Thread: Anyone fished the new reef structures - balls/rubble/pipes?

Anyone fished the new reef structures - balls/rubble/pipes?

Has anyone been sounding for and fishing the new reef balls in the paddock or the rubble/pipe grounds up in Harry's. I am going to get out soon, but keen to hear if people are seeing fish/bait on the sounder or catching in those areas yet...

Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Re: Anyone fished the new reef structures - balls/rubble/pipes?

I've been keeping my eye's peeled out at Harry's, but haven't spotted anything. That's not to say that my sounder is set up properly though. I also have no idea of where the extension/addition to Harry's was supposed to have been made. I tried contacting DERM to find out, but they found it too hard to respond to my email. ( This is because the QPWS are managing the arti's .. cheers Phill )

I know that the Tiwi Pearl was holding fish very soon after it's sinking, and not from the Government's statements, but from my sounding and fishing.

Oh, and does anyone sound around at Harry's? I thought the standard protocol for most was to motor in to where most boats are anchored, and drop anchor there. Unless, of course, someone is drifting and hooked up (even better if it's a double hook up). Then the procedure is to motor up and drop anchor on their drift line.
    Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 06-05-2011 at 05:18 PM.

Wow, apparently I'm in a bad mood this morning!

Axl has posted them under General mate - see http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=174495

..and yes you are dead right about Harry's protocol. I have to pull you up about motoring up in the drift line though - generally its coming up on the plane and doing a lap or 2 of you boat on the drift before settling on anchoring in your drift line....

I stand corrected, you are right. Let's not also forget the aggressive looks from those boaters as you drift close to them while they're still in the process of anchoring.... 20m from you on your drift!

And thanks heaps (and to Axl) for the links. They'll be in the GPS tonight.
    They should all be pretty accessable, as they seem to be out of the 'car park' zone.

Same at Peel. Catch a good fish (and be seen doing so); by the time the fish is in the esky and you've re-baited, drop-ins are anchored right where you are about to cast, which is where you were fishing in the first place. That is unless, of course, that one party has not already challenged the other to an on-water fist fight (I am not joking!) pathetic really. Lovely people these...

NICK.
    I fish; therefore I am...

Politicians are just like kangaroos; they're lovely to have around, but they need a good CULL every now and then just to keep the population in check...

Quote Originally Posted by Damned67 View Post
    I've been keeping my eye's peeled out at Harry's, but haven't spotted anything. That's not to say that my sounder is set up properly though. I also have no idea of where the extension/addition to Harry's was supposed to have been made. I tried contacting DERM to find out, but they found it too hard to respond to my email.

I know that the Tiwi Pearl was holding fish very soon after it's sinking, and not from the Government's statements, but from my sounding and fishing.

Oh, and does anyone sound around at Harry's? I thought the standard protocol for most was to motor in to where most boats are anchored, and drop anchor there. Unless, of course, someone is drifting and hooked up (even better if it's a double hook up). Then the procedure is to motor up and drop anchor on their drift line.
    Awesome, someone had to say it.

I'll be heading out there this arvo/tonight if it's not too breezy, so I'll let you know how I go over the week end...

About six months ago all I managed was some small squire and a nice sweet lip on cuttle fish just east of the tiwi on an early eveing high tide fish...

Love the protocols, seems to be that the general protocol for harry's is the same at mud, moreton bay, coastal waters of Qld...

If possible have a look at the new areas and report back.

Timbo
    HEAD DOWN BUM UP!

The protocol chat bought a smile to my face, I am glad I am not the only one with an invisible boat and anchor at Harry's & up the Rouse!
    Need to learn to get em in the boat from a secret hatch under the floor!