Thread: repowering an old 570 outsider cruise craft

Re: repowering an old 570 outsider cruise craft

me too, i'd only be looking at 130-175hp whilst also considering weight. the 130hp V4 yammy is a brilliant donk too, and quite cheap to buy (i've got a mate who's recently had one fitted to a 540br haines hunter). most of the bigger hp four strokes will simply weigh too much by the sounds of it, the beauty of the suzuki 140 is that it's a tuned up 90hp which keeps the weight down significantly. the 150 suzuki is a much better animal torque wise with it's bigger capacity, but the weight goes up by 15%.

I have a 135 Opti on a 575 Outsider that returns 1 Nm per litre constantly. I will be increasing it to a 150 via electronic upgrade shortly.
    I would suggest the 150 straight up for you due to the heavier weight to start.

The current F&B mag has a letter written by a Brisbane owner of a 570 Explorer with a 150 Mariner 2/. The hulls would be the same, however I assume the Explorer version would weigh a little less than the Outsider

If you contact PW I am sure he would pass on the owners details so you can have a chat re the performance of his boat.
    PS. I agree with others, any 115 would be too small. My 2c - 130 possibly OK, 140-150 better, but depending on motor weight. These older boats are normally heavier (comparatively) than current production models (excl s/s targas and bling etc). You could also do a search on boatpoint and contact any owners that have similar rigs for sale re performance.

i have a cruise craft reef ranger with a 150 99 carb merc getting going a bit slow the hull is about 850 kgs about same lengh . i will be upgrading to a 175 opti might not need all that power but better fuel comsumin ,better for troling and more fun to drive

Hi mate, I have an 94 model 580 Outsider with 06 135hp opti and she goes well. Great hole shot and good cruise speed and cheap to run for a heavy hull 900KG hull. I think I read somewhere when I was looking to buy this motor, the yanks prefered them over the 150s because of the lower ratio gear box with better holeshot with only couple of knotts slower at wot. Is your boat an outsider or explorer didn,t think they did a 570 outsider.

well thanks all thanks outsider 580. as well
    YES MY MISTAKE NEWS FLASH THIS IS AN EXPLORER
    A 570 EXPLORER MY MISTAKE ANY BODY WITH A 570 EXPLORER TO GIVE A GIDE ON HP ... 135 SOUNDS BETTER THAN A 175 AS THATS THE HIGHEST RECOMENDED HP FOR THE BOAT SAYS ON WEBSTERS BEST BETWEEN 120 AND 140..
    BUT IM LISTENING
    SORRY FOR THE MIXUP.....PAT

Hey mate that is an impressive weight for a four banga at 186kg for a 140 hp I may look at this option for myself but for your big rig I agree with the others and say 175 opti mate. A friend of mine has a 150 opti on a heap of shit 6m signiture and gets awsome fuel economy out of it off memory he does 250km round trip on around 150-170L of fuel and only uses about 2L or less of oil, it is alot quieter than my carb 2stroke but not as quiet as a four.

whats your thoughts on either a 150 yammy 4 stroke or a optimax, the optimax arnt carby are they looking at probably a 135

Quote Originally Posted by D river View Post
    Hey mate that is an impressive weight for a four banga at 186kg for a 140 hp I may look at this option for myself but for your big rig I agree with the others and say 175 opti mate. A friend of mine has a 150 opti on a heap of shit 6m signiture and gets awsome fuel economy out of it off memory he does 250km round trip on around 150-170L of fuel and only uses about 2L or less of oil, it is alot quieter than my carb 2stroke but not as quiet as a four.
    what 4 banger is that was it a suzuki ...missed that...pat

Yeah it was a suzi,and mate there is gune be a huge weight diff between a 150yam 4 stroke and and opti 135 and as stated already the opti 135 150 & 175 are all the same weight. just looked them up a 150 yamy weighs 216kg so you looking at just over 40kg diff between it and the opti

Gofishin,

I have the yellow CC 570 Explorer in the latest F&B mag. Its a pretty heavy hull with deep vee. I would assume a similar hull to the later 570 outsiders.

My thoughts are the old (1982 model) 150 2.0ltr V6 is a great engine for this hull. Its a light motor with plenty of power and remarkable pretty good on fuel - just keep it in the 3600-4200rpm, 22-28knot range. Trolling ..... Forget it. The only time I would consider going to a 175 would be for skiing purposes only. The old 150 planes easily with two adults, three kids, esky and a days worth of "other stuff". Top speed with the old 2-Stroke is 38knots, which is plenty fast enough. If I was to upgrade I would go for the 135 -150 Opti.

Good weather to be out on the water too. Just brought home a good feed of parrot, grassy sweetlip and a half a dozen sandies from Moreton Bay. Caught the best snapper too, unfortuantly it had to go back due to the closed season......aaahh.

Just my thoughts,

Sam

thanks sam,
    yes took it for a good run yesterday and , well it performs rather well with the 120 an old johno around that vintage. so im sure a 175 is major over kill yet a 135 to 150 sounds good .
    i can see what rhe other people mean about you mayas well have a 175
    but i only have a 120 litre fuel tank so , anyway thats tooo big . anyone out ther that has a 140suzuki 4 stroke or a 150 yammy or a 150 optimax would like to compare fuel economy etc. thanks sam
    pat

We have a 550 Explorer with a 115 Johnson - did alot of research and she is in getting a 140hp Suzi as we speak. Can't wait to get her out!!!

hey cas is it a 4 stroke. really keen to find out how it goes etc.
    new second hand??? apparently te 4 stroke is smaller motor not sure weather that makes the fuel economy better or worse so keen to stay in touch..
    are you in brisy? ....pat

I reckon Suzuki have cornered the market for anyone who has an older 5.5-6m hull and is looking to repower with a four stroke. With the 140hp they've managed to create a four stroke that weighs not much more than a 2 stroke (of that late 80's early 90's era) and simply have no competition when it comes to weight in that power rating. Their only real competition for older boat repowers is DI 2S technology.