Thread: Let GT's go!!

Let GT's go!!

Just wondering, what do you think about keeping trevally? My opinion on keeping them would be to let them go, they are two beautiful and hard fighting to keep(better for the sport not the table). I think that there numbers are decreasing and therefore harsher bag limits/sizes????? Not really shore.
    Please let them go!!

Fishinwahbee

Never to young to be a pro13yo!

Re: Let GT's go!!

Why? They eat just fine if you bleed them straight away. Do you have any scientific evidence that they are diminishing in number?
    I ask because AFAIK there is no minimum size and I think no bag limit on Giant Trevally's.

Caught tons of GT's over the years. Only ever kept one and will never do again.

Worst tasting fish I've ever eaten. Not even the cats would eat it..lol

I take it you are a young bloke. Good on you for being concerned about GT's. They are great fish so have fun catching them, look after them, treat them gently and release them quickly.

They are common here and very few if any are kept as there are better eating fish to catch and a photo is as good a trophy as any.

Quote Originally Posted by fishinwahbee View Post
    Just wondering, what do you think about keeping trevally? My opinion on keeping them would be to let them go, they are two beautiful and hard fighting to keep(better for the sport not the table). I think that there numbers are decreasing and therefore harsher bag limits/sizes????? Not really shore.
    Please let them go!!

Fishinwahbee

Never to young to be a pro13yo!

I have to much fun on the trevs in my local spots. I cant help but to let them go as with all/most my fish.

Why? They eat just fine if you bleed them straight away. Do you have any scientific evidence that they are diminishing in number?
    I ask because AFAIK there is no minimum size and I think no bag limit on Giant Trevally's.

I think there is a bag limit of 20? Dont quote me on that though.

Vermin, vermin, vermin - why would you target them, then put them in your esky and waste good ice and room for other edible species . Their eating quality is up there with the old Mother-in-law.
    Wal

I release GTs, but I have kept the odd silver trev when fishing the Sand Pumping Jetty and can't get the bream to bite. They're not too bad, just clean them straight away.

Kaidon
    Conservation NOT preservation!

They make good Numis,golden trevalley taste good when looked after properly,and they smoke up well! But in saying that their certainly not a target species for the table.
    Cheers Squid.

Thanks Heaps Guys for the great feed back, its good to see what others think.

keeping anything to eat or to use for bait is just fine, the problems start when people catch some fish, keep them, then either catch something bigger/better and toss away the first ones, dead, or get to the ramp and can't be bothered cleaning them and toss them away! killing for killings sake is NOT what anyone should practice, but for food or bait, then so be it. The days of the biggest bag of fish at the ramp for boasting are slowly disapearing (I reckon) a few fish for a family meal is never frowned upon, regardless of the species.

I take it not many people have even tried trevally before?? Or even if they have, just the larger models??

I quite like trevally, Golden trevors is the best eating out of all of them.

If I get onto a patch, i might keep one or 2 below the 3kg mark, taste bit like mackerel i reckon. Anything over 3kg goes back, tried one around 6-7kg mark once, and started to get a really strong flavour, not my cup of tea, but went well in some thai fish cakes so nothing was wasted.

but yes, there are tonnes of other species, but when you're like me and stuck with eating barra, jacks, macks, trout, reds, fingermark and grunter...well it's good to change things up a bit with some stronger flavoured fish...I know, poor bastard I am hey

but no size or bag limit on any of the trevally species in Qld, i agree, it might be time to put some on.