Thread: Barra near Calliope?

Barra near Calliope?

I don't know how true this is, but a guy who I know was driving back from Gladstone last week and he stopped at a creek near Calliope for a few casts from the shore.

This bloke is best mates with my brother and it was my brother who told me.

Ole mate says he landed 17 barra in that session, casting from the shore and the smallest one was around 15kg. Some were between the 20-25 kg mark.

He reckons the barra must've spilled over from a nearby dam (Awoonga?) during the floods and are now held up in this creek! I don't know the name of the creek or the exact location apart from that its near Calliope. Porky pies or not..?

Same guy says he's gonna drive back up there from northern nsw in the coming week or two, specifically to go to that same spot to try the barra again. My brother reckons he'll be going with him.

AND, apparently this guy has been catching Mangrove Jack up to 5kgs near the Brunswick Heads bridge near the wall not far from the caravan park. I do know that he's been a super keen fisho from way back (he's from a family of fishos) and he knows what he's doing, so it wouldn't surprise me.

All true or not or maybe exaggerated? Who knows...!
    (Maybe someone based near Gladstone or Calliope can do some reconn)
    "...a voice in my head keeps telling me to go fishing..."

Re: Barra near Calliope?

All true. The barra are going ballistic people are catching HEAPS of them, the pros are pulling shed loads out of the harbor too.

The spot ia anywhere along the Boyne river, drove past yesterday must have been 15 boats, normally there is none, get in while the going is good I think there are some trip reports on this forum

Josh

CRIKEY..! Wish I was there, but I'm o/s just now. Sheesh!

Does anyone reckon that the recent dam overflows & water releases etc (and the barra that went with it) will boost the long term presence of barra and promote a population increase in the tidal waterways?

Pikes Crossing is just below Awoonga. People were shoulder to shoulder three or four weeks back fishing land-based. I put the boat in a fortnight or so ago and managed to get a few. Even then people were still hiking up the creek as far as they could fishing land-based. I understand they are still getting plenty there!!

you guys are making me itch i was to take my son up there when it started to flood but trying to get the misses to let me go soon

Yep, I'm itching too...but the problem is I'm about 17 hours away (and that's by an Airbus 380). Can't wait to be Oz based again...later this year touchwood.

Pikes Crossing...shoulder to shoulder....shore based....I'd like to see that....sounds a bit Fraser Island like except barra instead of tailor.

Wouldn't read about it..!!