Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Yamaha Overheating

Re: Yamaha Overheating

Rapson, my oil monitoring module is doing the same thing and in the old merc I suspect also controls the overheat as well (I think), disconnected and all is well. The price for a new module is $450 and I cant find a second hand one as they get snapped up as soon as there is one available. Maybe you are having the same issue.

Thankd Dignity. The old oil pump wasnt working when I bought it so I removed the would lot and just premix now. I shall have a close look at the wiring, could be a dodgy wire loose somewhere.
    Experience is something you get right after you need it.

Rapson,

Did u end up getting it welded? Alternately you can buy flanged liners for some engines which resolves the problems of corroded liners.

Devcon is the metal mend product I was referring to previously.

Thanks BM, I didnt end up getting it welded, I thought it might start to totally disintergrate if I did that. I dont think my problem is over heating but more of an electrical problem now. I'm going to try to hook up a temperature gauge and see what that tells me.

Since reassembly what are the compression numbers?

Also, go for a run with the cowel off and use an IR temp gun to check cylinder head temps. You could have a crook temp sensor although without knowing whether the head gasket is sealing properly makes things difficult.

For a repair type filler I've used JB weld about $25 from bursons auto, can handle high temp, sticks great and cand form well also sandable, I used it on my deisel engine in my work truck to seal a cracked block that was leaking water, this was about 3 years ago now, worth a shot, Cheers

Assume this is a premix and not an oil injection model,if so are you sure your oil fuel mix was/is right?????If oil mix is too lean it can set off your temp alarm.Particularly when u start to push the engine a bit hard.
    Had it once --

Mate they are a good motor the V4s, an absolute work hourse.

The same thing happened to my 115, would get hot at a certain RPM but under it would be fine.

I too thought it was electrical as it didnt really feel hot, but on further inspection ended up being clogged galleries. It doesnt take much to restrict flow.

Other than that, maybe ohm test the signals from the temp sensors?

Mustang where exactly were the galleries blocked. I have taken the heads off and the water jackets and they didnt appear to be blocked....unless I missed it.

Rapson, have you tried taking the temp sensor out and dunking it in some cool/hot water to see if it sends your alarm off, also without rereading the thread have you checked the poppett valve as this will influence water temp. In my merc usually it is when the revs are up then the temp starts to climb ever so slowly, drop the revs and it will fall. Just installed one $37, seem to need a new one every 24 months.

I have done a full test of all the circuts and they are all good. I an now convinced that the engine is in fact over heating as it fails the 3 second rule now and both cylinders send off the thermo switches. Had a good run with a mate yesterday and we were not happy with the amount of water comming out of the tell tale when at speed. As this water has not yet passed through the heads I am now leaning towards the water pump, if there was a blockage in the head the tell tale would have heaps of pressure. I have replaced the whole pump, impeller, housing, plates and dispamtled and checked and all looks fine. Recently had the gear shifter bracket break and had to take the power head off to replace it and replaced the gasket at the same time and all looked good from there.

This motor is starting to look like my grandfathers knife, the one with the new handle and the new blade.

Do you want that Honda yet

Retired Honda Master Tech

When I get my contract sorted out in the next couple of months we will deffinately talk turkey!

Rapson,

On page 1 photo 2 you can see a small diameter hole - about 3mm or so across. There are a couple more of those from memory located behind the gasket. It was the middle one on mine that was blocked with sand and that and the fact that the others were a little blocked also was the reason she was getting hot. I cleared them and never had a problem since. I dont know if that helps. Have you done poppet valve?

Track it done and your done for a while yet mate...they are (as everyone says) a great donk. I would like a Honda too but cant justify it when the Yam just keeps performing!

Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Is that the two holes you mean, the ones in the middle quite close together? This is the water jackets before I cleaned them up and both holes were clear.

No I havent replaced the poppit valves. I have removed them and cleaned them up, they didnt look to bad but I will be replacing them this week. If that dosent fix it I dont know where to go next?