Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Thread: Sandflies

Sandflies

Hi All

I know that this subject has been raised time & time again - but after just spending a week away in an area that swarmed with sandflies we need help.
    Now we went there with an array of repellents from the Bushmans stable & we reckon the sandflies were licking it off to get to the skin .... yep 80% DEET.
    Of the 4 of us there - we all got hit but only two of us had bad reactions ..... & some sleepless nights. The other 2 could use some repellent & sit there in shorts & T shirts without adverse effects / reactions.
    We even had a local give us one of his concoctions which maybe worked for a blink of an eye.

anyhow - Are we doomed or are there products that really work .... because for my way of thinking - I'm arming myself with a box of antihistamines & a stinger suit for my next trip

Re: Sandflies

I'm guessing that you have just done your trip to KAB?.....

Mate if Bushmans ain't working nothing proberbly will...........detol and baby oil is the prefered concoction.......1ltr oil......100mm detol...keep applying...generously.As you know the oil creates a barrier and the detol disefect's the wound.

Luckily i'm usually the one sitting around the camp in shorts only wondering what all the fuss is about.

Did you try lot's of xxxx gold?......works a treat.

Make sure you treat the bites with some savlon or similar they can get badly infected......Years ago my mates mother nearly lost her whole foot due to a sandfly bite infection gone septic.........she had 1/4 of her foot removed to save the foot.

externally..avon product works..cannot remember the name now.

internally..green ginger wine..it either keeps the lil critters away or if you drink enough you don't feel them.

Quote Originally Posted by Dan5 View Post
    I'm guessing that you have just done your trip to KAB?.....

Mate if Bushmans ain't working nothing proberbly will...........detol and baby oil is the prefered concoction.......1ltr oil......100mm detol...keep applying...generously.As you know the oil creates a barrier and the detol disefect's the wound.

Luckily i'm usually the one sitting around the camp in shorts only wondering what all the fuss is about.

Did you try lot's of xxxx gold?......works a treat.

Make sure you treat the bites with some savlon or similar they can get badly infected......Years ago my mates mother nearly lost her whole foot due to a sandfly bite infection gone septic.........she had 1/4 of her foot removed to save the foot.

the guys that didn't suffer were drinking xxxx GOLD The two that did were drinking beer

i have these and they worked when i when to the cape

Go to Bunnings and get a thing called " Thermo Cell" worth tha money it's not a bullshit product it works, i live in the Northen tropics and use them on fishing trips dont have a problem with sand flies midges or mozzie,try it out.
    Cheers Squid.

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    the guys that didn't suffer were drinking xxxx GOLD The two that did were drinking beer

Ahh now come on mate.......told ya it could cure all ailments .

Were you at king ash ?.........if so i bet ya got a wet ass.

Quote Originally Posted by Squidlet View Post
    Go to Bunnings and get a thing called " Thermo Cell" worth tha money it's not a bullshit product it works, i live in the Northen tropics and use them on fishing trips dont have a problem with sand flies midges or mozzie,try it out.
    Cheers Squid.

Yes and yes.......hav'nt had any experiance keepin midgies away but they sure as hell work on mozzies.........check out you tube so you know how to refill your bottles ,

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    externally..avon product works..cannot remember the name now.

internally..green ginger wine..it either keeps the lil critters away or if you drink enough you don't feel them.

Avon "skin so soft" mixed 50/50 with metho - that was the conconction given to us from the local which in turn was given to him by the Aust army on local exercises ------ pffff ...... worked like .......... well it didn't (he made us up a bottle) - there goes another one down the drain

Has anyone tried that corn starch repellant yet?? Saw it advertized on TV a month or two ago.

Quote Originally Posted by Squidlet View Post
    Cheers Squid.
    thanks squid .... tell me more - please

Quote Originally Posted by Dan5 View Post
    Ahh now come on mate.......told ya it could cure all ailments .

Were you at king ash ?.........if so i bet ya got a wet ass.

Never got to KAB - we fished Curtis Is as our alternative

I do have to say ... my crew were drinking & got smashed while the other crew were on gold & were basically unaffected

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    thanks squid .... tell me more - please

Basically its a butain canister and its holder a pad with god noe's what in it the new machine has a pezo light,no naked flames so it's safe,we use when fishing up here in darwin.Sleep on the dailey have 2 of em goen over night not a drama sleep well.
    The pads last for about 4hours the cannister 12 hours just remmember to take the cannister out when finished so ya dont waist tha gas.
    That's about the long and short of it!!!
    They are the bomb!

Cheers Squid

Fair enough on the KAB......just still too wet up here ATM maybe another 3week's away yet......maybe more if we get more rain......just won't stop.

With the Thermacell....it's a self contained butane powered thingo which you put small "pads" into which have been treated with some apparently naturally occurring deterent........Definatly works for mozzies..........gives you about a 5meter radius of mozzie free zone........Around about $40 for the little machine and $10 for the refills which gives you 1 butane bottle and three pads........1 bottle lasts around 10hrs and the pads last about 3-4hrs........Worth their weight when fishing floodplains on dark or just sitting around camp.......they really do work.they are virtually smokeless aswell.

also having no naked flame means that they are really safe to have in the boat unlike mozzie coils.

So you can refill the cannisters ay dan because as you would know you always have more pads than gas! Bloody interesting shall have a look!
    Cheers Squid.
    Just looked at the site you bloody beauty ive got a few left over pads nice one Dan cheers