Thread: Underwater LED lights

Underwater LED lights

I've been searching for some good quality underwater lights for attracting squid and bait-fish which hopefully kicks of the food chain right under my transom.

I am wondering if anyone has any experience with these.
    http://www.aqualeds.com

They look good quality with the brass surface mount housing and at 1250 lumens, should be plenty bright.

Re: Underwater LED lights

There was a lot of talk about colour as well. The frequency of some colours made a difference. Do teh leds have teh right colour or was all that just marketing? Some colours travel a lot further in water.

What abouut the ones you just put over the side and lower 5m rather than having them hull fixed? Can't remember the name and not sure they were led

I'm looking at the Blue or Green lights.

From what I have read on the net, white light puts fish off for some reason but blue, red or green seems to attract them.

White light should penetrate deeper as it is made up of multiple wavelengths and therfore a greater range of frequencies that can penetrate the medium which in this case is sea water.

The çoloured lights are purer in the physics sense as they have singular wavelengths (assuming the colours are pure). The refraction of the light through the lens should be more predictable with the coloured lights. Maybe this attracts fish more than the scattered white light which is more akin to daylight?? Buggered if i know...I'm just hoping they will help me catch more fish.

Anyone got an aquarium and some coloured lenses to test this?

Are you sure mate about white light.
    I have green and white and white seems to attract more baitfish to the boat. I basically use a prawn light and dip into the water when i'm fishing.

The green light is mounted under the boarding ladder and cost $3.50 LED waterproof strips

No, not sure at all. Just thinking it through.

In theory, Blue light has a higher frequency/energy than Red light so it should penetrate deeper. So if your white light is towards the cooler (blue) end of the spectrum then it should penetrate deeper than it would if it were in the warmer (red) end of the spectrum. Whether deeper penetration has anything to do with attracting the bait fish remains to be seen.

It's interesting that you say you attact more bait fish with the white light than the green. Could this be simply because your whitelight is a brighter light than your green?

If its purely for when at rest ancd purely for fish attracting then you can get very strong submersible high intensity dishcharge green lights that are pretty cool. You can drop them down to the bottom if u want or surface. Make them in the states.

Thanks Deckie... got any links for these?

White light will attract more fish, Flood lights are used by commerical squid fisherman the world over, they are also used a lot for bait collection as well.

I would be doing white before any colour.

Cheers Lee

Quote Originally Posted by scottishguy View Post
    Thanks Deckie... got any links for these?
    no worries, got to head home but will find one of the sites and pop up a bit later this arvo/early evening. they're the type you throw out from pontoons to attract fish.
    steve

Is the white lights used by the pro's as they are brighter i.e. more lumens?

Any thoughts on the product linked?
    http://www.aqualeds.com/

just done a check out price delivered to australia $185.00 us shipping inc awsome price let me know if you get some quite keen to find out what there like

yeahh nahh looks like a bit of a bum steer for you. I remember coming across these and thought they were 12v but arnt. They're massive 150-200W HID jobs running off mains (u.s. mains so prob need a transformer here anyway). If u have an inverter they do a portable one they reckon goes to 100ft but more the thing for pontoons i guess. Sorry matey not what i thought.
    http://underwaterfishlight.com/html/...ishing_li.html

For 18W underwater led's those u found look great for the price.

Found these whilst looking for that website again...but would need a few of them.
    http://www.gogreenfishlights.com/ind...ex&cPath=73_79

mate I have a set of aqualuma surface mount leds in blue and they work unreal..no problem for attracting either squid or fish.. not badly priced but they have so much grunt, are aussie made and have the service and backup here on the goldcoast, all the major manufacturers in both australia, europe and the us are now using em.. finally we can make something in australia !!!!!
    "Live Life"

La Vida, it looks from your profile pic that you have a Striper DC, same as my boat.

Have you got any pictures of the transom with the lights fitted?

I'm interested to see where your lights are mounted as I want to put some trim-tabs on and I am concerned about clearances between the tabs and the lights.