Thread: The Seaway fom The Rocks??

The Seaway fom The Rocks??

Hey all can you fish the Seaway Pipeline From The Rocks?? maybe lues or plastics? bait? any help would be great! tightlines!!

Re: The Seaway fom The Rocks??

I never managed to. Must take more skill than I have fishing from land. What I found was the rocks go out a fair way and you need a super lloooonnngggg rod to get away from the snags which you WILL find when the current is running (99% of the time)

Add to that the divers that like snorkling in the area during daylight hours and ..... you might think a move is on the cards 5 mins after getting there. Just my opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem View Post
    I never managed to. Must take more skill than I have fishing from land. What I found was the rocks go out a fair way and you need a super lloooonnngggg rod to get away from the snags which you WILL find when the current is running (99% of the time)

Add to that the divers that like snorkling in the area during daylight hours and ..... you might think a move is on the cards 5 mins after getting there. Just my opinion.

Yea thats what I thought to Scalem just wanted some other opinions? cheers mate

I have grabbed a few Trevally there - v. early morning on a low tide - mid week, before anyone is game enough to get in for a dive. Using poppers to avoid the rocks.
    Follow Mullet Musketeer - the Landangler at
    http://landangler.wordpress.com/

Crusty,
    check out this site
    http://www.divingthegoldcoast.com.au...geID=southwall
    it will give you an idea of what it all looks like from below.
    if the wind or the seas are up and i dont hit the point ill fish back from the short pipe throwing towards the red marker.

good luck with gettn a spot there mate... better off just moving up and down the wall till ya find the school of fish... very tough fishing though....very tough
    dont knock on deaths door... ring the doorbell and run... death hates that!!

If you are keen, catch the surfer shuttle taxi across to south straddie and fish from the north wall... still tough fishing but no people
    "Live Life"

Yeah you can fish it with ease! if your lucky enough to get the best spot at the front of the concrete slab (be very early) just cast straight out and the current will take you either side of the pipe!...depending on which way the current is going!!
    When bringing in your line give a massive heave at the start and then just keep winding like mad, as soon as you stop winding your line will get snagged and then lost!!
    I have caught fish from there a long time ago before I had a boat and quite often the fish will rub you off against the rock wall before you can even have a look at it!!
    Like others have said, its tough fishing and dont forget to take heaps of spare tackle....you'll need it!!

Thanks all! some great tips there, as I dont have a boat always looking for the next great spot, and shore based spots or hits that you wouldnt mind revealing would be awsome! thanks again guys, tight lines!

End of the spit wall can go pretty good mate. Pick a nice, SAFE rock, low down and fish either side depending on what you are after and the current etc.

As Scalem mentioned, the rocks do go out a long way. I've only fished there a few times and went through a ridiculous amount of tackle due to the amount of snags. Working poppers for trevally is definitely a better option at that spot.