Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Worst Boating Etiquette Stories

Re: Worst Boating Etiquette Stories

Quote Originally Posted by thesquidking View Post
    Hi guys,
    Actually the worst and most dissapointing etiquette is from my own mates that i fish with!
    I dont know if its just me but most mates i take out fishing on my boat never ever even offer $1 towards fuel.
    Some of these guys i take out very often and still not $ is offered, is it just me or does this happen to others?
    When you look at the cost of servicing, registering. insurance, petrol, ect its not cheap and then at the end of the day after your mates enjoy you taking them out on your hard earned money i must go and clean/wash the boat on my own at home.
    I would like to hear from others on this at it really pisses me off.

cheers.
    You need to be upfront with the people you fish with regarding your expectations before they hop onboard. If they still don't open their wallets, don't invite them again. Pretty simple. Sometimes it is just as enjoyable fishing solo.

BTW. I usually ask for a contribution from the friends I take fishing, unless it is just a short local trip and the fuel bill is low.
    "The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Ausfish Platinum Member bigjimg's Avatar

Got lots of stories but i trust i don't have to worry about the members here breaking the rules if you find me on the water.What i will mention is the imbiciles who routinely set their pots under the wharves at the Brisbane river mouth.It's bad enough keeping your eyes peeled for flotsam that you may encounter in low level light let alone crab pot floats and rope.And thanks for the crabs Nino you dumb sh%t your pots are totally illegal.This day we where loaded to the gunnal with gear next time in the skip they go.Jim
    Haines Signature "FinaLeigh" 580F 135 Optimax
    CH 81 & 72 VHF

I was out on a mates boat & he begrudgingly took an older bloke who hassled him enough, he wore him down. Old fella had a horrible habit of bringing his line up & letting his lead sinker continually smash in the fibreglass! He then used up all of our bait, so we were down to the soft pillies, when I caught him with a stash of fresh squid. Kept trying to keep undersized fish as well. He then proceeded to drain the esky of OUR beer! Gets worse- Mate turned around to find him pissing IN the boat!!!!!! Said he couldn't reach the side.

That's an interesting one - Fuel costs ?

If we are doing a long range trip - dam / up the coast etc ....... It's a given & I have to say - I've never had to ask - Its just split! (all costs)

Local trips - out on the river / bay - down the gold coast - its a bit different ......

I fish with a mate (his boat) - & he does not ask..... & I dont offer - but I like to bring the drinks or some tucker - I actually get a bit embarrassed ....... so sometimes I just say "my boat this time!" ..... purely because its the right thing to do - but also , how do you ask for $7.50 - $10 ......

Mind you ..... there a plenty that take advantage of boat owners

I'm not sure if its THE worst story out there but a few years ago i was driving around with a mate visiting boat ramps one saturday afternoon (it can be quite entertaining sometimes) and found ourselves down at the Jacobs Well ramp.After watching a few people retrieve their boats we noticed a guy having real trouble trying to get his trailer around the carpark and down to the ramp.After a while of watching him and contemplating weather to help him he lost his cool and must have decided that if he used more speed it would make things easier.Anyway he gave it a bit of gas and ended up ripping off someone elses wheel arch on their trailer and in the same maneuvor dragged his trailer wheel arch across the front bumper of their car.After doing the "did anyone see me" look around he drove around and backed down the ramp.Being in such a hurry to flee the scene, whilst backing down the ramp to his son that was holding the boat on the ramp, he actually pinned his son between the trailer and his boat.His son gave out an almighty yelp and burst out in tears so dad threw him in the car, put the boat on the trailer and got out of there at a million miles an hour.No note left at the damaged car, no nothing!!!Needless to say i played the good samaritan and left a note with ole' speedys car, boat and trailer rego on it along with my details.

As for the non paying friends situation i must be pretty lucky as they always pay their way.....even to the point of over paying most times and always refuse when i try and give some back.They are all ex-boat owners themselves so they are always willing to help clean it and have even bought equipment for my boat. I'm actually pretty lucky.

Well one time on one of our boys houseboat trips, one of my mates got a beer out of the esky and didn't ask me if I wanted one before closing the lid. Unbelievable.

The fuel thing is interesting.
    There is a difference between freeloaders and friends in my book.
    I go fishing because i want to go - if i want friends to come i invite them and don't ask or expect fuel because i was going anyway.
    Some friends contribute fuel, some bring beer, some organise the next camping trip.... it all works itself out amongst friends in the end.

Have I got a story..... from back in 2006 Ramp rage was the end result unfortunately

Hit the water early, got some livied anchored up & then it was all down hill from there......

