Thread: Talapia on the Weekend

Talapia on the Weekend

G'day guys,

Well went for a fish for 8 hours down at jupminpin for nil results last week, so figured we would have a Talapia catch off this weekend for some fun (and to do some good to).. I had a look at the map for Bulimba Creek, but not sure where abouts I can access the creek/ or are we allowed to fish?

I'm thinking a worm without a sinker would do the job nicely?

Re: Talapia on the Weekend

I often feed bread to the ducks at Hilliards Creek Ormiston, and bloody huge fish take the bread. They be tilapia or carp? If it's allowed that would be an easy place to catch them Rob

at the end of greenwood st wishart there's a good section to fish but heaps of turtles aswell normally i just squash the barb, but worms and bread with a pea sinker or no sinker work fine. great fun too

Minipi parklands have been mentioned previously.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

Are you allowed to fish them in the creeks mentioned? More so Hilliards Creek Ormiston near my place? Wouldn't mind having a session now and then for them if it is legal.

I fished Bulimba Creek off Winstanely street some time ago, just near the shopping centre. I didn't catch Tilapia but there is a few mullet around which go hard on light line. Bread and a small hook. A mate also used to fish near Scrub road and Settlets street Carindale. Have been meaning to try there myself.

I have just gotten back from the local park with the young fella and noticed there is thousands (YES THOUSANDS!! ) of them in the pond at the park. Sizes ranged from tiny to 30cm+. It is part of tinglapa creek catchment so I am sure there will be heaps of them everywhere from the floods.
    http://maps.google.com.au/maps?hl=en...-8&sa=N&tab=wl
    It is the pond in the capalaba regional park behind bunnings capalaba.
    I will be heading down there next week with the little bloke to catch a few.
    They were smashing anything that was thrown in that floated or sank, maccas fries, cheeseburger pattie etc. The big ones sat just on the deeper drop off under the lillies and waited then slurped it in, while the little ones went hammer n tongs at it. Saw a few carp in there too
    Last edited by Triple; 26-03-2011 at 06:21 PM. Reason: added map.

Quote Originally Posted by Triple View Post
    I have just gotten back from the local park with the young fella and noticed there is thousands (YES THOUSANDS!! ) of them in the pond at the park. Sizes ranged from tiny to 30cm+. It is part of tinglapa creek catchment so I am sure there will be heaps of them everywhere from the floods.
    http://maps.google.com.au/maps?hl=en...-8&sa=N&tab=wl
    It is the pond in the capalaba regional park behind bunnings capalaba.
    I will be heading down there next week with the little bloke to catch a few.
    They were smashing anything that was thrown in that floated or sank, maccas fries, cheeseburger pattie etc. The big ones sat just on the deeper drop off under the lillies and waited then slurped it in, while the little ones went hammer n tongs at it. Saw a few carp in there too
    Been giving them a hard time down there over the past few weeks. Take the kids down on a regular basis and they have a ball. Had non fisho guys from work request I take them down during work lunch times and they have been having a ball. Some have been big fish and go hard on the light gear. The big fellas seem to go shy pretty quick and it doesn't take long till the hundreds of small ones make it hard to get the bait past them for the bigger ones. My good polarised sunnies make it possible to sight the bigger fish and cast a bait right in front of them. The sunnies also make it possible for me to see turtles go for the bait and quickly pull it away in time.

Certainly no shortage of them in there and the kids caught 10 or so on sat morning in short amount of time.

Quote Originally Posted by Marlin_Mike View Post
    I often feed bread to the ducks at Hilliards Creek Ormiston, and bloody huge fish take the bread. They be tilapia or carp? If it's allowed that would be an easy place to catch them Rob

Mike there is a lot of big Mullet and Talapia in that creek. I have caught some massive Mullet on the light gear there over the years and I have noticed that over the past few years Tilapia have made their presents as well.

bread under a float has worked a treat for me.

They could be the hot new red bait, it would make a good article lol

I am thinking of getting some to use in my offshore burly mix, minced and added to the mix before freezing would be cheaper then other products and more fun to catch.

Would that be OK as I know they cant be returned to the water ??

Quote Originally Posted by fishfeeder View Post
    Would that be OK as I know they cant be returned to the water ??
    You answered your own question... minced or otherwise they cant be returned to the water, you are not allowed to be in posession of them unless disposing of in a bin or buried above high water mark.
    http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/28_13605.htm

What to do if you catch a tilapia or carp

If you catch a noxious fish, kill the fish as quickly and humanely as possible. Fisheries Queensland advocates following ethical euthanasia protocols recommended by the 2001 ANZCCART publication - Euthanasia of Animals Used for Scientific Purposes. The most appropriate method may involve stunning the fish via a sharp blow to the back of the head followed by brain destruction.
    It is an offence to have noxious fish (such as carp and tilapia) in your possession, dead or alive (except dead Nile perch). You must therefore dispose of the fish as soon as practicable after killing. It is recommended that you do this by burying it a suitable distance from the waterway where it was caught or disposing of it in a rubbish bin.

Banned as bait

You cannot use noxious or non-indigenous fish as bait. These fish must not be returned to the water dead or alive.
    Last edited by Triple; 29-03-2011 at 04:12 PM. Reason: added info.

Thanks Triple,

I wasn't sure if they could be minced and used.
    Well that's stoped that idea fast !!