8mm or 10 mm anchor line

Thread: 8mm or 10 mm anchor line

8mm or 10 mm anchor line

I'm just about to order 250 meters or so of anchor line and was wondering 8mm or 10mm. !2 mm is over kill and i wouldn't have enough space on the boat.

The 250m of line will be on the deck in a bucket and i will be using an anka yanka purchased 3 years ago without it leaving home. . As for most things i've purchased, i will have a use for it, ONE DAY.

Note:. The boat already has 120 meters of nylon 12mm line on a sarcha with an anchor winch. Should i bother or just use what i already have.

Re: 8mm or 10 mm anchor line

Mate, if it is strong enough for the job, I would go the 8mm.
    My 5.3 came with 12 for some reason, bulky as hell and really not needed.
    Actually a PITA but I'll use it as long as I can tolerate it and then replace it with something thinner. I'm only using a reef pick so don't really need a hawser.....

Gripping it’s the hard part. I have 12 mm for that reason alone.
    What other people think about me is not my business: Michael J Fox.

Quote Originally Posted by SgBFish View Post
    Gripping it’s the hard part. I have 12 mm for that reason alone.
    He's using a anka yanka so gripping not an issue! How bigs you boat?? Under about 6m I would use 8 mm, it's got around a 750 kg breaking strain which is heaps, I use 8 mm on my KC .

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Is braided nylon line any good. I see the drum anchor guys using it. talking about 8mm now

Tim, I'd go 8mm nylon for your boat. According to the BLA site these are the ratings;
    • 8mm silver = 540kg
    • 8mm nylon = 1350kg
    • 10mm silver = 790kg
    • 10mm nylon = 2080kg
    I ran 10mm silver on my last boat without any problems and use 10mm nylon on the new boat. Here is the link to BLA rope.
    http://www.bla.com.au/index.php?fn=p...014b9e96c2d23e

Ausfish Platinum Member peterbo3's Avatar

Hi Tim,
    Depends on what you do. I carry 250M of 12mm silver but I will anchor up on the Barwons overnight. Although the drift alarm is set on the plotter I like the "security" factor of the 12mm. I also use a ball but I would think that 8mm is just a PITA to haul in even with a ball.
    Plus silver & nylon ropes do have a life & they will degrade due to UV, friction & moisture. I reversed my ends at 2 1/2 years as 5 years of use seems to be a fair time for rec use but only time will tell. If I was out every day I would be getting a new anchor line every two years.
    If you are planning to use the new rope with a ball, then 250M of 10mm or 12mm will fit into a lug basket.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

Whats a lug basket?. 10mm mite be a goer.

My only reason is i want to do an overnighter. I don't think you can let the boat drift while ur sleeping.

If your going to rub a anchor off, 10mm will wear through almost as fast as 8mm. If you catch a pelagic on braid, the braid will cut through 10mm almost as fast as 8mm!

You wont be able to break 8mm with the boat but you will be able to anchor far more accurately with 8mm than 10mm and forget 12mm just to heavy unles you have a big boat!
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Quote Originally Posted by timddo View Post

My only reason is i want to do an overnighter. I don't think you can let the boat drift while ur sleeping.

Don't worry timbo

I'll stay up all night fishing, you can sleep whilst i fill the esky

cheers tim

Ausfish Platinum Member peterbo3's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by timddo View Post

Every trawler has a bunch of them. Really well made & tough.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

Ordered it at the rope at 10am and got delivered the same day. Got 8mm though. Now to find a place to store it, it's alot of anchor line.