Boat Security Ideas?? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Boat Security Ideas??

Re: Boat Security Ideas??

The chain as Dan says or use cable. Cable cant be cut with bolt cutters, you will need to oxy as well. This is a good visual deterent.

Can you make the boat shed NOT visible from the road e.g. fences (with gates), trees etc. Not sure of your access, but if they dont know it is there then less of a problem.

Dont leave it at home when you go on holidays, I will look after it for you!!

Regards Adam

How about a few poles in the concrete like you see at car yards.
    or secure a chain into the concrete under the boat so its hard to get to.
    Also it would be good to have a hole in the disc brakes so you could put padlocks through each wheel.

In the end if the bastards want it they will get it, so insurance is the best piece of mind when your not there.

Cheers and mate nice boat

Quote Originally Posted by fishfeeder View Post
    How about a few poles in the concrete like you see at car yards.
    or secure a chain into the concrete under the boat so its hard to get to.
    Also it would be good to have a hole in the disc brakes so you could put padlocks through each wheel.

In the end if the bastards want it they will get it, so insurance is the best piece of mind when your not there.

Cheers and mate nice boat
    I put a chain through the wheel and then onto the springs but one day I forgot about the chain and took of slowly and I left a nice 5m skiddy on my front lawn. I have only done that once hahaa

I had my boat stolen a few years back with all of my fishing gear, neaver to be seen again. Insurance covered most of it but still had the head-ache of it all.
    I now use 2 kryptonite bike locks which is near impossable too cut through.
    It is attached to the rear axles of the trailer and 2 steel posts that are concreted deep into the ground.
    All of my rods and electrical gear etc are now put into a riffle/gun safe bolted to the brick wall.

Its a shame but I will not go through that again if I don't have too.
    And I live in a nice area, if you ask the insurance company.

If they won't it bad enough they will get to it some how,they will just sit back and wait for the right time, little shits.

Cheer's

Shep..

P.S
    I have a 70kg male rotty but he slept through it all. He thinks that he has too protect the kids and back yard only.

28 foot and 1l per KM wow

Quote Originally Posted by Back In Black View Post
    Thanks for all the suggestions guys.

Cormorant-thanks for the hidden camera webpage. You have some pretty serious methods for stopping theft there! You are right about the insurance. I am paying it today & will pull it apart before sending it off. Have you had a boat stolen? You sound scarred.

Keep the suggestions coming,

Yep How did you guess - a couple of times which is part of the problem when you have a well equipped boat with popular modern motors especially when moored.

Years ago we were done over by professional thieves stealing to order basically. Was treated pretty averagely by police and insurance with a huge block of time and stress involved. The money and the fight - not pretty.

There is a lot of cheap ( compared to boat cost) security equipment avaliable direct from where it is manufacturer on the net and it can be either intergrated with existing security and internet or totally independent. Real time where it calls tour mobile phone is teh way to go as you know if there should be anyone around your boat.

After going down the insurance path and nearly a 6 month process of pain after recovery decision was made it was easier not to let it get into their hands to start with in every way possible. Ombudsman had a field day with their bad behaviour. Like all insurance money doesn't compensate for time and stress on family

All the marking stuff comes from the fact we found stuff in peoples posession that was 100% ours ( you never forget the first big scratch on a gearbox and chip in a prop but ( actually a innocent buyer of stolen property ) had receipts and police wouldn't persue the guys 2 up the chain - we now know why but that is a whole other story about a bigger investigation and they got caught on bigger things but I still would have liked the extra charge laid. If you want a conviction you must be able to physically prove the stuff was yours so mark it all. Our rods and reels are all marked both obviously and secretly inside.

Had Batteries knocked off the moored boat as well. That is a low act when you load up the family guests and then go to hit the switch and - nothing. We were warned that they often just dropped them over the side and then knowing you had to buy new ones come back in 4 weeks and knock off you brand new ones. Well they did - we caught them on camera and then physically and probably lucky I wasn't in deep poo with courts for our restraint and capture method- bought a smile to our faces and they will think twice next time. Thieves often do more damage stealing teh stuff than the actual stuff is worth. The dills cut our battery cables for a quicker get away.

Pilfering off trailer at the ramp - pet hate of mine. Dropping photos to police and watching them attend the thiefs house only to find more stolen goods, numberplates and drugs is one of those "piss in your wetsuit" warm feelings. Police love you as they fulfill their monthly crime numbers in 1 arvo. You can't believe just how much stolen stuff some blokes have , pesonally keep , jet skis , wheels on car, camper trailer and they are living the high life in good areas - opened my eyes. All that and still got stuff all punishment but a serious record now fo several family members.

Simply do the insurance requirements and then do whatever makes you feel more comfortable and makes it harder for the scum without inconveniencing yourself too much.

This was one being promoted by one insurer several years ago but search boat alarms for others. Just use a $10 prepaid phone card and you'll always know if boat is Ok. Picks up faile battery , low voltage, bilge pump running .

http://www.blueray.com.au/

these guys are now in Aus but cheaper in the UK
    http://www.yacht-sentinel.com/Boat-alarm/

http://www.smart1marine.com.au/

Cheapo for the back of the shed?

