Thread: Marlin Broadbill

Marlin Broadbill

Hi guys, does anyone here have any experience with Marlin Broadbills? Im looking for a cheap fix to get myself and my mate back onto the reefs for a while and these boats seem fairly priced.

Is the ride decent? They look a bit lightweight tho does this make them a bit unsettled in not so nice conditions?

I thought i could go longer without owning a boat but all the pics of reds im seeing lately are causing anxious feelings. Stop putting these pics up please

Re: Marlin Broadbill

Apparently the early versions without the extended bow were a bit spear like hence the upgraded Mk 2 versions which tend to be more exxy.

C
    C
    What could go wrong.......................

Why not a cheap shark cat? be alot more options about than a Broadbill? and better riding too

Dean1, PM sent.

Quote Originally Posted by Flex View Post
    Why not a cheap shark cat? be alot more options about than a Broadbill? and better riding too
    Yep i have a sharkcat in mind Cheers.

So I take it you sold your beloved 5.2KC? I bet that hurt getting rid of it.
    Be like selling a first born

Quote Originally Posted by Flex View Post
    So I take it you sold your beloved 5.2KC? I bet that hurt getting rid of it.
    Be like selling a first born
    Yeah mate i sold it Lovey80 on here a few months ago. Yes it took me a year or more to bite the bullet but im ok with it as i didnt have a proper shed for her and it was real shame to see it going downhill from the sun etc. Also i wasnt using it enough to justify the $$ so im going to jump into a not so flash workhorse something i dont have to stress about, just hose her off after a trip run motors and shes done!

But i will get my flash 2700 NC one day then it will make up for it

Did you end up buying a cat?????

the Marlin Broadbill with the wave piercing hulls is the way to go, they ride well, i think there some issue's on the early models with splitting hulls, i have fished out of a 720 current shape one a few times and thought it performed well.

been in Broadbills (new and old) thousands of times, and they are OK, but having owned an Aluminium cat before I personally would not own another one, that being said, there is heaps of old Broadbills still working without any major repair work being carried out on them, they made a heap of different models over the years, and I reckon the pick of them (for a cheap boat) is the old early 80's high bow 18 and 20 footer, some had a fibreglass windscreen/deck sort of setup, they were good boats, and easy to get second hand.

Ditto to both Julian and and Noels comments.
    Having been involved with quite a few alloy cats albeit good
    there glass counterparts outperform em considerably
    and the MB if it aint got wave piercers it aint gunna perform IMO
    Regards Frank