Thread: 12 volt hot water system

12 volt hot water system

Gday gents,

For reasons which will become obvious soon I'm chasing a 12 volt/24 volt hot water system.

There doesn't seem to be too many on the market and this one keeps popping up time and time again.

http://www.ausj.com.au/Duetto-10.htm

Anyone have one or used one or can recommend anything else?

Re: 12 volt hot water system

Look at how much current it draws. 25A at 12V. I would be looking for gas alternatives if at all possible.

Andy,

Thats the problem... can't do gas. Looking at a marine installation in a "smallish boat". There's a couple of reviews where the owners say they run them for 30 mins to warm the water and enables two people to have a shower. That's really only 12 amps out of the battery. If twin outboards were running I'm probably not discharging the batteries too much. By the way - three batteries... two for the "house bank".

Seems the best alternative when the other half - demands hot water shower.

they look good to me and 25amps is for one hour so as you say 12amps should be its average draw for a two showers??? thats not much if you run the motors daily or have a solar panel.
    cheers cr

Much better value for money: http://www.colemanaustralia.com.au/G...on-Demand.aspx

Runs on those cartridges. Real hot water when ever you want it. Cost is similar.

Quote Originally Posted by TheRealAndy View Post
    Much better value for money: http://www.colemanaustralia.com.au/G...on-Demand.aspx

Runs on those cartridges. Real hot water when ever you want it. Cost is similar.
    Or better still
    http://www.companionleisure.com.au/i...sid=1277085276
    Tight lines <*)(((((((((><

Brett, are you fitting out your tinny to do overnighters on the shelf. Nothing like a warm shower in the morning

Quote Originally Posted by Horse View Post
    Brett, are you fitting out your tinny to do overnighters on the shelf. Nothing like a warm shower in the morning
    Go easy on him Horse he did work for the ABC now has an IGA and some say he still has NFI but i think hes ok

Thanks gents,
    I'm glad your all worried about my exposure to the cold.
    Andy, Griz - It's going to be mounted in a boat. I really don't want the gas or naked flame in a confined space. Andy I've used that exact model while camping but don't think it will work in the area I've got.
    The boat has a shower room but only cold water shower. I'm looking for a permanent hot water solution that I can mix into the current pressure pump and water tank.
    Neil, my days in a 5m tinny at the shelf may be numbered
    Banksy - you might even get a ride

Cmon spill ya guts. What r u buying??

All in good time my friend..... all in good time

I have a Coleman gas hot water system and its great for camping and even in the boat. I figure if I am going to use gas to cook food on the boat whats the difference to using it to heat water..
    With that in mind I do put the System on the bait board while using it in the boat so there is heaps of air flow around it. The Coleman one does suck a lot of water even with having a quick shower, 2 showers and we used 20L

Get a couple of those black shower bags, and shower late arvo - or have a look at an engine jacket system (water Pipe running around the exhaust on the donk, if you have an inboard)

I have a glind heat exchanger fitted to my mercruiser and it does a great job

How our you going buggy, have you thought about a small diesel water heater for your boat might be a safer and more efficent. Google it and all the info you need will come up about them.

Rick from Northwest