Thread: Spanish mackerel fishing method discovery

Re: Spanish mackerel fishing method discovery

Had a mate getting a few spanish at Coolum Reef the other week on reefies.

B-Mack

Nice post and thanks for the trip! The sound of the TLD's screaming ratchet was the highlight, but I always enjoy looking into an esky full of fish too. It's nice to have the freezer loaded up with fillet again, but at this rate, I'll be out again by next Sunday so better start thinking about the next trip.

In the mean time, I might try a few blood worms under balloons down the creek. Sounds like a good way to pick up an XOS wasby. What do ya reckon Jerker?

Jono, good spotting of the marlin in the tuna. Would've been an awesome sight. I reckon you might have had some better luck if you left those _ossers back on dry land.

JSY

Quote Originally Posted by Smithy View Post
    Had a mate getting a few spanish at Coolum Reef the other week on reefies.
    Thanks Smithy!

was that you out at Caloundra on Thursday too? Looks like you were getting driven around for a change. Looks like a nice spaniard that you picked up!

Yep. Been getting some good ones doing that too! 18.5kg is my new best PB with him to go with a 17.45 and 17.1 the day before but got a 17kg yesterday on charter for a lady.

i've got a mate fishing out of wooli at the moment. he's been getting lot's of good reds, getting bricked by bigger fish, he's caught a couple of spanish, lost a big hoo yesterday when another boat ran through their line. Last week the pro who fishes out of wooli got a 45kg and 35kg spanish on slow trolled dead bonito. water goes from 30 degrees to 24 degress overnight, but there isn't much current. wider pearly grounds aren't producing fish.