Kevlacat vs Amm!!! Help me decide - Page 5
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Kevlacat vs Amm!!! Help me decide

Re: Kevlacat vs Amm!!! Help me decide

Quote Originally Posted by business class View Post
    You have me interested with his trim tab set up next time you are on the boat can you please take a pic for me as i have no idea where he could fit them . I have a 6.6 myself and i was trying to see how he did it, but im stumped! What engine is pushing that? a 225?
    here is a couple of pics. If you want more info please PM me
    What day of the week is it?

a couple more

Funny you guys talk about only cats being out. The thursday after the snappe ban came in, my old man and I went out of Mooloolaba. Forecast was 15kt bit it was definitely more. Seas were arounf 2.5+m with the bigger sets to 3m. We saw 3 other boats out. 1 was a 5m open tinny that was trolling. He was solo and I thought he was very gutsy considering the size of the swells to his boat.

The other 2 were cats, both were pro's one in a large 8m full cab cat not sure what make bit it was big and the other was a Coastal Cat cente cab (6m?)

The poor bloke in the bluefin i think it was looked like he was doing it rough.
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Quote Originally Posted by samsy View Post
    here is a couple of pics. If you want more info please PM me
    Thats very interesting as thats the first set of tabs ive ever seen on one. I think that might scare me as they hydro dont normally like to be told what top do you just go with them. Similar to a cat or my wife i guess
    Matty

Quote Originally Posted by Dean1 View Post
    Ozbee mate your'e looking into this way too far I think you need to go for a good run in a ggod cat in miserable conditions. Cats dont just fall into these holes that form. Its in the trim and it becomes second nature, if you back the throttles right off at say 23kts whilst entering a hole well thats a totally different story but GOOD cat drivers know better than perform this behaviour
    cats still fall into holes dean, yes there a good ride but i think you a little one eyed dont you think? What about when your flying along at say 45km and one wave you launch over the next is short and hits half way down the hulls and then jams the nose down, thats worse then hitting a hole i would say . And please 2-3m and a 30knots westerly, you wouldnt of had a choice in the 5.2m to do more then 12knots or you would have been pounded down to 4.2m, As would nearlly every boat in weather like that though, KC's a good boat yes but at least be truthfull and not one eyed
    Matty

Matty

Mate the conditions Dean mentioned were as stated, it was bloody horrible! We had arrived in 1770 and the westerly was still blowing hard but due to abate that day so rather than wait we headed out ( stupid yes ) but we only had 2 days, as with most westerlies you dont really gauge it's full strength till your way off shore and it was certainly blowning 30 knots at Musgrave. We were working that ground Sth of the island searching and when you had to turn and run back into the swells to start your drift it was very very wet and as you can imagine impossibly dangerous to try and anchor. From memory the trip out was at about 18 - 19 knots and yes you can slam a cat down in a sea no worries at all, but i think you would only do it on about 1 in 3 occasions that you do in a mono. There was plenty of slamming that day, next day was a glass out though!!!
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Quote Originally Posted by finding_time View Post
    Matty

Mate the conditions Dean mentioned were as stated, it was bloody horrible! We had arrived in 1770 and the westerly was still blowing hard but due to abate that day so rather than wait we headed out ( stupid yes ) but we only had 2 days, as with most westerlies you dont really gauge it's full strength till your way off shore and it was certainly blowning 30 knots at Musgrave. We were working that ground Sth of the island searching and when you had to turn and run back into the swells to start your drift it was very very wet and as you can imagine impossibly dangerous to try and anchor. From memory the trip out was at about 18 - 19 knots and yes you can slam a cat down in a sea no worries at all, but i think you would only do it on about 1 in 3 occasions that you do in a mono. There was plenty of slamming that day, next day was a glass out though!!!
    I'm Not saying use didnt go out in that as we got stuck a couple of years back in some Horrible conditions at 1770 where i wouldnt wish my mother in law be in (or would I ) but its just funny when you hear people say that dont hit hard in those conditions or it was a good ride . I highly rate the 2400 KC as ive been in some average conditions in one and it was amazing. HOWEVER at the end of the day when the seas want to pound you, no matter what your in your gonna get hammered, and in 30 knots and a 2-3m swell in a 5.2m boat your gonna get POUNDED no matter the brand of boat and that was my point
    Matty

Quote Originally Posted by finding_time View Post
    That would have been the day i was out there with you wouldn't it Deano Dont remember seeing many other boats out that day, just 2 little kc's and there slightly insane owners and dumb ass crew!
    Yeah Ian that was the trip alright I think i went too close to musgrave on the way out as the swells were different there it was shallower and they were breaking, one just popped up from nowhere i remember my mate saying holy Sh#@ what are we going to do here!! And we did anchor up there that night for the whole night man i got crook, i was new to the place then and didnt realize how much more comfy it would have been around the back of the island

Samsy,

those photos have got to be tri porn for Matty!

The trim tabs is just the beginning of of a striptease. The lap dance really begins when u jump on board and start playing with the Raymarine E140W flush mount, autopilot and radar. It's like looking at Jennifer Hawkins. Sheer beauty.

Need a new custom made bait board to finish her off. Any recommendations?

Well I am now a proud owner of a 2005 kc 2400 with just under 100 hrs , brand new trailer , awning, furuno colour sounder , furuno colour gps, VHF, cd, outriggers n much more!! Try get pics up ! Thanks for everyones feed back! 

Wicked mate she sounds awsome i bet your pumped!!! Youll love it and give yourself time to get a feel of her the way they behave it is a very enjoyable experience learning how to drive a cat

Whens the 1st run in the biggirl????

Waiting for the new trailer to get built befor i pick her up so if all goes to plan about 3 weeks, the out riggers arnt in the photo because they r brand new !!!!! really excited, cant wait to put a few fish in the eskys!!!! More happy than a pig in mud!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Very nice mate. Hope to see one of them in the driveway myself one day

congrats mate,looks awsome ..am looking at them as well...what are you towing it with...hope u fill it plenty of fish
    cheers rosco