• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jigsrule

• Feb 2008

Stella 8000swpg for jigging???

Gday Ausfishos

Has anybody used this particular stella for jigging? Im deciding between the 8 or 10k.
    Both models have the exact same drag pressure at 55lb and weigh practically the same.
    The major difference is the gear ratio. The 8k at 4.9:1 and the 10k at 5.8:1. Im just not sure if the 8k will be a tad small for the type of jigging I do.
    Will be pairing it up with a tcurve 200. Normally fish in waters between 60 - 120m. Jigs used are between 200-300g. Looking to load it up with 300m of 50lb jigman braid.
    Any help greatly appreciated
  • byron_moses

• Oct 2010

Re: Stella 8000swpg for jigging???

80000 will be fine mate i jig with a 8000 saragosa in the same depths and never had a problem

Comment

• metaloid

• Feb 2007

The 8000 and 10000 are exactly the same reel body with a different spool. Of course there are different models with various gear ratios, but all you need is a 10000/12000 spool to turn a 8000 into a 10000. I fish the 10000PG with 80lb, so you can fit 300m of 50lbs no worries at all.

Comment

• TimD
        Banned
        • Dec 2005

Get a saltiga

cheers tim

Comment

• Jigsrule

• Feb 2008

Which one Tim and why? There's lot to choose from

Comment

• TimD
            Banned
            • Dec 2005

Originally posted by phantomboy View Post
            Which one Tim and why? There's lot to choose from
            Just kidding mate, both Stella's and Saltiga's are good reels. I just bought myself a Saltiga S-Extreme and it looks solid as a rock. If you want to spend a bit less have a look at the Daiwa Catalina, there another great jigging reel.

cheers tim

Comment

• Jigsrule

• Feb 2008

Thanks mate. The saltigas look great but I'm quite firm on a stella atm

Comment

• GPB
                Ausfish Gold Member

• Jan 2007

The 8k will be spot on, the 10k with it's faster retrieve is aimed at surface activities. I still use the same set up with the older Stella FA model 8k, 'magic'
                Limit your Catch - Don't Catch your Limit

Comment

Working...
                X