Internet scammers via boatpoint

Thread: Internet scammers via boatpoint

Ausfish Platinum Member Midnight's Avatar

Internet scammers via boatpoint

Gday,
    I advertised my Bertram 25 on boatpoint on Friday afternoon, and after being out fishing for 2 days I have gotten home to 4 enquiries. So far I can confirm one to be a scammer with the normal " i work on a rig blah blah blah give me your paypal account bullsh!t bullsh!t"

I replied to him in the appropriate fashion, which I cannot print here.

I will publish their email accounts here once i have confirmed the other scammers.

Scammer No. 1; tommymatt101@gmail.com

F@ckin time wasters

Myles

P.S If it hadnt blown 20-35kts in pouring rain down here for the last 2 days of tournament fishing I may be less cranky

Re: Internet scammers via boatpoint

they certainly don't take long to get onto a fresh ad do they.............

First one came through after about 3 hours of the listing going up Mick

Yeah I got 3 since I posted our on friday as well.

You can tell they are all fake by the way they ask their questions.

"Do you still have your listed item for sale"?

"I am interested in your advert on boat sails"?

"what is the asking price"

All stupid questions.

And they all finish the sms with "please reply to emailadress@blabla.com"

Im waiting for the fighter pilot or oil rig ones.

What can ya do.

I had one when i first advertised saying they would pay me $200 more than the list price because they liked it so much. 3 in total i didnt even bother replying..

yep thats them Astro.

Doesn't matter anyway as I sold the boat to a mate in Townsville on Friday night.

I will remove my listing as soon as the money is in the bank.

Yeah I get those Fers all the time, especially from those saying I have an inheritence balah blah blah...all crappyola.

I would love to track down their ISP address and spike them, just like in James Bond Film Golden Eye.

you need dedicated server / tracker for that I'd reckon.

I delete shit like that pronto without opening

Basically your first week on Boatpoint you will be bombarded with these scammers.

Usually within 3-4 hours they hit you, I had a text at 3 am in the morning asking about my boat.

Generally they will leave you alone after 1-2 weeks and after that you wont get any scam emails.

They all came through as text messages via the boatpoint website.

Scammer No.2 confirmed;

porobwell200@gmail.com

This one a Marine Biologist

Same sh!t through trading post.
    One guy wants to buy my advertisement when i'm finished selling the item.