-
New Guinea Bass(Black Bass)
As i'm sure a lot of you were like me and dreamed of trip to PNG to chase Black Bass,well late last year it actually happened but was not planned,I had a call from my travel agent to say he was going to have a bloke in PNG at this time who wanted to fish for a few days and as the charter operator required two to a boat he needed a partner and was I interested,I couldnt hit the keys fast enough.The timing was wrong though as bass require clear water with minimum run,and we were going in late Oct-in the middle of the wet.
So I considered it a recce trip as I really wanted to go with my fishing partner from Tville but he considered it too dangerous.So to my experiences.
Arranged my return flight from Bris and arrived in Moresby on a Sunday and pretty well everthing was shut.Spent one night at the Hideaway hotel,pretty basic but acceptable.Had dinner at the yacht club after a trip by cab,and yes Moresby is a scary place,I would NOT walk alone at night if you paid me.
Our charter operator met with us on the Sunday at the hotel together with the guide to explain what was going to happen over the next few days.
We were picked up at 6 AM next morning by the guide in his Toyota 4WD and his 3.9 profisher in tow.Around an hour/hour and a half or so later we arrived at our motel accommodation on the Aroa R at Galley Reach and within a hour we were launching the boat off the bank to go lure fishing.
The river was running around 6-7 knots with so much unwanted forestry rubbish it wasnt funny,in places you could have walked across the river on it and the river was the colour of baby poo(think Brisbane floods and that will give you an idea)Twas not a good sign.I would like to say that over the next four days we filled the boat but it was not to be,However we caught enough for it to be interesting.
We live baited with Tilapia for a few Barra,though nothing for the record books.
Also got a couple of good fingermark at around 500mm.
We also tried the Vanappa R 20 mins south.
Did not get any indication of Bass until it stopped raining for a day and the rivers started to clear up.
We were on the troll when I got hit.I was busy keeping myself in the boat and yelling at the guide to take the motor out of gear,he replied with that f%^&*(%g
big grin of his that it was.At this point I realised I had a few problems,what with the drag locked up and then some ,and my strength waining,something just had to give-20 secs later-gone.Chris the guide suggested I check my lure to see if the Loch Ness monster had straightened my trebles.Pulled in to check and was asked if he had wrecked my trebles,I said I dont know,they werent there, he just pulled them out of the lure,leaving a straightened lure ring as evidence of his passing.
We picked up a couple of Bass on that last day though nothing big-but big enough for a 68yo the best went around 18lb.I have caught some good fish in my time,30lb spaniard,55lb GT,45lb Barra,but nothing repeat nothing even comes close to these blokes,keep in mind that you are fishing to snags about20ft away at the most with drags locked you just dont have the space to breathe,my best fish have come from relatively clear water and were a breaze compared to these brutes.I had read a lot about these fish over the years and believe me its all true and these werent even big fish.
I am planning another trip with my Tville mate who now knows he will probably come home safely as the people up where we were are totally different to those in the town.This time I will be going in July-the driest month of the tear.
We had an absolute ball,a lot of drinking at 5k per stubby($2,50),some very pleasant company,tried betel nut(but never again),the lady who owns the motel arranged a sing sing for us,traditional dance with all the regalia,bare boobs and all,wonderfull wonderfull people.She has a small store on the main road at which you can buy a few things,cans of coke,boiled eggs,biscuits, cigarettes sold singly,so if you smoke take your own.
Take your own salt and pepper though they dont seem to know of its existence.The meals were fresh and OK but basic,had one big sea food dinner one night with fish that we had caught together with mud crabs purchased off a family in a dug out canoe.10k($5) for a 6"crab.5k($2.50)for jennies or a crab smaller than 6".
We fished with 100-150mm lures that dived to 10-12' ,big mad mullets,scorpions,which covered the majority of lure work,we were told -the bigger the lure the bigger the fish.We travelled fairly light this trip and didnt have a broad choice of lure though also carried a few poltergeist thoughthese caught buckleys.
Replaced all trebles with 5-6X and sometimes also used jigging hooks,you know the ones with the eye in line with the gape,they bare also very strong.
If you decide to use your own gear rather than the charter stuff---
You will also need say a 10-12kg rod ,say 5'6-6'with a healthy butt section and a bit of flex in the tip as sometimes you are casting to snags with reels not designed for casting.
For reels I suggest an ABU 6500 or 7000 or similar,The 6500 will cast a lot better than the 7000.This fish deserves then 7000 though.
Use a minimum of 50lb braid 60-70 even better with a flurocarbon leader of 60lb.
That should keep you out of trouble.
You will still be given a few surprises though when the guide rigs you up in freshwater with a paternoster with 250gm of reef lead on the bottom,remember I first said the river was running at 6-7kn.Never done that before.
Cost was, round figures $500 per day per person and that covered the guide,the boat,fishing accommodation,three meals a day.Fares Aust to and from Moresby are your own cost as is accommodation in Moresby.
I cant wait to get back.though as already said ,next time on my terms,regarding the time of year.
I fished with www.sportfishingpng.net
Trip arrangements can be made through Chris Ramsay in Brisbane at chris@irokadventures.com.au
LIVE YOUR DREAMS
NOTHING WILL HAPPEN UNLESS YOU MAKE IT HAPPEN
-
Re: New Guinea Bass(Black Bass)
Great report thanks for taking the time to tell the story. PNG is a great place to fish and the bass are mega fun. Love your comments on Moresby they were spot on - and if you had gone walking the streets it is unlikely you would have posted this report - lukim yu.............Geeb
-
Albey..... i came across this post whlst looking for something else..... i like your comments re pom.... i stay there on my way through to new britain or lae..... i haven't fished Galley reach but i know several guys who do and have sme good success.... I have ben fishing the rivers around new britain over the past 4 or 5 year and can strongly recommend it....my best to date is a 40lb...... and i use a calcutta 400 loaded with 50lb braid and a 80lb leader and all lures undergo mods... we change splitrings and hooks to the strongest we can acquire at the time....like u i have caught some decent fish over my time.... but this thing destroyed me.... we have hooked some bigger fish but just can't turn them or stop them from going back into their structure...... happy to put you in touch with the guys up there..... cost wise it is roughly around the price you paid....
Enjoy.......
JA
-
Jus
Appreciate your comments and notes,and would gladly accept any info you have,as I am looking at doing another trip.I just love the place.If youre not comfortable on open forum feel free to PM me.
Rgds
Albey
-
Try Nusa Island off Kavieng. Shelf 500m offshore so you can catch anything from XOS mangrove Jacks to Spanish Mackeral to Sailfish within half an hour of each other in a tinny. Best weeks fishing of my life.