Thread: 175 optimax pro xs

175 optimax pro xs

Hi guys any one have any feed back on this motor looking at this motor for new boat / performance fuel economy thanks Rod..

Re: 175 optimax pro xs

give steve a ring at battery traders slacks creek, hes got one on his boat and is very happy with it.

only problem with Optis is the size of them (I reckon anyway) they are huge, but very reliable, very good on fuel and have good power, not a lot more to ask for really hey!

Noel i think your more thinking of the 90/115 series, the 175 is by no means huge by comparision to other 175 Di's and 4 bangers. great engine, good on fuel and plenty of grunt, they are noisy though - good pricing atm

OH, OK, the 90 was the motor I was thinking of, my mate got one the other day and it is gigantic!

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    OH, OK, the 90 was the motor I was thinking of, my mate got one the other day and it is gigantic!

yes the 90 is huge compared to say your 90 Zukes

I have the 115 Opti (same block as the 90), it's actually lighter than the 115 4 stroke Suzi and Yammi, which were my other options when purchased back in 2004.
    What are the differences between standard Opti's and the XS Pro version ?

Good motors. Had a 99 150hp Optimax and pretty happy with it though a bit noisy. Have heard the new ones are quieter but I think i'll listen to one and make up my mind. Very economical.
    Duckfish

Ausfish Bronze Member Marchy001's Avatar

I have a 175 ProXs on the back of a 5.8 Noble super Vee.
    Started out with a 150 Opti but was greedy and wanted more power.

WOT with the 150 was around 31knots but i was low on RPM with the Pro Xs i was hitting about 37knots and still low on rpm this was with a 17"Vengeance similar speeds with a 16 Enertia. I have a 15 Enertia sitting on the floor now ready to bolt on.

With both a 17 Vengeance and a 16 Enertia i am averaging 0.8 nm/L in the first 100 hours, fuel usage was the same with the 150 as well (first 40 hours) but i can cruise a fair bit quicker with the ProXs. I had a trip recently that it was a little lumpy and cruise was around 20knots and i averaged 0.9 - 1 nm/L for the trip

It does make noise but i find it easy to listen to tunes or talk when cruising at 27 - 30 Knots, I tested the same boat with a 175 Suzi 4St and i like the Opti better.

If ya want to know any more give me a call 0427 213 545

Quote Originally Posted by Marchy001 View Post
    I have a 175 ProXs on the back of a 5.8 Noble super Vee.
    Started out with a 150 Opti but was greedy and wanted more power.

WOT with the 150 was around 31knots but i was low on RPM with the Pro Xs i was hitting about 37knots and still low on rpm this was with a 17"Vengeance similar speeds with a 16 Enertia. I have a 15 Enertia sitting on the floor now ready to bolt on.

With both a 17 Vengeance and a 16 Enertia i am averaging 0.8 nm/L in the first 100 hours, fuel usage was the same with the 150 as well (first 40 hours) but i can cruise a fair bit quicker with the ProXs. I had a trip recently that it was a little lumpy and cruise was around 20knots and i averaged 0.9 - 1 nm/L for the trip

It does make noise but i find it easy to listen to tunes or talk when cruising at 27 - 30 Knots, I tested the same boat with a 175 Suzi 4St and i like the Opti better.

If ya want to know any more give me a call 0427 213 545
    thank you for the info i have a cruise crafrt reef ranger and are going to put a opti 175 on it your post was very helpful

I have a 200 opti on my Trophy (21') , plenty of power and very good on fuel.
    I run a 18" Enertia and a 19" Vensura, I get around the .9 mile per lt cruising at 35-40 mph , at 550 rpm she uses 1.4 lts per hour.
    Noiser than any 4 banger or E-tec at idle and mid range , not much difference at high rpm.

Very reliable and heaps down low, jumps out of the hole .