Thread: 2 guys + every lure known to man + zero fish (BORUMBA)

2 guys + every lure known to man + zero fish (BORUMBA)

Hey All,

Just thought I'd post to report that a mate and I threw every type of lure at the bass and toga's in all parts of the dam from 6am till 3pm. The final score did not flatter us, although the day on the dam was sensational with early morning fog, and flat conditions.

I hope those who ventured out over the weekend faired better!

Bermo

Re: 2 guys + every lure known to man + zero fish (BORUMBA)

Its good to hear an honest story every now and then. Good thing you still had a good day out and thats what its all about.

Borumba can be like that at times. It would have coped a lot of pressure over the last few weeks. Atleast you weren't mowing the lawn.

Gee I hate it when you miss the bite
    Seriously - Fishing Borumba requires you to be casting lures at first light ( head up the dam in the dark) ........ I know a couple of times that I've fished there , it was all over red rover by 6.30am - with no more fish till toward sunset. It was sound advice given to me initially
    Borumba can be like that......... so give yourself the best chance

PS .... thanks for the report though Regardless its a magic place to fish

yes its a funny place at times,but can turn it on big time had some great sessions on the full moon on poppers,and early morning toga action in the sticks ,sounds like your day was too good.weather wise

thanks guys, it was a great day out regardless, and such a beautiful place. Thanks for a the couple of pointers for the dam.. It only makes you want to go back and try again.

I did manage to get out and catch 6 nice mud crabs in the salty stuff yesterday so that made up for it!!!

Bermo

I would try the really deep water for the bass as it gets colder, should be able to find them schooling up on the sounder.
    The Rainbowrunner
    Peter Hansler
    phansler@hotmail.com
    Click here for my webpage
    Click here for my videos

Give a man a fish, he'll eat it and fall asleep.

Teach a man to fish and he'll endanger an entire species

Thanks for the hints everyone much appreciated. I'm a saltwater fisho by nature but love the scenery of the dams. Will get back up there and try some of the deeper spots in winter!

Quote Originally Posted by Apollo View Post
    Borumba can be like that at times. It would have coped a lot of pressure over the last few weeks.

it has, its had a real flogging, the last few weeks. the fish seem to be getting tuffer and tuffer as it gets cooler and cooler. edge bite has realy died in the arse. time to start useing sounders and working deep.
    figjam :wink:

Bermo Bermo Bermo, I was going to suggest you stick to the salt but then again would the result have be any different????????
    Getting closer to the main game at Donybrook in Aug buddy, hope you're gunna "bring it" this year and not ride Skell"s coat tail again LOL.

Mike D (06, 07, 09)

Mike Mike Mike, I cannot believe it took you this long to give me a ribbing!!!!! Yeah the main game is going to be good this year. Skell and I may be doing cheeky pre-fish this weekend, so the flatty should be safe! i'll most likely ride on his coat tail again... he can at least catch fish. Is there much of crew organised yet???

Bermo (yet to win)

Been in Melb for a week, forgot what a blue sky looked like. Yeh should be good this year, I'm looking forward to the Fri night actually (Bday drinkies), we should get that casting comp organised as well cause I've still have the wall of lures to give away. I'll have JP & Wally in with me, despite that I won't be mucking around this year LOL.

Mike D (06, 07, 09)

Ha, I reckon that casting comp will be a bit of fun especially with a few cheeky bevvies under the belt. Some bday drinks at the bowls club with the footy sounds good!