Thread: Redland Bay Fishing/Prawns

Redland Bay Fishing/Prawns

Howdy, thinking of giving somewhere different a try on Sunday, mate told me to head down to Redland Bay for a look but i have no freaking idea where to launch, what to fish for or where to fish? Ive got a 12ft tinny and use plastic and hardbodies but Im keen for anything. Also does anyone know if its worth taking the cast net for prawns????
    Any help would be great thanks
    Gone fishin', be back at dark-thirty!

Re: Redland Bay Fishing/Prawns

Worth while to take the lot, certainly prawns are around the area at the moment. I would suggest launching from cabbage tree point and head north for session. Keep an eye on the sounder for any holes for the prawns and all the banks around that area are a go for flat head and other bread and butter species.

Good luck!

Andrew.

i'm going tomorrow for some crabs and prawns. will let you know if i find any

Quote Originally Posted by timddo View Post
    i'm going tomorrow for some crabs and prawns. will let you know if i find any

hey mate

howd you go. i ended up with 1 prawn and no crabs

Quote Originally Posted by dspt69 View Post
    hey mate

howd you go. i ended up with 1 prawn and no crabs
    He will have cleaned up.

timdo would have cleaned up unless he landed on big mamma then hmmmmmmm something has to give.

Hey guys headed to Cabbga tree and surrounds near logan river and had a good day grabbing about 3kg of prawns, 2 muddies and 2 flatties..All round good day. Heaps of people cassting in the same are but everyone was in good spirits and not ripping each others heads off to get prawns which I thought was very good!
    Gone fishin', be back at dark-thirty!

Absolutly clean up. Left home at 7Am. Total tally was 2 prawns and a huge crab. Had about 3 cast and could' t be bothered. saw the crowd of boats at russel at nine but they were pulling up duds. Used 30 litres of petrol.

Saw a few casting Logan but I aim't rich like bondy.

Quote Originally Posted by timddo View Post
    Absolutly clean up. Left home at 7Am. Total tally was 2 prawns and a huge crab. Had about 3 cast and could' t be bothered. saw the crowd of boats at russel at nine but they were pulling up duds. Used 30 litres of petrol.

Saw a few casting Logan but I aim't rich like bondy.
    Timddo,

You probably got the wrong tide, you need to be earlier than 7.00am, foget about russel you'll catch mammas daughter in that area if you get close enough I know I have.

Well I ended up hitting the Redland area on Sunday morning to, only managed a dozen decent bananas and one muddy. There seemed to be plenty of prawns around judging by watching the other 80 or so boats that casting around the same areas (at least 30 boats at any of the three spots from Macleay to the Power lines) but of course they were well portioned out over the 80 boats...

Going to take the day off work and hit it tomorrow. If anyone's out I'll be in a little blue polycraft with Brisbane Boat Hire on the side (most likely - may take one of the bigger boat since I'll have the missus and one of the kids with me, still undecided). Don't hesitate to come and say g'day if you see us.

Sarge06,

Yeah I know what you say , trouble is when you think you're up earlier than the others t get a chance of getting a good catch, the others think the same and viola everyone is around like bees to honey . Sometimes crack of dawn on spot L will result in good catch when it coincides with right level of tide.

Happy prawning

Well it was another slow day on the prawing front for us on Tuesday. A hand full of bananas and half a dozen muddies (5 jennies and 1 underesize buck) nice day on the water though...

I was told the prawns came on 4 hours earlier on Friday. Managed to get a few tigers. Set my pots this morning and managed 12 crabs. 6 jennies and 3 small bucks (back to the river) and 3 keepers (just size and one with a claw missing) hmmm me thinks it was caught before as it was a fresh break.

Be nice to catch a 6 pack crab

One of my nets got torn big time, bloody submersible, must have been a sunken ship, bastard never moved, rip rip rip rip rip rip tearrrrr , whooska leadline no more, Kaputsky

Hmmmmmmmm, another net to be made. This one had bottom pockets too.