Back to the eastern ramp yesterday. After a bit of a slow start we ended up with 45 bass and around 14 tandanus with all the tandans being over 50cm.
Location shot for Bugman and his dad.
Back to the eastern ramp yesterday. After a bit of a slow start we ended up with 45 bass and around 14 tandanus with all the tandans being over 50cm.
Location shot for Bugman and his dad.
Ray, What did the damage? Lures or bait? Pete
====================
Hobie Outback 2012 &
Hobie Oasis 2012
====================
Ray,
Your a champion. Thankyou very much for the effort and congrats on the catch.
The old man is keen ... now i just now to organise the time.
We got them on live shrimp but mate was there and did well throwing spinnerbaits to the grassy banks. Should be a superb edge bite for a while as SEQ water are allowing the dam to fill to capacity. It is good that you can go all over the dam again with the removal of the exclusion zone.
Ray
Nice work Rayken, how's the access on the Eastern Ramp, OK for a 2WD? Keen as to get back in there for a look at what will be essentially a whole new dam!!!!! Anyone heard how far off the levels are before they open the new ramp? Cheers, Jamie.
My PB's - Have Photos of most of them.
Flathead - 98cm - Bait - Tweed River
Spottie Mackerel - 105cm - Bait - Palmy Reef
Australian Bass - 48cm - Spinnerbait - Spot X
Yellowbelly - 48cm - Yellowbelly - Jackall - Sommerset
Bream - 38cm - MF40 - Nerang River
Whiting - 40cm - Bait - Nerang River
Jack - 40cm (Pitiful I Know) - Live Bait - Coomera River
Barra - 104cm - Storm Pro Paddle Tail - Mondy
I tow a 14 ft abalone with 400ah of battery capacity behind old hilux 2wd ute and have no problems with traction. There is a washout on the last bit of track before the ramp that you have to watch.
Only problem is when reversing trailer to launch and retrieve is that the front wheels lock up when you brake and you lose steering. I overcome this by using the hand brake and have no problems.
the ramp
washout.
new eastern arm ramp.It will not be opened till water is well over the concrete section.
CHeers
Ray
Thanx heaps Ray, appreciate the photos, Cheers.
My PB's - Have Photos of most of them.
Flathead - 98cm - Bait - Tweed River
Spottie Mackerel - 105cm - Bait - Palmy Reef
Australian Bass - 48cm - Spinnerbait - Spot X
Yellowbelly - 48cm - Yellowbelly - Jackall - Sommerset
Bream - 38cm - MF40 - Nerang River
Whiting - 40cm - Bait - Nerang River
Jack - 40cm (Pitiful I Know) - Live Bait - Coomera River
Barra - 104cm - Storm Pro Paddle Tail - Mondy
Hi Ray,
What depth are you finding your fish at are they close to the edges or are they deep?
What size spinnerbait was your mate using?
I fished the eastern arm yesterday and only managed 3 bass (unfortunately) caught 2 on spinnerbaits & 1 on a Squirrel jerkbait. I wasn't able to find any large schools as such but got a couple of nice shows of fish at the mouths of a couple of small bays but could not get them to eat.
I was in the western arm on Wednesday and found a very good school after midday but again I could not get them to open their mouths. I had found a school early in the day and got 2 fish from it on jerkbaits and because I had not been to the Hinze for 18 months thought I would go back later in the day after having a look around. I went back around about 11.30 and threw the tackle box at them for no further result.
I will probably try and get back down there next week again. Maybe I will take the fly gear with me next trip and they might be a bit more co-operative!
Bad_Bazza