Biggest fish I've ever seen caught in the Brizzy River

Thread: Biggest fish I've ever seen caught in the Brizzy River

Biggest fish I've ever seen caught in the Brizzy River

For those that didn't catch the show River Monsters on the ABC heres a link to the "iview" replay, it's episode 6 Freshwater. Drag it up to about 39min 30secs and check out what they land, I won't spoil the surprise.

http://www.abc.net.au/iview/#/view/725891

Re: Biggest fish I've ever seen caught in the Brizzy River

Nice. Worth a look guys!

Ah crap it is geographic locked.... cant be viewd outside of Australia. Is that part of the doco on Utube?
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

holy dooly! def worth a look.

seen a fish not much smaller than that caught in newport canals around 2 years ago in about 10- 12 foot of water. made local paper and everything.

Ausfish Platinum Member BrandonH's Avatar

Lovey, it is on youtube, search for freshwater sharks mate

Yeah I can't see it either. Any able to post the link for it from youtube?

I have looked in youtube but there are quite a few and don't know which one it is.

Lee

Youtube doesn't seem to have the full episode but it does have footage of the fish in question. To post up a link would give it away
    The ABC link epires in 5 days then i'll post it up.

PM sent Lovey80/Lee

Catch heaps of bullies around the 800 to 1000mm down the Caboolture Rv, heaps of bait down there at the moment so they are thick and easily caught if u got the time to wait for them..

Ausfish Platinum Member BrandonH's Avatar

lee lee, do a you tube search for exactly "river monsters freshwater sharks" and you will see the fish in question, I don't want to post the direct link here as black rat said we don't want to spoil it for people who want to see the full episode on the ABC site!

It has been common knowledge for sharks to be in the Ipswich reaches of the Brisbane and Bremer rivers for decades and about 20 years ago there was quite a sportfishing period for them in those areas.

Noosa River also produced a 12' tiger shark from near Boreen Point in Lake Cootharaba around the same time that hit headlines locally and state-wide.

As for the groper, they used to be very common at that size in years gone by almost right along the eastern coast. Urangan pier used to be a common place to sight 6-8 foot long models not so long ago.

It was a great show, that was a massive groper. About 3 years ago those boys caught a 9 ft bully in the Brissie river classic and brought it to the weigh in on a car trailer they had hired. As they left the parklands with shark still on trailer a bloke was driving in with his jet ski ready for launching. Poor bugger nearly fell out of his car window as he saw the boys pass him. Talk about putting him two minds

Here's the Youtube link if you can't get the ABC link.
    Looks like they caught this monster a couple of hundred mts upstream from Luggage Point.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EEOZ3VyBbg0

Ausfish Platinum Member Fish_gutz's Avatar

that groper tried to pinch my jewie one night. him or his brother! cheers and thanks for the link. Andrew

Unfortunately I can't put up a video of one around the same size I latched onto earlier this year.
    The clip has been sent to funniest home videos so until I hear back on whether they play it or not I can't post it.

Let me just say what happened was very very funny!
    I'll keep you posted when I hear from the show.