A mate told me today that there were guys full on netting at suttons beach the long weekend.
Just wondering if anyone saw this.
If true how can they do this in this area.
apparently got heaps mullet plus others.
A mate told me today that there were guys full on netting at suttons beach the long weekend.
Just wondering if anyone saw this.
If true how can they do this in this area.
apparently got heaps mullet plus others.
Just came from there 15 mins ago and they had just pulled the net in. There was 7 4x4s with about 9 guys. They were at the northern end near the lifesavers and Sails restuarant. I went for a walk down on the beach with my son, they had a cruiser ute with double height gates on it, the mullet were about a foot deep from the front of the tray to the back. There was hardly any bycatch, only a few small stingrays a couple of cuttlefish and a small barracuta.
Marty.
yes. done every year at this time. their catch is mullet.
Ok how and why is this legal??
i want a bigger boat
Call Sign "In-Vince-able" VHF 72
more info as I am not getting it?
is netting mullet illegal?
cheers Murf
good question charlie. Right in back yard. I think it stinks. This is not a deserted beach like double island. I also would like to know how this is legal.
Wonder if fisheries were there to check sizes of all fish, same way as they do to us. Cant tell me that they only dragged in mullet.
7 four wheel drives, serious stuff and this would be 2nd time in a week.
I don't understand the negative comments to it? It is low impact way of fishing for a target species. It has been going on since I was a kid. How else do you get mullet to eat and for crab bait?
"Elempi" American Bertram 33, 3208T Caterpillar power
What else do they catch. That's my point.
there it is normally just mullet normally not far off the beach they used to run the nets around them in a boat then drag them in only a small window for them to target them been doing it since i was a kid 40 yearsago
ive been watching netters in that area since 1970 and mullet and tailor are the only two main species ive seen caught. i cant see any problems with them fishing that way as long as they respect everyone else that uses the area aswell. i also dont see any bycatch issues that cocern me considering this is my playground aswell, the commercial guys these days have a lot of people watching them for the wrong reasons and have to respect any bycatch ensuring other unwanted species are released or they will only give the people watching reasons to complain.
cheers cr
Since when is Double island a deserted area, I ate mullet once won't do that again. What is the survival rate of our rec by catch if the pros are doing the right thing by there rules I can't see a problem.
If its not Suttons Beach it's Double Island....if it's not Double island it's the Tweed.Fact of the matter is it doesn't seem to matter where they do it, it is always going to be in SOMEONE'S back yard and those someone's are going to have a gripe about it.Naturally.
By all accounts it seems they had very limited by catch so i can't see an issue to complain about.
I'm glad to hear there was limited bycatch
This activity seems to be a sustainable one and the lack of bycatch would seem to make it low impact to other species. All positives in my book as they probably help the bait market out.