Thread: Moreton Bay Nannygai - Common or what?

Moreton Bay Nannygai - Common or what?

Hi All

Caught a couple of 55cm large mouth nannygai (or saddletail sea perch, or red jew, or scarlet sea perch, or any other name these things are known by) out in the bay yesterday arvo. (Sorry, no pickies)

Did a search on here for them and there's nothing about moreton bay Nannygai.

I've caught juvenile red emperor and such out there before, but these are a first for me.

Just wondering if these are relatively uncommon out there and I was just lucky?

Re: Moreton Bay Nannygai - Common or what?

Saw one about that size taken at Harry Artificial last year.
    Bloke was very surprised as well.....global warming ..??

Phil

Hi,
    This time of year they can show up on certain spots, they love flesh baits nomally
    I have got some up to 5-6 kg when the water temp is hot.
    cheers Salty

Morton Bay Nannygai- sounds like a new name for snapper to me!!

Quote Originally Posted by SALTY"D" View Post
    Hi,
    This time of year they can show up on certain spots, they love flesh baits nomally
    I have got some up to 5-6 kg when the water temp is hot.
    cheers Salty
    My old man caught one about that size in the bay at night. I was still in high school so probably '96-97'.

its funny that this is mentioned, i am sure i saw some guys jump off firebird yesterday with nannygai, cant say i have ever seen that size ones this far south.

Cheers Lee

Been a few caught over the years in the bay. I`ve caught two little ones in the last 6 months. one on a bait jig and one on a live poddy mullet.both about 38cm not very common but they are around.
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=168868

I hope they keep coming and keep getting bigger. I know which one I`d prefer eating out of snapper and nannies.

55 is a good size. congrats on the catch. Andrew

Thanks guys

Seems I was in the right spot at the right time. Caught 3 actually, but one was just under.
    By the size and number of strikes and misses (by the grandkids ), I reckon we stopped right on a patch. Damn hard swallowing my own selfishness to rebait and rerig their lines during the bite so they might have a chance, but worth the look on the faces when they got one on .... briefly.

We actually left them biting coz I was already late getting the little tackers home.
    All happened in the last 45 minutes of a brilliant day. ... Just one more spot...pleeese grandpa !! Glad they won that argument.

All up, a nice feed, along with two cod and a school mackeral to boot.

Ahh, who needs bloody snapper ! (plenty of those extinct babies caught and released too)

Gurn

I got one in the Bribie passage last year, just upstream from the bridge - was a first for me
    Cheers Freeeedom

If you have a dive around Curtain or Tanga's, you'll be susprised what's swimming around down there, some decent coral trout for starters

congrats on the captures, we have come across the nannies before just south of tanga, this was about 5 years ago, they went 74cm and 81cm and boy did they go hard lol have all so caught a few juvies around the inner beacon. good to see the kiddies harass you to keep fishing!
    work to live , not live to work

Hey mate, if you give me the gps marks,I'll go and catch one to make sure they are nannies......hahaha.......great catch anyway.
    Nannies down here and big snapper at Musgrave Island- must be some serious current!