Thread: whiting .

whiting .

Went out yesterday, glorious conditions. Just wondering if anyone finds run in or run out best for winter whit.I have found that run out is better.Got our 100 in few hrs yesterday. Biggest winter whiting i have seen. Majority were size of good summeries.Have been nailing them lately.greg

Re: whiting .

what area were you - cockle banks have been small sized lately

Ausfish Silver Member Swanie1975's Avatar

hi greg,what area (roughly) are you fishing and what tackle/trace are you using?cheers ryan

gday seahorse great day it was i scored a few whiting flathead bream flounder and a squire i seen u and your mate putting in at clontarf and out on the water did u here that clown mouthing off up on the bank 530 in the morn get of the drugs i reckon cheers.

hey greg u tried where the adjustment bouy use to be,sounds like u are getting a good feed of the tastie little buggers againcheers rosco

Cool Re: whiting .

Quote Originally Posted by Seahorse View Post
    Went out yesterday, glorious conditions. Just wondering if anyone finds run in or run out best for winter whit.I have found that run out is better.Got our 100 in few hrs yesterday. Biggest winter whiting i have seen. Majority were size of good summeries.Have been nailing them lately.greg
    Might be the area, as the area I usually fish, fish best either side top of the tide.Cheers

Have been getting them out front woody point. Have to keep chasing them. Not like cockle banks or comp bouy. You seem to get 6- 10 or so each time you move. You wont get 20 or 30 in one spot.I just had a big meal of them tonight. Definately best fish in the ocean.Swanie, I use patanoster rig, and true turn no 1 hooks. just got make sure you put enough lead on to get to bottom. I never cast, just drop straight over side. Open reel and let go till sinker hits bottom. I bought 9ft gary howard and alvey and find this outfit fantastic.Mate uses running sinker but with about 5ft trace, but they tend to swallow hook lot more often with this rig.He was always digging the hook out and I think I only had 2 swallows, and we had same hooks.Rosco, lets just hope they stay around. I have been getting good feeds for last few weeks. Tried the old comp bouy about 3 weeks ago but nothing, but all the time i have fished there over the years, never comes to quality that I have been getting lately.Mojoe, after looking at ur boat on here, i remember seeing you. I did hear that bloke at ramp. Iam going to get ausfish stickers so people can say hi if seen.Glad u got a feed. U were out near us wernt u?CheersGreg

I caught half a dozen at the compas adjust bout. Took 1/2 an hour. There were 10 boats. I left as I had commitments

great catch seahorse. do you use your sounder to find them?

No just drift around.

Seahorse just a quick one any sought of depth your looking for have heard 6m there abouts mentioned previously.

usually around 16ft

Good stuff Greg