Heading to Yamba after Easter. Is there anything catching and what is the ramp like? Don't nee to know any favorite spots, just what gear should I bring down? All assistance appreciated
So many fish, so little time!
I was down last weekend on the other side of the river, Woody Head and Iluka. The boys at the tackle shop were advising school jew in the river using squid and snapper leads to hold bottom when the current runs hard in the river.
Apart from that we caught a nice Tarwine, but again the tackle shop guys said on dusk there are nice Tarwine being caught at any of the bluffs or gutters along the beach. One guy used preserved yabbies and did well to 1.5kg.
I was going to start a post called " What are they Trawling For" but thought better of it, might have turned into a sh!t fight with the pros, but I could not believe how many trawlers were all working the same shallow grounds off the coast. A mate of mine blamed them for the lack of fish we were catching, but I don't know, can't comment because I don't know what they Target down there. We might not know how to fish the area.
Good luck!
TOL should see this thread and reply. He knows the area, and is just recently back from a trip there. Where are you TOL????????????????????????? Oh, prob ably just getting up after DDD yesterday. WAKE UP JOHN..........................
Should be plenty of bream off the rock walls and headlands with good tarwhine mainly in the surf areas. Usually start to get a few tailor by Easter and there's always jew about around the edges of the headlands and off the main walls around dawn and dusk. There were longtails being caught off the wall when I was there in March but the lizards were a bit quiet. The luderick should be starting to improve as the weather cools as well. I'll be at Iluka for another week in early May. Will post a report when I get back
Cheers Freeeedom
I wouldn't take too much notice of Marlin Mike.
He's just one of these blokes who puts in untold hours of a weekend and during the week doing volunteer stuff for the VMR at Raby Bay rescuing people who've run into trouble. He also puts in a lot of time standing outside a pub in the CBD with a plastic bucket getting donations of a Friday night.
Only last week he had to go out to find a bloke late afternoon who hadn't told his missus he was staying out a few more hours and the Water Police engaged the VMR to look for him because his missus was stir crazy thinking something bad had happened.
Now. What would he know about fishing at Yamba? Dunno. Not sure if he's ever been there.
I would certainly take notice of what Freeedom said in an earlier post. He's always down there and knows the area like the back of his left bum cheek. Maybe the right one as well.
You can always call up posts up about fishing down there. Maybe the "search" button and enter a topic?
I don't know about any ramps on the Yamba side. I'm an Iluka man. The poor cousins on the northern side of the river.
I could suggest Browns Rocks about one nautical mile up the river. You'll see a green beacon. Go about 200 metres or so past that and sound around for the drop offs. About 1.5 hours before high up there is good. Be aware that high at Browns is about 1.5 hours after high in the tide tables. Prawns and yabbies. Live herrings can be caught at the wharf near Browns, but you might get chased away by over zealous officials at the wharf.
The Middle Wall is good, especially at the end at low tide. You might need a bit of lead to get down.
Yabbie grounds are verywhere. They seem to be the best bait.
Fishing off the wall will just about get you most species, and the beaches there should get you tailor and the occasional jew, albeit schoolies.
Have fun!!!
Guys,
Thanks very much for all your views. So I will take the boat and the boat rods, throw in the surf rods and take some gear for the rock walls as well. Hey I'm there for six days and we only have to attend a wedding on one of them.
Heard lots about the place and it sounds great, may even go South to Iluka and have a look. If you see the boat "Tunzafun" say hello; I don't bite (bit like the fish I chase)
So many fish, so little time!
Tunza.
It is an awesome spot.
Are you looking to fish inside the river or outside?
Inside. Jig for herring on the entrance wall. Then fish them on the rock dividing wall between Yamba and Iluka for flatties and jew. There is a large whole on the NE point of the rock wall that is a good spot to try at slack water.
On the surf beach there are large Bream at night in the gutters.
Offshore. Watch the bar. Hug the side wall the swell is coming from then turn sharply once out as there is a shallow bank straight out. Watch how the trawlers go out each arvo. We played around chasing ground a few months back and found some great country at what’s called the North East Corner. Lots of wire weed. Had success with livies and pillies.
The ramp near the servo at Yamba is good. Remember to get a fishing permit and the different regs to QLD on safety gear.
What other people think about me is not my business: Michael J Fox.