Here's what you want
A Honda 2hp air cooled weapon.
We have one and love it.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Honda-2hp-4-s...item4cf667a132
I am in the process of building a small ally punt to go crabbing in and want to get a little 4hp outboard so I don't need rego. I have been looking at the specs and it's a bit hard to split them. I will probably go 2 stroke just because they are small and light. I hardly think fuel economy will be an issue. The boat won't have a trailer, so the motor will be lifted Into to the ute every trip. I like the idea of the 360 degree tiller, do they all have that? Any other things I am forgetting to compare?
Here's what you want
A Honda 2hp air cooled weapon.
We have one and love it.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Honda-2hp-4-s...item4cf667a132
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good
i have a small merc for sale 2hp cheep it hasn,t done much work
cheers,Hilly
I would be considering a Parsen.. Small, light, the simplest off all and cheap..
The Mercury 3.3 is only 13kg (which is about the same as the 2hp motors) and the 4hp two strokes are mostly derated 5hp motors which weigh about 20kg.
The Tohatsu 3.5 is basically the same motor as the Mercury 3.3 and also only weighs 13kg.
If you're lifting it on and off and carrying it around the extra weight can be a factor.
| Savage Kestral with Evinrude 9.9 --> Stacer 3.9 with Yamaha 15 --> Polycraft 4.55 CC with Honda 50 --> Ally Craft Reel Mate 4.25 with Yamaha 3 cylinder 30 horse --> Hmmm what next? |
Have a very close look a quite a few of those very small motors under a variety of brands......its the same unit, with a different colour cowel...and some of the brands you would not expect.
Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.
Thanks guys, will i notice much difference in speed between a 2hp and 3.3 or 4hp? I know neither of them will plane. I wont be going long distance so its not too much of an issue.
Depending on how the boat is designed and what it weighs.......don't rule out getting on the plane with 4HP.
.this might give you some encouragment.
From hannu's boatyard.. a 15foot pluss punt plywood punt on the plane with 4hp
http://koti.kapsi.fi/hvartial/wpunt/gallery/gallery.htm
http://koti.kapsi.fi/hvartial/
There is quite a difference between a 2hp and a 4hp, almost chalk and cheese. A 2hp won't plane any boat that I've seen it put on (even a 10 foot tinny) but I've seen 4hp plane some lightly loaded smaller tinnys.
I've been thinking about this for a while as I'm looking at getting a light weight punt for roof top use and I'm just about sold on the Tohatsu 3.5 as it seems (to me at least) to offer the best balance between performance, cost and reliability (not so sure about the chinese Parsons but they are cheap).
| Savage Kestral with Evinrude 9.9 --> Stacer 3.9 with Yamaha 15 --> Polycraft 4.55 CC with Honda 50 --> Ally Craft Reel Mate 4.25 with Yamaha 3 cylinder 30 horse --> Hmmm what next? |
Thanks guys,
I ended up with a 4hp Suzy 4 stroke. Bigger and heavier than what I originally wanted but I am happy with it. In my mates 3.8m tinny it will just plane with just me in it, if I stand in the middle of the boat haha. with my 12 year old in it by himself it plane easily. My tinny will be a bit smaller and lighter so should be great.It is louder than I thought though, I kind of thought all 4 strokes would be beautiful and quiet, oh well I still like it.
With the 4 stroke engines is there no problem with laying them on their side for travel - oil?
Trev
You can only lay them on one side generally. Lay them the other way and you have a problem. I used to believe it was always on the tiler side but now I don't now as have seen different instructions . Most have it written on them in very small print for something so important.