Thread: spanish mackeral

spanish mackeral

Hi all i am relatively new to chasing spanish mackeral and would luv to hear ur thoughts on what lures to use in a spread, mixing hard bodies with skirts and trolling speed.

I was planning to use a halco deep diving scorpion 150 about 10 metre back from the transon in the centre on a stella 20000, 2 laser pro 160 shallow divers on each side a further 5m back on 2 tld 50's and 2 skirts on the outriggers way back on 2 tld 30's.. Am i on the money or do i have it all wrong

Appreaciate ur feedback on this

Re: spanish mackeral

Dam mate i think you'll be fine ay! Sounds like a great spread.

Josh

Mate don't be afraid to also try trolling ribbon fish, gar, or a humble pilly. Use a chin guard if possible. Sometimes they'll take a bait without touching the artificial lures, so throw one into the mix I reckon. You'll handle any spano on a 50, so no worries in that department!

Cuzza

don't forget the rapalas, yo zuri hydro magnums have caught their fare share too.

Don't be scared of running your hard bodies really short too.
    They will be well under the prop wash and turbulence. When I run mine on 15 foot of leader and a 4 foot double, the top of the double knot is normally just out of the water. Close.

Good luck.

Myles

P.s don't be scared to use bigger lures. An 8 kg spaniard will eat a legal tailor no trouble at all. I always run the 190 laser pros as the bonito and smaller mack tuna drive me mad on anything smaller normally.
    Last edited by Midnight; 21-02-2011 at 04:44 PM. Reason: To add p.s