King Ash Bay now theres a good place!!!! (Been there twice) dont remember sand flies to much up there just dirty big mozzies at night.
Some people swear by tea tree oil or lavender oil diluted in water used in a spray bottle for the critters.
Mex
King Ash Bay now theres a good place!!!! (Been there twice) dont remember sand flies to much up there just dirty big mozzies at night.
Some people swear by tea tree oil or lavender oil diluted in water used in a spray bottle for the critters.
Mex
mate i know what you are talking about i dont think any amount of repellant will deter them if you are an exceptionally tasty specimen. My ex gf used to come camping with us to woodgate and she would have bites for weeks afterwards and no amount of deet could stop them. But i also have a mate who grew up with sandflies all round his house and he doesnt need repellant and they dont just worry him. I am somewhere in the middle. they get me but not hugely. i think some people have bad reactions and are extra tasty and others either have built up a natural immune system or just arent yummy enough lol
I pretty well know you are right ...... you look at a couple of the blokes that did not get hit on previous & this trip ....... & you curse them (dark skinned)we even tried the vitamin B - and besides a fluoro urine... pffff
![]()
I reckon its all bull shite ...... if you are attractive to midges - you will get smashed
So Bushman didnt work for you at all? Did you use the spray on or the gel?
When I fish the mangove creeks at cape york I have to use the Gel.I take at least 1 tube per day..lol
Best thing I do is wear long sleeve shirt/pants and socks with a tight weave(they bite through the holes in your socks..lol)
Bung the gel on hands and face(avoid your lips or its hell) I find this works for about 3-4 hours.Then spray your clothes ontop.
They still buzz around your face and we have to talk with closed lips or you inhale half a million but they dont bite if you have the gel on. but the gel is slimey and makes your skin feel like crap. If your getting smashed around a camp area and need to use the Gel. Id find another camp..lol
From experience the body builds up an immunity to the bites. Its not 100%, but a first timer will often carry the bites for 2-3 weeks sometimes months. After 1-2 good doses of bites, your reaction to them will calm down to that of a normal mossy bite. Often If your exposed to sandflies as a child their bite isnt as harmful.
DEET is the only real deterant, specifically Gel. Spray on is crap. use the gel on exposed skin then you can also spray your clothes to lessen your attraction to them.
there so thick at curtis atm that no matter what you do they get you, there thick as clouds the only thing that works is a smokey fire but your not allowed that there anymore. and you smell of smoke for days.
I'll put in another for the baby oil and dettol concoction. i use it myself, but i use 1/2 and 1/2 dettol/baby oil and add a bit of tea tree oil too. works well, never have a problem with it up here. Won't keep them away but stops them biting.
Some places I fish though with the aerosol repellants, some areas aerogaurd works, others it doesn't, same goes for bushmans, dunno why, but one particular spot I fish, bushmans is like a fine wine to the midgies, but aerogaurd keeps them away.
A sure fire way, and perhaps the only fool proof way is just to cover up, long pants, shoes and socks, long sleeved shirt, gloves and one of those 'buff' things and cover everypart of skin you can
I have 'em licked!
Stinger suit 24/7 as undies (with an appropriate hole cut for a slash, then normal cloths over the top. a Buff, fingerless golves and wet suit booties. A lick of bushmans on any "joins"...ankles, wrists, forhead, neck and you won't have an issue. Might get a bit of a ragging from your mates and can get a bit hot but at least you won't end up looking like a chocito bar. I use the really light weight cheapies. They are much better (for this) than the licra ones which are too hot. Not as good on mozzies but stop sandflies near to 100%. Mozzies will bite through these suits, sandflies cannot.
Using Bushmans full on for a week is a health hazard, plus 3 cans of bushmans buys one of these suits.
KC
The boss has always suffered from sandflies and midgies and the results are huge sores that appear for every bite like chicken pox. We now have a holiday house on a Southern Moreton Bay Island and she suffers no more.
She uses the Avon Skin so Soft and takes Vitamin B1.
As a prevention I agree with Scott nthQld , We spent 2 weeks on the Robinson River NT & used a mix of Baby oil Dettol & Metho & not one of us suffered from bad bites, & they were thick...
As a remedy,, my missus got badly bitten a little while back & the best relief was a very hot shower (as hot as you can stand) Then apply Dermaid Cream
Cheers Baz
PS I find that heaps of VB helps me
If your like me, the only thing you can do is cover up. 4x gold doesn't work for me either and I live on the stuff. put the long cloths and socks on when you get out of the boat and tropical strength aeroguard on your hands, spray it until it nearly runs, and give your neck and head a good spray to.
I spent 7 days of hell at the Calvert river a few years ago, I had a migee bite every 10mm on un covered skin, lucky the barra were biting aswell.
A bloke told me there are 40 odd different species of sandflies, thats
why some people get affected in some areas and others don't.
Thanks Scott
The type of clothes is important ..... I found that the Columbia type shirts were crap as you got hit through the vents & cuffs ....... the new style tournament shirts made by Goodridge (G sports) were the best - coolest as well .
We tried the tropical strength Aeroguard on the last trip ..... it did nothing. I used Rid previously and didn't rate it ...... great for mozzies but not sandflies