The hilux's have become a lot softer in recent years, so has nearly every other vehicle manufacturers alternative... However the $30k - $40k + (lets face it - it's toyota and they can charge what they want) difference in price that would be between a dual cab hilux and a 4 door cruiser ute would be too much too justify for most mines/contractors etc. Yes these guys actually have budgets and alot of them wont pay the extra to have them thrashed by workers.
The only way they will get a better lifespan out of vehicles is change drivers attitudes. Probably not going to happen. Not when no one is looking anyway"It's not their own vehicle - it's a mining company's vehicle so they can drive it however they want and the rich mining company will just fix it up" Prove that attitude doesn't exist
![]()
![]()
![]()
Mining companies aren't gonna buy cars with "nice" interiors either - coal dust and a lack of tlc does amazing things![]()
I wouldn't say you're stuffed if you're a tradie with kids and a big boat, plenty of people i know in that situation and plenty of different options. The tray size of a dual cab ute is never really big enough to put all your tools in anyway - even with the larger tray most always end up with a trailer.
Thats what i reckon anyway lol