Setting Crab pots.

Thread: Setting Crab pots.

Setting Crab pots.

Having just read a piece on Etiquette and GPS marks led me to think about some Wan**R on Saturday setting his crab pots in the main channel heading out Caboolture River.

What really pi***D me about this Wan**R was there was one about every 10 metres or less from one marker to another and didn't care that they were positioned in everyones way. Lucky for the Wan**R we didn't damage our prop running over one as I would of pulled it up, got his name and address and let our insurance mob sort it out.

I am always conscience of not putting anything in the channel and if i anchor up its never in the way and off to the side as much as possible. Heading out the mouth there is not exactly a wide channel in some places so would you drop your pots in the way.

Think he should of counted his pots also as there were only two in the Brisbane hire boat and heaps more pots than would of been allowed. Just a complete WANK**R

there is just no thought or consideration of others these days.

Ronnie

Re: Setting Crab pots.

Just reading in a fishing paper that in NSW only 1 pot per person in a boat. I reckon that we should have similar up here about 4 pots per boat? What do you guys think?

Quote Originally Posted by sharkymark2 View Post
    Just reading in a fishing paper that in NSW only 1 pot per person in a boat. I reckon that we should have similar up here about 4 pots per boat? What do you guys think?
    how many dillys or witches caps??

In NSW they have to pay to fish............do you want that up here?? Of course not as QLD fishos make it clear to pay a fee to catch snapper is a rort. Whether it be fishing or crabbing it makes no difference. Another thing....can any of the NSW fishos tell us the last time they legally used a cast net to catch live bait? Maybe you want that up here too? You can't pick and choose different laws.

Hi guys

Feel like this thread has been hijacked.

What has it got to do with NSW crab pot limits and having to pay to fish?????

We can have 4 pots each anyway-- These guys had a few more than that and are lucky I didn't get their details and call Fisheries.

All I wanted to say was that people should be more thoughtful and considerate and show abit of common sense.

ronnie

Ausfish Platinum Member lethal098's Avatar

Hey Ronnie,

It wasnt a pro workin them was it?? i know a pro thats been up that way over the weekend and yesterday??

Cheers Lee

Hi Lee

Don't really know but the Boat had Brisbane Boat hire on the side and it was like a cacky green, purply colour.
    All i know he was ignorant and not very considerate.

And gee it peaves me when people don't show you the same consideration as you would show them.

LOL
    Ronnie

isn't that pretty common place these days? some times when I'm out it's like driving an obstacle course through the channels dodging all the floats. whats the bet he had a look in other peoples pots too? seen plenty of hire boats do that
    Vegetarian - Ancient tribal slang for the village idiot that can't hunt, fish or ride.

Thanks, but no thanks

VS

Hey Ronnie,

Nah wouldnt have been the pro, Next time if someone is braking the law with too many pots, DOB THEM IN, its them that give the rest of us law obiding citizens a bad name, i for one have done it before and will happily do it again, this time photographic evidence though.

unfortunately we are always going to have inconsiderate people putting there pots in the middle of channels, nothing we can do will change it, although it could almost be called a navigational hazard, Dont think i have ever seen or heard of anyone being booked for that though.

Cheers Lee

Hey Lee

I was going to dob them in but was so peaved after running over a pot I just gave them a mouthful instead. Very unlike me to do something like that.
    have been on the warpath lately--- everything seems to peave me off.( Ever think the whole world is against you.)

Looking back as we all do I should of done a proper pot count, taken pics and details but i never.

If there is a next time they won't be so lucky. Email direct to fisheries.

Think it is also about time Caboolture river had a visit from Fisheries and they started to enforce a few rules concerning hazards and Moorings and the like.

Ronnie

Hey Ronnie,

Fisheries have been there a few times during the week, have not seen them of a weekend though.

And hey everything will turn around in your favour, good things come to those that wait.

Cheers Lee

Quote Originally Posted by lethal098 View Post
    Hey Ronnie,

And hey everything will turn around in your favour, good things come to those that wait.

Cheers Lee
    Hey Lee

Its the waiting part thats depressing. Just feeling abit low and when you feel like that it doesn't take much to cheese you off.

lol
    Ronnie

Its a sign of the times the water has become a very busy place.

Leaving Manly harbour as I do and heading between Green and St Helena you can not take your eyes of the water some times because of the pots.

Then one of the local pros paints his floats a dark green colour extremly its hard to see them and there out there day and night.
    Cheers Axl

One probelm we have at the moment is fisheries have got no money for nuthin'

So any hope of meaningfull enforcement is pretty slim.

And although there is an implied responsibility not to obstruct channels, I belive setting pots in marked channels should be specificaly outlawed in the fishing regs.

As for the colour of floats........there have been some changes over time.... but the colour, size and shape regulations should be more specific and be enforced.

Fisheries should have the resources to police crab pots in a meaningfull way, if pots are in marked channels, or not correctly identified or if the floats are not a clearly visable size shape and colour they should be yanked on the spot and if the owner can be identified, they should be fined.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.