PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Mixed bag for May
Hi all its been a while since i posted but i am still fishing 4 to 5 times a week but no really good fish so being my birthday today i thought i would at least post the month as i have hooked a few different species of late. First i have been chasing big kingies and loat a huge 80cm to a pilon. Flicked around dunich for a silver trevally which was good on 4 pound and a wet windy night off green got me my largest snap of the year a wapping 50cm and a 50cm cod (its been a bad year for me) and tailor off the welly jetty at high tide and yesterday coming back from peel and a large school of big mac tuna got close enough to my 2 stoke to cast after hours of 25 gram slug with no touches i put on a small plastic with an old rusty jig head to get distance and first cast i was on only problem i was on 8 poud leader so it took a while to turn it off its side to the boat so my first tuna of the sorts (still no longtail and might need a larger leader lol) so a quiet year but each new species is a new fight and adding to my species list.
DD.....
Nice variety there Dave...May in the bay has sucked for me after a cracking April. Out yesterday for a bag full of grinners & pike plus undersize squire and a small doggie mackeral.
Saw some longtails feeding at Peel but couldn't get close. Oh, and it pissed down on us for half the morning!
Pete i have a new fishing buddy by the way of my wifes long haired chiwawa dog and he got pretty wet out there yesterday to but if you come you sit there and shut up and let the plastics fly but we did get a bit of sun amounst the rain showers. you do notice the rain when you got no roof over head and the wind blowes the centre console around so your faced with a wet sounder and boat but if it was easy i wouldnt do it.
Cheers boys. Matt i do get out there every second or so day and 2 to 3 times a weekend weather permitting but thats only my so called addiction to the snapps and plastics. A good 35 hours a week would be a weeks work and yes i work with 15 of our own apprentices to look after and run jobs but the sunset is my time (ot telly neigbours lol) i watch the sun go then falling stars and the like. I always think if i am not there they will be so i cover a lot of reef edges but Mud is still one of my ones to crack. I live at welly only a few k,s from ramp so that helps.
Matt ;lately i only use 2 pound braid and 4 pound leader for dusk and only go up to 8 pound leader and 4 pound fireline at night only to make it more of a fight but i have found more hits on the lighter gear than my old 12 pound leader but most of my fishing in the shallows is a 1/20th jig in the 5 to 10 feet area and a 1/8th on the drop offs in TT but of late you will see cheapy,s in there mouths as things are very tight and will be for a while as i can tell yah there is a reccesion here now and the worst we have seen in 30 years of building. I did get my 82cm on 20 pound leader and 14 pound fireline but thats my maximum and i tell yah that was stretching it with the big boys but i found lighter gear and less drag they come in without huge head shakes and easier to net by yourself. No doubt mornings are better for a short sun up period but i am not a morning person and i cant sleep if i know i am going so dusk is more of a longer fish with no hurry to full sun and 1 hour after sun has gone down is the best bite period only if high on dusk or close (i found all gone on low tide) sorry i get exited just talking about it. Cheers DD..... ps Good snapps around state of origon time to.
DD, thanks for the info, you are game fishing for snapper on bream gear.
I'm no bay expert, but I reckon you gotta go heavier and fish deeper if you are after the bigger snapper.
I've found you can pick up heaps of undersize fishing the shallows around Wello, Green and Mud with bream gear and smaller plastics like 3" minnows. Lots of fun, but you go through gulps pretty quick, and get little for the esky. There is the odd decent fish in there, and they are a lot of fun on the light gear, but your chances of getting busted are pretty high.
Leader size V bites V bustoffs is always a trade off, I reckon a happy medium in the bay is 6 - 10lb braid and 10 - 12lb leader - and fish bigger baits like 4" minnows or 5" jerkshads. Also move out to the reef edges where its a bit deeper. The bigger snapper patrol these edges more. I like to fish 1/6 or 1/4 in 1/0 or 2/0 hooks.
I run into a bloke (not an Ausfisher) at the Tackle Warehouse last winter who was stocking up on 7" Jerkshads and Nitro Saltwater Pro 5/0s and 40lb leader, I asked him where he was heading, he said Mud Island. He'd just landed a couple of 80 pluses the night before. He was pretty excited! and fair dinkum. He fishes the big gear in the bay all the time for big fish!
Just goes to show, the really big gear works in the bay too. There is more time between bites with the bigger gear, but the fish are bigger. Thats the theory anyway - I'd better get out there and test it again.
DD you not the only one suffering the big fish drought, I've had a lousy year when it comes to the big ones. Not even a Thready worth bragging about, hope the big ones come back and weren't fished out!
Matt, thanks for tips will give then ago - so true about fishing the shallows and Mud. I've had a dud Mud year there too, time to try something different. Have caught some monster catfish there tho!
Hey Matt i totally agree with all you said i do use the same at times but i seem to fish for for the sport than a feed of late just for a chalenge. I normally use to use 4 to 5 inch nuclear chicken flick baits on the top of the dropoffs as i find them up there not on the bottom as less current on top for them to feed and the 82cm i caught was on a 7 inch plastic and heavy jig head large bozo flouro head (good stuff them bozo flouro jigs) but i just need to push myself with light gear on big fish to make it more of a fight and a much more enjoyable hook up if i land in stead of skull dragging em up to the surface but i do still use the big gear in deeper water dont worry but only day not night when the big buggers are in the shallows hiding from there fo the sharks (my thiery about them in the shallows at night) but one things for shure i love my snapper. One thing that doesnt work for me but others is shads they are shit for me no go at all. Hey Richo1 i know the ol mud catty he was 80 when i got him now i heard stories of him being about 1 metre plus as every bugger throws him back and boy can he pull. DD.....
DD, no worries, I just thought you were trying to pull big snapper on silly string all the time. My best light line snapper was a 75cm on 3lb Microfuse and 10 or 12lb leader, closest I've been to being spooled, without actually getting spooled!
I just got back from testing the theories (at Mud) and they still hold up. Best two went 56 and 45cm, on 4" minnow and 5" jerkshad - 10 and 20lb line with 10lb leader. Also got about 15 undersized most around the 15 - 25cm mark, no just-unders at all. Got most of the rats on 3" minnows on the bream gear. Got a few rats on the bigger outfits, but mostly they just tap away. Or I try and wind it to get away from them.
Awesome afternoon out there, glassed out at sunset.
Damm catties, after a long wait the reel screams you think you feel head shakes, then it starts circling the boat you start to have doubts, drag screams a few more times, morning sun reflects off its skin you think you see pink - hopes rise, quick get the net, 80+ catty shits all over the back of your boat - everybody gags! That was my last experience at Mud Still I guess better than catching nothing, if they weren't catties you would be stoked at the fight they put up.