Shorncliffe to Townsville by Bertram 25

Thread: Shorncliffe to Townsville by Bertram 25

Ausfish Platinum Member Midnight's Avatar

Shorncliffe to Townsville by Bertram 25

My part in the "Midnight" Bertram 25 delivery to Townsville is over.
    We got to Mackay Marina at 1710 last night and I am about to fly out of Mackay to go back to work. New owner Peter and decky "Gilligan" Mick will continue to Townsville via Shute Harbour over the next couple of days.

We left Shorncliffe Thursdy arvo to Scarborough for fuel and then stay the night at Mick's in Newport.
    Powered up at 0545 on Friday morning to Urangan via the Wide Bay Bar, perfect weather all the way, and we were in Urangan in 8 hours. We continued to overnight at Lady Elliott Island, getting there just after dark.

Up early on Saturday and on to Gladstone for fuel and then to Rosslyn Bay. We stayed the night in the marina there.

Powered up at 0545 out of Rosslyn Bay bound for Mackay. We stopped at Middle Island, Percey Group, for lunch and a bit of a rest as conditions were not that great yesterday.

We cruised on to Mackay and got there in time to join the marina Sunday session

It was a great run so far, and I am sure the boys will have fun going through to Townsville.

We cruised at 18kts the whole way and averaged 30L/hr.

I will miss the old girl, but I am pleased to see it go to Pete, who will use it in anger. He is already planning a Lizard Island Black Marlin trip in it for this season.

Myles

Re: Shorncliffe to Townsville by Bertram 25

sounds like a great problem free cruise. the best kind.
    so what's the new boat?
    steve

G'day Steve,
    Yeah mate it was a good trip. The boys only made it as far as Cape Upstart today, as the fuel wharf in Mackay didn't open until 0830. They will get home to Townsville tomorrow no problems to make it a 4 and half day trip from Scarborough to Townsville.

New boat for me is an American Bertram 33. I will post a few pics when I pick it up later in the month. I can't wait, another 3 day trip up the coast, but this time at trolling speed the whole way to try and catch a few Blues

Myles

hey myles im glad you made it, you must of had a good volvo mechanic?? ha ha
    cheers jim

Yeah thanks Jim, the Vikings revenge purred like a kitten all the way

Would have been a great trip, sing out if you need a deckie for a day when you get the new one mate

Hey Myles can you remember, was Bob Dyer's Tennessee III a 38' US Bertram? I followed one into the river the other day. Bit of history if it was. Same name. Coincidence? No riggers and looking a bit liveaboard as a cruiser. Different lines to the current crop of Berties.

Yeah Smithy, I'm pretty sure they had one of the early 38 Flybridge Cruisers, with the raised forward cabin with the small windows all around, and then the bridge on top. That name sounds familiar too.

When did you see the boat? We over took what I thought was Yanky 38 at about Gary's on Friday, may have been the 38 you saw?? I didn't see the name as we went past. She was plowing along, not quite planing at about 12 knots. Nice lookin old jigger.

Myles

Matt,
    Anytime mate.
    Good to see how well your new boat turned out mate too.

Myles

The "Midnight" was tied up in the marina in Townsville at 1pm today. 48.3 hours from Scarborough to Townsville, including a few hours trolling at Cape Bowling Green today for 2,2,1 with one lost to the tax man.

Myles

did gilligan get any hits on his handline

It never made it out of the side pocket where it was placed in Newport.

This was about the extent of Gilligan's duties

end of an era, and beginning of a new one there Myles

congratulations on the new boat mate

Thanks Mick,
    Can't wait to go and get the new boat.

I just hope the Marlin are still hungry and dumb down there next week