Stella 8000swpg for jigging???

Thread: Stella 8000swpg for jigging???

Stella 8000swpg for jigging???

Gday Ausfishos

Has anybody used this particular stella for jigging? Im deciding between the 8 or 10k.
    Both models have the exact same drag pressure at 55lb and weigh practically the same.
    The major difference is the gear ratio. The 8k at 4.9:1 and the 10k at 5.8:1. Im just not sure if the 8k will be a tad small for the type of jigging I do.
    Will be pairing it up with a tcurve 200. Normally fish in waters between 60 - 120m. Jigs used are between 200-300g. Looking to load it up with 300m of 50lb jigman braid.
    Any help greatly appreciated

Re: Stella 8000swpg for jigging???

80000 will be fine mate i jig with a 8000 saragosa in the same depths and never had a problem

The 8000 and 10000 are exactly the same reel body with a different spool. Of course there are different models with various gear ratios, but all you need is a 10000/12000 spool to turn a 8000 into a 10000. I fish the 10000PG with 80lb, so you can fit 300m of 50lbs no worries at all.

Get a saltiga

cheers tim

Which one Tim and why? There's lot to choose from

Quote Originally Posted by phantomboy View Post
    Which one Tim and why? There's lot to choose from
    Just kidding mate, both Stella's and Saltiga's are good reels. I just bought myself a Saltiga S-Extreme and it looks solid as a rock. If you want to spend a bit less have a look at the Daiwa Catalina, there another great jigging reel.

cheers tim

Thanks mate. The saltigas look great but I'm quite firm on a stella atm

The 8k will be spot on, the 10k with it's faster retrieve is aimed at surface activities. I still use the same set up with the older Stella FA model 8k, 'magic'
    Limit your Catch - Don't Catch your Limit