Kevlacat vs Amm!!! Help me decide - Page 2
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Kevlacat vs Amm!!! Help me decide

Ausfish Gold Member

Re: Kevlacat vs Amm!!! Help me decide

I have a KC and love it. Fast, safe, soft and stable at rest. I just dont get to use it as much as i should, but that is not the boats fault. Had plate alloy cat and hate the corrosion under the paint and they are hard to clean. If i went plate i would have a nyalic finish.

Ausfish Platinum Member Giffo65's Avatar

Perko,aside from the paint problems with alloy cats,how would you rate the KC to an alloy cat, seeing how you have had both ?

Giffo

Mate not sure bout the other but know a bloke with a 28ft kev cat and he went through the whitsunday passage in 20 knot winds at 20 knots sitting on the esky drinking beer while it was in cruise control and he just waved at us getting pounded. Its all I've ever wanted since that day

Thanks for everyones help!!!!! Kc it might just b then !!!

Like anything pros and cons, Sort of reckon it depends on what sort of places you fish, just offshore and no where near any bommies and reefs or beaches it would come down to what honestly floats your boat and what you want in the driveway, you couldnt go wrong with either.

if you fish the reefs and lagoons, well i wouldnt hestitate in the platey, mistakes may happen and if you have a scrape, well i think you would be crying with the glass not shrugging it off with a platey .
    Tangles KFC

Quote Originally Posted by Smithy View Post
    I am struggling to get rid of my platey at the moment.
    Me too Smithy! I've had hardly any enquiries about the little AMM. Personally, I don't mind having it available as well, as it has its advantages. However, the dear wife would like to see a bit more space in the driveway!

Jono.

Where I fish is 55mile from the harbor , 1 bar crossing at the break sea spit !!!! Not shallow out there, but can b on the bar!! Do fish at fitzroy big bombies out there, had a plate tabs n just don't want my knees drivin out my bum anymore!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by D river View Post
    Mate not sure bout the other but know a bloke with a 28ft kev cat and he went through the whitsunday passage in 20 knot winds at 20 knots sitting on the esky drinking beer while it was in cruise control and he just waved at us getting pounded. Its all I've ever wanted since that day
    Cruise Controll in a CAT Thank god its you in that boat and not me

KC hands Down, AMM are probably one of the best plateys made in Quality and ride, but even if the AMM was new and the KC had 300hrs on both 140 zukes id be picking the KC everyday of the week. Make sure if you go for a run in both go with someone who knows how to drive them
    Matty

Julian,

All the 2nd hand KC2400s were going for $115-120K not so long ago depending on electronics/alloy trailer or not etc., etc. The few I know about since have been going in the $90k region. People are offering crazy money to the owners and they are taking it. Times are tough. I know Perko picked up a bargain with his 2400 and Trent (Fly1) had his pick of all the 7.2s, 8ms, and 3000s but settled on a 7.2 with Hondas in very good nick but way below what they were not so long ago.

Quote Originally Posted by Smithy View Post
    Julian,

All the 2nd hand KC2400s were going for $115-120K not so long ago depending on electronics/alloy trailer or not etc., etc. The few I know about since have been going in the $90k region. People are offering crazy money to the owners and they are taking it. Times are tough. I know Perko picked up a bargain with his 2400 and Trent (Fly1) had his pick of all the 7.2s, 8ms, and 3000s but settled on a 7.2 with Hondas in very good nick but way below what they were not so long ago.

yep a great time to buy, not so great to sell in though. how the new Capricron going ?

Armchair ride all the way. Its the mechanicals that can't keep up with the ride. Just have to take the speed back a bit. It sort of launches, grabs a heap of air and cavitates in the tunnel but it shrugs it off in a second and keeps going again. Not like some boats I have been on where they cavitate and then you have to throttle back to nothing and accelerate again. Once is starts doing that I am probably slow cruise in any sea of say 12knots for 2200rpm, 14knots for 24-2500rpm, 16knots for 2600 etc. Genuine 20knot boat at 2800rpm. Will see what the prop looks like next slip. It was showing more signs of electrical pitting rather than air induced cavitation pit marks. Need new anodes. They are on their last legs.

Ausfish Gold Member

yeah i keep looking at a cat there is so much more room than my 680 patriot but it is less than 6 months since the last brand new 9 meter cat with twin 300 zuks on split and sank in 1.2 meter seas . at least there giving weather reports up here between bowen and Townsville with the swell but also the chop which is usually larger than the swell. it is the only place along the Queensland coast that doesn't suit cats i know of . yes they are getting caught with a chop hollow on one side and uprising swell on the other. my question is can you trim them out enough to try and hold the dip side up. even my patriot has bashed every screw out and the whack on the forequarter on one side of the vee and a hole in the sea on the other side of the v from the chop hollow . least the trim tabs helps to hold level to some degree . can you put tabs on a cat ? yes you can trim motors of cause but would it give you enough lift to hold one side up. this last one split in the arse and sank luckily they floated past other boats and were picked up . all the other cats that have sank including those racing cats and is why the wont race between bowen and Townsville any more have gone under from the nose with water over . air sea rescue have a large cat and have gone out and rescued many sailing boats as they get pushed towards shallow water flats that line this part of the coast. they swear by it for rescue though once you get above 3 meter seas the chop disappears and is eaten up by the large swells . i guess i just cant make my mind up . can some explain how you balance a cat in a choppy sea .

I helped a mate go through exacty the same process last year on the same boats. Both boats have there pros and cons and its a big decision so i dont envy you at the moment.

My mate ended up settling on a hydrofield. I cant speak highly enough of this boat. It has all the benefits of a KC and AMM without a lot of the draw backs both posses. I can tell you one of one draw back though. i would say its stability is better than the KC and its even better now that he added trim tabs. There is only one draw back to speak of to date (been on the water for 6 months now) is that it cant plane at low revs. This maybe not an issue for you depending on your local conditins and the type of fishing you are planning on doing.

if you have the time its worth checking out the Hydofield.
    What day of the week is it?

Quote Originally Posted by samsy View Post
    I helped a mate go through exacty the same process last year on the same boats. Both boats have there pros and cons and its a big decision so i dont envy you at the moment.

My mate ended up settling on a hydrofield. I cant speak highly enough of this boat. It has all the benefits of a KC and AMM without a lot of the draw backs both posses. I can tell you one of one draw back though. i would say its stability is better than the KC and its even better now that he added trim tabs. There is only one draw back to speak of to date (been on the water for 6 months now) is that it cant plane at low revs. This maybe not an issue for you depending on your local conditins and the type of fishing you are planning on doing.

if you have the time its worth checking out the Hydofield.
    Trim Tabs and cant plain at low revs???????? What size does he have if you dont mind me asking
    Matty

Gday, just wondering why you are not looking into any other plate boats except AMM? Nothing against them by any means but there is some deadly looking plateys getting around. Origin has a good looking range, im saving for one of there 460 4x4 centre consoles