Who got caught by wrong weather forecast? - Page 5
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Who got caught by wrong weather forecast?

Re: Who got caught by wrong weather forecast?

OK guys, Seeing as there are some guys who think they can read the weather systems and animal reactions !!
    Whats the weather going to be like on Saturday-Sunday this weekend on Moreton Bay and Offshore Moreton ????

Also if you can explain your prediction it might help us Seabreeze readers

Funny enough the weather this weekend looks similar to last.

Even though there's bugger all isobars across qld there is that trough running down the coast. Also there is a low further south so could be in for similar conditions to last weekend..

I think it will be fine in close but offshore will be a bit nasty.

Whats other's opinions?..

Im was thinking of heading off Rocky, but unsure how far north that trough will extend. looks to be similar north aswell..

weather was ment to be mint last weekend and we fished out wide in 500m and it was CRAP!!!!!!!! we will go again this saturday with the weather saying its going to be PERFECT!!!! but u can bet ur bottom dollar it ends up rough
    Matty

Quote Originally Posted by finga;1287865
    [B
    Also a question for those who don't believe. How do you think people knew what the weather was going to do before the days of the idiot net??
    Did they just take pot luck or what?[/B]
    I guess I'll have to find out the real reasons why there are so many shipwrecks and artificial reefs people donated to the ocean floor from days gone by??

Quote Originally Posted by Flex View Post
    Lol Horses and cats? are you taking the piss Finga? ...

My cat forgets where his ass is cause he's always licking it to check it's there, let alone forecast weather.

I have't figured out how to thank under the new changes, but that deserves a special mention. That's gold Flex!! Thanks!! Still laughing!

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem View Post

I have't figured out how to thank under the new changes, but that deserves a special mention. That's gold Flex!! Thanks!! Still laughing!

Hahaha, glad you got a laugh out of it Scalem

Anyone who sit's around watching ants, cats and horses all day for a weather forecast has way too much time on there hands.

cheers tim

If you don't want to learn how the predict the weather a bit better by looking towards nature then it's no skin off my nose.
    I don't have to justify my standing or beliefs to anyone and I really don't care if you think I'm a fool. I wasn't the one stuck in some crook weather was I?

Some people have said they want to learn how to predict weather a bit better but in the next breathe redicule those who try to offer an alternative that has worldwide acceptance and what may well could be very useful information to know to better predict weather patterns.
    All they have to do is stop been so narrow minded and open their eyes and read a bit of information that is very easily available and they may learn something.
    If you do just do a simple google or yahoo search with "Can animals predict the weather" as the topic and read some of the results.
    Here is just one page I found with a yahoo search.
    http://www.associatedcontent.com/art...her.html?cat=7

What does it say about a cat licking it's @rse and cat's in general??
    Cats groom more when there's increased static electricity in the air. Their fur loses electrons when relative humidity is low and they become "charged". Grooming wets the hair and the static electricity goes away.
    For those that don't know static is an indicator that a storm is coming.

Here is an article by Australian Geographic about using nature to predict weather. I suppose they're a mob of fools too.
    http://www.australiangeographic.com....a-forecast.htm
    What did they say about hair??

But when it boils down I really don't care if you want to learn or not. But don't start whining when the method you have chosen to predict what the weather is going to do is wrong....way bloody wrong.
    And don't attempt to redicule those who offer an alternative. You may well be wrong and even worse. That would be been wrong.... and narrow minded to boot.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by TIM D View Post
    Anyone who sit's around watching ants, cats and horses all day for a weather forecast has way too much time on there hands.

cheers tim
    Better then been stuck in crook weather I reckon.

finga not having a go at you mate, but do you actually ever go fishing ??

cheers tim

I fish enough to know not to go too far out when there's a red sunrise.

It is funny to see the ignorance of some of the posts by so called fishermen. Does not the pursuit of being a successful catcher of fish require a study or familiarisation with the target species habitat and feeding characteristics? Is this not observing nature so as to be able to anticipate recognised cycles. Weather and it's patterns is a part of nature and what Finga has enlightened some of you with is the ability to observe nature, something that modern man is at a total loss to recognise and is clearly evident by the ignorance that man displays in the way he treats this planet.

Quote Originally Posted by wiz View Post
    It is funny to see the ignorance of some of the posts by so called fishermen. Does not the pursuit of being a successful catcher of fish require a study or familiarisation with the target species habitat and feeding characteristics? Is this not observing nature so as to be able to anticipate recognised cycles.
    Don't be silly. Fishing is about reading weather predictions on a website; downloading a fishing position from a website and loading that into your GPS and then setting your auto-pilot to go to that spot; drop anchor on that exact spot and then drop something down that you've read about on the net to try and catch a fish.

Can anyone tell me the forecast for tomorrow going by my cats behaviour today

Sorry i couldnt resist

cheers tim
    Attached Images Attached Images

I DID read one of your links Finga, and I will just say this. There is a lot of sense in going to websites to try make the best of a planned day out on the water. I will quote from the last link you gave from Australian Geographic who put this in perfect perspective for me, maybe you should consider that a majority of people looking at websites do not have a horse, problems with ants, I don't have a dog or frogs in the yard. But the article does point out that some animal behaviour can be helpful - granted.
    "To get an idea of what kind of weather to expect all we need to do is browse the web, listen to a news bulletin or pick up a copy of the daily paper. However, if you do find yourself outdoors and out of touch with technology, there are signs that you can look out for to help avoid being stuck in a downpour with your tent fly furiously flapping in the wind."

This article infers if you don't have technology at your fingertips, then look at nature for clues. Fine!! Acknowledged!! Happy?