjacent flats (SW of bridge) if there is any action.
    Yep still fish taken adjacent to the Urunga H'wy bridge.
    Good luck and hope you enjoy!

Sorry trev all empty now,
    thanks heaps fellers ,gone are the good oll days .

Cheers Rob
    Shut up and fish

Beuty thanks heaps for that in put nigelr thats what i was hoping ,and mate it will be great to get away and wet a line ,in another piece of paridise.Can you tell me do you fish with placcys t night ,or prefare livei'es

Cheers Rob
    Shut up and fish

Mate I would use livies, live beachworms or fresh squid myself but only because I'm totally ignorant about plastics!
    I know guys have caught jew on placcies here but can't imagine how or what they use!
    Bear in mind I very rarely fish the river, Trev is way better informed than me in this regard.

Ok mate thanks again,i have pages of info saved from trev,what a legend .Think ill get some livies.Cheers Rob
    Shut up and fish

Oh mate i forgot to ask ,is it worth throwing in the dilly for a muddy or 2 cheers Rob
    Shut up and fish

Any chance of sharing some of that information Trev? I have spent many hours trying to work out the river down there.
    Had some success on jew with plastics (atomic 6" jerk shads in Real Shad) east of the road bridge, but nothing of real size.