Fwit No 1 turned up about 7:00am, a new Blue Ocean Cylinder, who decided to root around near my balloons while mucking around with spear fisherman. He manages to drift straight over both our balloons. Traffic management skills put to good use ( I had a good teacher ) & they then pissed off to annoy Willo. So we pull in & rerig & then I lookup as I’m letting my baits back out to see Fwit No2 has arrived on queue & parked himself exactly where my balloons should be. FFS! So we set them short. Now with 3 or so boats parked in the one spot the bottom bashers must have realised there was a red hot run of Rock Cod & wobbygong going on & they where not disappointed. Fwit No3 turns up and anchors about 3m off our port side. Couldn’t be bothered giving him a spray, should have offered him a coffee & some cake They were bottom bashing, and doing well on the rock cod & getting busted up by Wobby gongs, now that’s quality! Before long Fwit No2 up anchors & pisses off, so we reset the baits to where we want them. A while goes by & Fwit No4 arrives and parks about 5m off our starboard side, and quickly starts to hookup and land those quality rock cod, with the odd tussel with the forever stubborn bottom! Now I watch a boat putting towards us & for the love I god I do not know, ends up right on our balloons. Yes Fwit No 5 has arrived. He gets mine caught round hit prop& busts me off. The oldman looses his balloon but his line is ok. A bit more colourfull traffic management & he pisses off to another part of the reef. Fwit No3 up anchors & pisses off, so we decide to check our baits. I got slammed on the way in & had a good blue almost to the boat when the bloody hooks pull & I end up with his eye ball..WTF!! Anyway we decide to call it a day, and so does Fwit No4. Get to the ramp & start to back the car down & a jetski prick beats me to my side of the ramp, yeah ok, another idiot, I’ll just wait. What does this prick do? He & his mate jump on & piss off up the river, yes leaving the car on the ramp & they piss off. HELLO Fwit No6! So I jump in this clowns car & drive it up the ramp. He arrives back as we are putting the boat on. Colourful words exchanges ( traffic management even better face to face) got the boat on & pull it up the ramp. Get the boat ready for the drive home & I hear a BEEP BEEP & there is a commodore behind the boat. Yes, it is Fwit No6’s mate, Fwit No7, again colourful words exchanged & a lot of Get F & go F yourself exchanged with the brain dead simpleton before he takes off.

What a day that was!
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

Quote Originally Posted by burleygu View Post
    most annoying storys guys!!! but i think i have one better!

about a month ago i was fishing in the caboolture river just down from montys were everybody tends to prawn bit of a hole getting some good hits. my guess is the river there is at least 35mtrs wide i was anchord up roughly 10 meters from one of the river banks leaving 25 meters from me to the other side. anyhow 2 guys in a old yellow hainesy ski boat looking thing came flying past me at full noise within 10 meters of my anchored up tinny. i thought to myself you bloody rude pricks and thought nothing more of it happens all the time in the caboolture river some of us have the courtesy to slow down to idle speeds when passing people especially in narrow parts of the river and especially when people have spent the time to anchor up and have an enjoyable fish.
    20 minutes pass and here comes the same boat idling out of the 6 knot zone of montys as soon as hed pass'd the 6 knot signs he opened back up to full throttle. except this time! he didnt fly past me at full speed his motor actually stopped and his boat came to a hault right next to my boat watched them trying to start it no go clearly run out of fuel! i didnt bother to say a thing or acknowledge that they may of need'd assistance. so out with the paddles they came and they both proceed'd to paddle from montys back towards the ramps near the mouth.
    i continued to fish for another 20 minutes only to catch a stingray so pulled the pick and decided to head back to the ramp. in 20 minutes these blokes i reckon had only managed to paddle 300 meters. still feeling disgruntled i continued to motor past them quite closely stared at them and gave them a wave with a big smile as i went past. they didnt seem to happy? funny that
    the best thing about the whole story is that it was a weekday and for the 3 hours i had been down the river i had not seen one other boat
    did i feel bad when i got home and cracked a cold one? i certainly didnt!
    Your right- that is the worste boating etiquete story I have read. You should be ashamed of yourself not stopping to help a fellow boaty- hang you head in shame

Love it when karma strikes those most in need of a good dose, particulaly if your there to witness it.

Vr - hope you threw the snapper back or are you not in QLd

Not game to post any stories as I have had the unfortunate accident of being in the wrong. Only yesterday out in the tinnie and started motoring across from some sandbanks across the passage, saw a boat in the distance and figured I had plenty of time. Trouble is the missus was stuffing around and I was just cruising instead of getting a move on and before I knew it the other boat was almost on top of me. Sorry to the other guy, I should have been more aware.

Mind you the nincompoops that have to rig their boats on the ramps are becoming a real nuisance even during the week. Maybe there needs to be designated rigging areas at ramps to ease this problem but if it is not policed then it is probably a waste of effort.

VR - is the snapper ban still on?

Dont know many ramps that dont have a designated rigging area or at least an open area that is not car parking space to do that kind of stuff in.Its the same as the cars with trailers only parking spaces....theres always the few that think it doesn't apply to them.

Muddy Toes
    I think if they had some good signage such as "Hey DH, rig your boat here before launching" might have some impact. Pity that most ramps aren't policed and fimes applied where single vehicles park in a trailered space, such a simple revenue raiser which requires such little input.

Quote Originally Posted by sandbankmagnet View Post
    Well one time on one of our boys houseboat trips, one of my mates got a beer out of the esky and didn't ask me if I wanted one before closing the lid. Unbelievable.
    Mongrel...Thats the worst!

I had some bastard set fire to my boat while we were all in it! BEAT THAT!!!

Then next day he outfished all of us, then cooked us breakfast.

tim
    Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    Muddy Toes
    I think if they had some good signage such as "Hey DH, rig your boat here before launching" might have some impact. Pity that most ramps aren't policed and fimes applied where single vehicles park in a trailered space, such a simple revenue raiser which requires such little input.

that sign would be great. sure would get peoples attention!!!!