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Home-Security...item4152b47b95

There has been a lot of good ideas here, however, some require a full toolkit, 2 hours work and god knows what else to go fishing, a good locking system needs to be quick and easy, or you either wont use it or can't be bothered undoing everything and putting wheels back on to go fishing! my boat is pretty easy to get to, I just use one of those trailer coupling lock things, pretty easy to cut off, but better than nothing, I also have a long chain linked to the trailer, that is attached to the fence, this is locked by a padlock with the same key as the other lock, so to undo is a 1 key, 5 minute setup, the chain is also long enough to allow the theives to get almost to the driveway before the slack is taken up, would give them quite a shock I would reckon. Here's hoping I never have to find out.

Ausfish Platinum Member STUIE63's Avatar

there was a bloke in the Isa that did the long chain thing and some lowlifes reversed a car up to the boat and hooked the trailer on during daylight while his missus was home . they then tried to drive off went about 8m and the trailer came to an abrupt halt with a hell of a noise apparently . the missus came outside to see what the noise was and saw a car driving around the corner and on investigation the towbar had been ripped off and was still in the trailer hitch
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

-Hitch Helmet with hardened steel lock (see this thread!)

-Klamp-it wheel lock installed with lock facing ground

-Hardened steel lug concreted into floor with hardened steel chain and lock going around axels.

-Cuda trailer alarm

-Alarm on shed that rings your mobile

-Gps tracker on trailer

-Bright lighting mounted high up on the shed that stays on all night.

I would be inclined to forget the cameras, all you will get is footage of someone stealing/tampering with the boat. What will you do with the footage then? It won't show a closeup of their face and if it does manage to get their number plate, the car or plate will probably be stolen anyway.
    I've got a four camera motion detected setup at home with infrared lighting and once had footage of someone tampering with the car, it was useless as it only showed them from a distance

I know what you mean.

We have one at usual corner position where thieves expect it and a better quality one at waist height from a different angle. No hat or hoodie will avoid that one.

Really depends on quality of camera and image produced and what lens you put on Point is it shows someone - not you knocking something off so you have less trouble with insurance and don't have that iky feeling if it was a friend of a friend or mates mate etc. . Identifying car shape , clothing, hairstyle may be enough in some circumstances to get the bloke.

Cameras can email or mms you a picture - easy to recognise wife and kids in the shed.

Last bloke we handed to the police with a attempted break in on my folks house did the usual - knock on the door to see if anyone was around as they do ( covered the security intercom not aware it records all the time not just when button is pressed) with hand but didn't notice the camera mounted under the security light . Funny thing was they discussed where they would run to if disturbed at the door and intercom records and saves 30 sec either side of button press and doorbell. They were disturbed by neighbour who called folks who were 2 minutes round the corner. Looked at footage went to park down the road and identify them and cops showed up. They had done a string of houses and car near park had a boot load of gear. They were tooled up so police "took extra good care of em" and were the usual older bloke and 2 young kids.

It is not till you have something of real value knocked off you realise it is worth spending a few bob on deterents and also good security. Phones make it easy now.

Ausfish Gold Member

have read about being able to purchase Data Dot and spraying on boat motor and trailer good for near 50 years apparently! Also heard that this means no excess payable with some insurance companies like Club Marine. Yamaha had it on their motors years ago now its available to every one I think, they have their own website. worth the read anyway. I hate thiefs absolute vultures and scum of the earth!

Once woke up to my door in my bedroom room opening (blinds rustled cos of wind suction) there was some seedy character looking over me and my now wife, who knows what the bloke was doing but chased him out and woke my mate who loved to go the knuckle and we got him out the front, mind due my mate was prob the most relaxed I ever had seen, rang the cops and they showed up pretty quickly. We quized him reckon he may have been a rock spider as there were young kids who lived next door, good result though felt like we should have flogged him but restrained

What is the go with Data Dot? I had a Yamaha that "had" it, even though I didn't know what it was. I thought it was a Yamaha security thing? Could someone please enlighten me as to what it is, how it works & where/how do you use it.
    Thanks,

Ausfish Gold Member

http://www.datadotdna.com/au/

check out the site not sure if you can purchase direct, I have a mate who works at local dealership and they are club marine platinum agent and they can sell/apply it. i have not insured my boat and he mentioned it over a couple of lagers on sunday night, i think there are over 40000 little dots in a can and spray in motor, on trailer, in different areas of boat, best way to track it as there is no way a someone could removes them all if stolen. Seems like a good idea I swear he told me it last for 50 years!! will out live me anyway

why not put in a removable bollard just inside your shed door. You can get one that requires a special tool/key to remove it. just keep the key in a safe place. and it will protect the door if someone tries to ramraid your shed and scare the shit out of them when they hit it and destroy their tow car.

fantastic thread - thank you.

splash

Guys, thanks for all the input.
    O-3 I think I'll do all of your suggestions. Bit of time & effort but at least I'll sleep of a night. What makes it worse is my wife had a dream last night the boat got stolen!!

Oldie- Thanks for the webpage on the Datadot. Sounds great & is relatively cheap. Just another line of defence.

Cormorant- Thanks for all the web addresses for different security devices.

Dan 5- Appreciate the specs on what chain to use.

Micadogs- Concretors are here today doing the base for the heavy duty security gates that are going in next week. Good suggestion re hiding it as much as possible with plants. I should be able to manage that one as I am a nurseryman! And thanks ever so much for the offer of looking after "Back In Black" when I go away. I'm sure you will be gentle with her.

Once I've got all this done, I'll post some pics. I'll put some up of the boat as well. I might need some help as to how to load pics, as I am a technological midget

I really do appreciate everyones suggestions,