Thread: Estuary relaxation - way overdue!

Estuary relaxation - way overdue!

The Yalta cruised around calm water for a change while I spent a bit of time fishing the pin overnight with my wife.... We had a great fish with Jew and Javelin ( spotted grunter) playing ball. It was insane at the bottom of the tide yesterday arvo, double hookups, 3 soapies in a row not quite legal. The wife was using my best rod( I want her to, so she can weave her normal magic, she is a good fishergal) a berkley powershot plastics rig but with fresh yabbies on the end... Only 4 lb certainly got interest. She was smashed 3 times in all the bite period - just as well I can re tie knots quickly!

Could not help taking a punt at prawns and got these for an hours work. It was too windy out in the open, the wife had the controls while I cast out the back, so we put the top pocket net away and worked the shallows with a standard cheapie 10 footer. Could have bagged out in another hour or so, they kept getting better and better, I counted 18 nice greazies in one cast, but can't blame the missus for getting a little bored so I left them splashing around everywhere...but I'm happy with these....

All lined up for lunch with a mate tomorrow.

Re: Estuary relaxation - way overdue!

Howdy Brian, thats a nice Easter feed of prawns.
    Might have to give them a crack because its not looking good for a bay fish.
    Did you encounter any flathead?
    The pin is a great area for picking up a few on the troll using hardbody lures,
    Happy Easter mate.
    Cheers Brent

Hi Brent,

Thanks mate. From here the fan will be on full blast so fishing the bay will be ugly during Easter break. Didn't find any flathead, but I wasn't trying for them specifically. One boat that went past was trolling HBs, but he didn't seem to pull over during the whole time I saw him. Went straight past us and had me thinking if I caught another fish I better keep the rod down so they don't see a loaded blank.

As I say, we had Javelin, Moses perch, Bream, Jew. Used 16 litres, got our own yabbies for bait... Beats bashing around the cape for a change of scenery, using 80 litres of fuel for sometimes only one or two fish. I know I am still learning to fish offshore, but coming back to my old stomping ground in comfort, with my best mate and a feed of prawns to boot... Life is good!

Gday Brian,

Thats a good haul for a few hours mate,do you cook them up for the evening meal when overnighting??
    Myself, wife and son use to fish down there quite often in our tinnie and did quite well.

Mate, if you ever want to do another overnighter down the pin way give us a yell.My son is keen, at least now with the Yalta we can sleep in comfort and not get eaten alive by the mossies!!
    Also the Bream will be coming on shortly.
    Kerrod

Wink Re: Estuary relaxation - way overdue!

Quote Originally Posted by Kdog View Post
    Gday Brian,

Thats a good haul for a few hours mate,do you cook them up for the evening meal when overnighting??
    Myself, wife and son use to fish down there quite often in our tinnie and did quite well.

Mate, if you ever want to do another overnighter down the pin way give us a yell.My son is keen, at least now with the Yalta we can sleep in comfort and not get eaten alive by the mossies!!
    Also the Bream will be coming on shortly.
    Hi Kerrod,

Thats funny, we didn't spend the money on a zipper to close off the cabin area, but bought some screen material and did a makeshift insect screen. The mozzies swarmed outside the screen like a squadron of war planes, looking for a way in. Somehow they occasionally did, and on came the lights to find the one or two that would dive bomb us, waking you when they buzzed near or on your ear, the only part of your anatomy not shielded by cotton bedsheets. I must have eventually got some shut eye, apparently I snored which is unusal for me unless I am dog tired. And no wonder, trying to figure out how the buggers were getting into the cabin, it was like the movie aliens, trying to block all entry, dolphin torch at the ready at the slightest movement, or noise!! They were thick alright, the worste I have ever experienced.

Scalem,

A couple of mates did an overnighter a few weeks ago and he had one of them mozzie things that sprays every 30seconds or so mounted just outside the cabin. Not 1 mozzie made it into the cabin all night. It was a mortien one I think. Normally put them in a BBQ area outside at home. Just a thought.

Nice feed there BTW

Foggy

Hi Brian ,
    It is about time you took Leslie out fishing and is realy great for you two to get away for some time together.Did you use any soft plastics ? I bet those live prawns would have attracted some good fish. How is the sounder going ? It is always great to go back to your early days of fishing . I often remember my early days fishing some small esturary as the sun gets up or fishing a deserted beach before sun rise. Glad to hear you can still get a buzz out of fishing inside .

Quote Originally Posted by foggy View Post
    Scalem,

A couple of mates did an overnighter a few weeks ago and he had one of them mozzie things that sprays every 30seconds or so mounted just outside the cabin. Not 1 mozzie made it into the cabin all night. It was a mortien one I think. Normally put them in a BBQ area outside at home. Just a thought.

Nice feed there BTW

Foggy
    Hey Foggy, good to hear from you ! I wondered how you have been! Thanks for the tip, I will put it on the shopping list and not get one.... I'll get at least two and set them up on each chair. That'll fix them!
    Quote Originally Posted by Adventurer View Post
    Hi Brian ,
    It is about time you took Leslie out fishing and is realy great for you two to get away for some time together.Did you use any soft plastics ? I bet those live prawns would have attracted some good fish. How is the sounder going ? It is always great to go back to your early days of fishing . I often remember my early days fishing some small esturary as the sun gets up or fishing a deserted beach before sun rise. Glad to hear you can still get a buzz out of fishing inside .
    Gidday Al!
    I used yabbies for bait, the prawns were caught the day after on our way home. The sounder has been updated to the latest firmware and still loses track of the bottom on the split screen, where it is supposed to zoom on the bottom 3 meters. But the right side of the split screen never loses track of the structure, and still tells me approximate depth, but not in big bold numbers all the time on the top left. Annoying, and time I asked Humminbird to sort it out I guess. Add it to the list of things to do!! I'll get there eventually.