Thread: Navionics Gold or Platinum??

Navionics Gold or Platinum??

I just purchased a new boat, it has a Lowrance HDS-7 in it, but without a map card. I have searched this forum and it seems that with this system, Navionics card seems to be the go. However, I priced a Navionics Gold card for $454, and the Platinum one was only $519. It seems to me that the Platinum would be better value, but I would like some feedback from anyone that has the Platinum cards, and if the 3D maps are any good??
    In chemistry, technically, alcohol is a solution.

Re: Navionics Gold or Platinum??

Mate,
    Where I play the 3d bling is a waste of $$$, all I am after is the map detail, etc,
    I picked up my Navionics Gold from ebay for $289.00 free post, mind you came from Jersey off the UK coast.

Mind you saved $$$$

Crawf

I have the gold card and i'm pretty happy with it. My only complaint is it doesn't have any map for lake awoonga or for certain estuaries (pine river and currumbin creek i've discovered so far) Was talked out of the plantuim because it was aparrently too slow to load info.

Make sure if you buy online that you have the most recent version- there are some pretty old versions getting around ebay.

Quote Originally Posted by Bubsy View Post
    I priced a Navionics Gold card for $454

The gold card only has a rec retail of $396. I payed $350 for mine from a real shop. On-line would be cheaper again
    92 MU, 91 MU ute, 90 MU,96 MU Wizard, 2014 MUX, 2019 DMAX
    Australia's loudest MU
    MY SITE MY YouTube SPL 152.3dB
    If beef is in beef mince, What is in pet mince?

The Navionics Gold card is only US$258 at J & H Products.

The Tinnie & Tackle show (Bris) is on very soon, always so competitiove deals on there. I got my Navionics gold there last year and BIAS matched the 15% off that Whitworths were having that weekend for a mate of mine when he bought his.

Northside Marine also had VG prices at the T&T - no doubt they will do again. Give em a call, good guys to deal with.

ML
    Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

I payed $268.18 for my platinum card Townsville to Byron bay from keogh's marine electrics. www.############.com.au

Fella's, that's brilliant. Using your advice to assist some research. I've found that Keogh's Marine is the go. eBay is cheaper, but not cheap enough to convince me to go with give some bloke I don't know. Further, it sees that Gold is the way to go, and that Platinum is no good unles you reside in North America (apparently).
    Thanks heaps for your help.
    In chemistry, technically, alcohol is a solution.

I've been looking at getting a card for my HDS-5. ###### are the cheapest I can find good one sunnycoastfisho..
    Cheers Axl

I had a gold card on my last Global map & now run a Platinum + in my HDS 8 - the detail is MUCH better in the platinum + card - I don't use a lot of the other features - but would buy the Platinum + just for the extra chart detail

It also draws super fast on my HDS 8 - Scotto
    So Many Fish - So little time !

I Proudly support the following companies: Shimano, G.Loomis, The Haines Group, Scientific Anglers, Abel Reels, Lowrance