Thread: QLD Definition of Boat Length

Re: QLD Definition of Boat Length

Another thing to throw in the mix on this question is the much maligned "Australian Builder's Plate".

Since the requirement came in for new boats to have one of these plates, it plays a role in this debate too.

For your info, the definition of a boat's length in this Standard, which applies nationally, is as follows:

"length—
    a term having the same meaning as "length of the hull" in ISO 8666.
    Note: The length that is used for the purpose of applying any relevant national or international standard is the "length" as defined within the particular standard."

It then goes on to define the "relevant national standards as follows:

"relevant national or international standard—
    a standard having similar objectives and safety outcomes to those of the specific standards specified within this standard. Such standards shall be either published by a national or international standard setting organisation or expressed within the legislation of a jurisdiction having similar notions as to the value of life as Australia.
    EXAMPLES
    Examples of national and international standard setting organisations:

• The American Boat and Yacht Council (ABYC),
    • the European Committee of Standardization (CEN),
    • International Organization for Standardization (ISO), and
    • Standards Australia.
    Examples of relevant standards within legislation:
    • The National Standard for Commercial Vessels; and
    • US Federal Code of Regulations 33."

So I guess the answer is in there, somewhere - no wonder you can't get a straight answer from the authorities - you'd need to be a QC or naval architect..

If your boat has an ABP or a Builders Plate attached to it that states the Standard to which the boat has been built, it seems rational that you'd cite the length of your boat measured according to that particular Standard.

Whilst the ABP does not require boat length to be stated, some builders plates do include this info so I'd imagine that you'd cite the length as stated on that plate....to be consistent.

Does that help? Sorry!

ML
    Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

when I had the 30' boat it was always a 30' boat UNTIL..the berth.
    As the boat had to fit entirely inside the berth then add on the sprit and duckboard and presto..boat now had to live in a 35' berth..which was an extra $500 per annum dearer than a 30' berth.

I've had to learn this a bit and it's as vague as you all say it is. There is a formula for working out boat length in the Australian Standard and it is basically (as it seems to me) to be the length of the hull that is sealed by bulkheads and a weather deck to create the flotation chamber - which may not be level or sealed across overlapping decks.

Now, on my (nominally) 6M boat that excludes the anchor locker and the bow sprit at the bow but it may also exclude the whole transom, depending on how the transom is built. Sometimes it's a separate flotation chamber and sometimes it isn't.

The upshot of all this is that my 6M boat measures around 7M OAL and the whole BMT is 8.5M which makes for a very expensive garage.

I suggest that if you need the number to register the boat measure the weather deck. If you are designing a garage measure the whole BMT including engine up (because you will forget one day and drive the prop through the wall).

If you are working out what to buy ask the seller for registered length, weather deck length, OAL and OAL of BMT and work it out from there.

White Pointer

This to has puzzled me for a long time.

A mate has a boat with molded bow sprit and molded transom steps measures 6.4m

Other mate has platey welded sprit and no steps 6.7m

My boat bolt on steps and sprit 6.2m

But they are all exactly the same center line length

Go figure!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Cheech View Post
    Good question. Mine is registered as being 6.3m. It is a 21fter. But with a tape measure it is only 6m straight up the middle stern to bow (only had a small sprit so same). To get the 6.3m you would have to measure around the gunnel.
    My 5.3 measures 6m from tip to tip. Seems they can be marketed as anything the manufacturers want.

As i said this fiddling with boat length will have been going on since Ogg and Grog were trying to out do each other about how big their log canoe was.

I recon this is why the ISO 8666...trying to get some standardisation.

SHHHUUUSH......keep it quiet......because next time the pollies are looking for more money that might reailise that a whole heap of boats should be bumped up a catagory.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

I'm with DWW 13 when it comes to survey vessels. My 500 Brooker SAFARI is 5.1 metres long on the recreational rego sticker and 4.9 m long on the Certificate of Commercial Registration.

Apart from the significance in being able to log commercial sea time (vessels must be 5 metres and over for sea time to be recognised in Qld), the length is whatever you want it to be. Just be aware that when you are buying a vessel that you take your tape measure as oranges ain't oranges.

My old 27' Sharkcat was morphed in to a 3100 series when rebadged a couple of years later. (31') Really? And so are kevlacats also measured from the back of the shed not the back of the boat to make you think yours is bigger than it really is.

Keep it simple. If it is not costing you money, enjoy the bigger measurement. If there are any disadvantages, then whinge like mad. I had an issue with MSQ last year which I referred to the OMBUDSMAN and had a good result. (A resounding win, but that's another story.)

If you are not happy with the measuring of your boat and the Departmental response, give the Ombudsman a call. They are excellent.

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Incredible View Post

If you are not happy with the measuring of your boat and the Departmental response, give the Ombudsman a call. They are excellent.
    Second that. I put the ombudsman onto the Vic marine board once. It was like putting the cat amongst the complacent pidgeons.

Now now chaps, lets not stur up the trolls unless we realy need to.

If the public servants start getting too much greif from the ombudsman, the pollies will get wind of it...next thing we will be having boat length audits and all sorts of foolishness.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.